PDA

View Full Version : wiring sub to amp through box



crunch5868
08-15-2008, 01:46 PM
ok this is a dumb question but im building my box today and i was wondering how to run the wires from my amp to my sub. just drill a really small hole in the wall of the box the size of the wire? or is there a special piece?

gladiator_jai
08-15-2008, 01:48 PM
Speaker terminal.
http://www.lenexpo-electronics.com/products/d_1894.jpg

crunch5868
08-15-2008, 01:49 PM
yup seen those. lol thanks

gladiator_jai
08-15-2008, 01:51 PM
:D No problem bro.

PsychoTheRapist
08-15-2008, 01:53 PM
I just drill a hole and caulk it up after running the wire through, but I change set-ups too often to waste money on terminal cups.

Buck
08-15-2008, 01:54 PM
I just drill a hole and caulk it up after running the wire through, but I change set-ups too often to waste money on terminal cups.

this works. done it before. to make it look 'good' put in a speaker terminal

ultimate157
08-15-2008, 02:02 PM
get some bolts, drill a hole slightly smaller then the bolt and screw them in. Make sure to have plenty of washers.

Reusable, no caulking, etc. Very easy.

jdawg
08-15-2008, 02:04 PM
yea i usaully drill a hole, tie the wire in a knot on the inside so you dont accidently pull the wire off the speaker terminals then silicone it up

edit- although a while back partsexpress had terminals on sale for about 50 cents I bought about 50 but havent used any yet lol

boomzilla
08-15-2008, 02:11 PM
yeah, the bolts is what ive used, i havnt had any problems. try anyone of the suggestions, each work fine. or if you dont have a drill, just take the speaker wires and run them through the port to the amp if you have a ported box. it looks messy, but it will do.

crunch5868
08-15-2008, 02:15 PM
ok how do you do the bolt one could you be more specific

jdawg
08-15-2008, 02:21 PM
drill a hole the size of the bolt, stick it through, put a nut on the outside and ighten it so there is a shaft left sticking out, then put the wire on with a ring and use another nut to tighten the wire. Use washers for the bolt head and nut that are against the wood.

nittanylion64
08-15-2008, 02:25 PM
I used carriage bolts through the box. Put a ring terminal on the inside of the box, push the carriage bolt through the box. Get a washer silicone the boxside of the washer, tighten down with a nut. I then put the ring terminal on the bolt and tightened down another nut. This allowed me to be able to take the box out when I needed to. Hope this helps.

ultimate157
08-15-2008, 02:29 PM
ok how do you do the bolt one could you be more specific

get like a 1/4-20 bolt 3" long, drill a hole slightly smaller than 1/4" and screw it into the box. This will make sure it is air tight. Get two washers for each side of the box wall (to sandwich the wire) and a nut. Bolt everything tight.

A little hard to see, but here's what I did.

http://i22.photobucket.com/albums/b342/Ultimate157/Audio%20System/BoltThroughBox.jpg

http://i22.photobucket.com/albums/b342/Ultimate157/Audio%20System/Lanzar2000D.jpg

crunch5868
08-15-2008, 02:33 PM
oo i gotcha. im a visual person so ultimate the little microsoft paint picture explained everything. thanks guys

crunch5868
08-15-2008, 02:34 PM
totally different question. im glueing and predrilling holes for screws to put together my box. what kind and size of screws do you guys use? drywall?

ultimate157
08-15-2008, 02:34 PM
oo i gotcha. im a visual person so ultimate the little microsoft paint picture explained everything. thanks guys

Same here... I have a hard time picturing things from writing. Word problems **** ;)

crunch5868
08-15-2008, 02:40 PM
true that. you an electrical engineer student?

ultimate157
08-15-2008, 03:37 PM
true that. you an electrical engineer student?

Yup

J31Rob
08-15-2008, 03:38 PM
get like a 1/4-20 bolt 3" long, drill a hole slightly smaller than 1/4" and screw it into the box. This will make sure it is air tight. Get two washers for each side of the box wall (to sandwich the wire) and a nut. Bolt everything tight.

A little hard to see, but here's what I did.

http://i22.photobucket.com/albums/b342/Ultimate157/Audio%20System/BoltThroughBox.jpg

http://i22.photobucket.com/albums/b342/Ultimate157/Audio%20System/Lanzar2000D.jpg

winar.