PDA

View Full Version : What thickness MDF to use?



Sierra08!
08-15-2008, 09:41 AM
I have always used 3/4, but some box companies use 5/8, Q-logic uses 5/8, I want to do some tens, but with space restrictions might not be able to use 3/4, any thoughts?

iamamp3pimp
08-15-2008, 09:49 AM
1/2 and braced.......

lvfive.o
08-15-2008, 09:53 AM
I always used 3/4 when when building boxes myself, David (Teampsi) built a box for me for two XXX's out of 1" MDF

Buck
08-15-2008, 09:55 AM
i would go 3/4. you can also do 5/8

iamamp3pimp
08-15-2008, 10:26 AM
space is an issue hes saying....

i use 3/4 as well, but he doesnt have the room

DBDRAGGUY
08-15-2008, 10:31 AM
1/2 inch will work. 3/4 is ideal, and 1 inch for high spl applications.

GAM3OVR
08-15-2008, 10:34 AM
i would go 3/4. you can also do 5/8

5/8's works wid moofers less then 400 RMS

I think yes?

swangin68
08-15-2008, 04:14 PM
i use 5/8 for all my boxes, saves weight mainly.. ive pushed 1500 rms thru 2 12's and had no issues with a 5/8 box.. or 1/2 with some bracing over the long spans,,it will be plenty,,3/4 is over kill unless u got some huge heavy subs and crazy power, over 3000 rms,,just my opinion from experience

PV Audio
08-15-2008, 04:42 PM
1/2" is sufficient if you brace it properly, but 3/4" is the reference standard.