PDA

View Full Version : combining 2 boxes w/o glue



gsuchyta
08-06-2008, 12:40 AM
The only way for me to fit 2 15's in the trunk of my civic is if I build 2 boxes seperate and put them in the trunk and then attatch them, but I don't want to glue them together because then I won't be able to take it out of the trunk.

I was thinking some kind of at least 1/2 inch think rubber gasket or something to seal the 2 boxes together in the trunk and I would screw the 2 boxes together with the rubber gasket in between compressing the gasket and thus sealing the 2 boxes together.

Any Ideas on what I should buy?

What do guys use on blowthroughs? maybe that would work.

zack39648
08-06-2008, 12:51 AM
why dont you build the box in the trunk???????????????

gsuchyta
08-06-2008, 12:56 AM
Because then I won't be able to take the box out of the trunks w/o tearing it apart. If I use some kind of thick rubber or something to seal around the 2 boxes then I could just unscrew it and take it out. I wish I could draw something up to show yall

Rashaddd
08-06-2008, 12:57 AM
Do you mean you want to combine the total airspace once its in the trunk? I had to make two separate sealed boxes to fit two 18's into my trunk, and then I just screwed them together, but I wouldn't advise trying to do it and combining their airspace...thats just asking for trouble

gsuchyta
08-06-2008, 01:03 AM
It would be just like gluing it together except with the rubber gasket I would be able to remove the box if I ever needed to.

mlstrass
08-06-2008, 08:22 AM
I've run 2 boxes before. Just used a piece off MDF across the top of both of them and screwed it in. No need for a rubber gasket. Also a couple of "L" brackets to hold them down to the trunk floor...

Ed Lester
08-06-2008, 09:15 AM
I have seen many people fit a box for 2 15s in civic trunks. Cant you just build it so it fits?

fbi90909
08-06-2008, 09:31 AM
your going to have to build it in the trunk. the whole gasket seal thing i doubt will work. now a box for 2 15's sealed should fit easily. 2 15's ported, now that's a different story and will need to be built in the trunk.
i had to build a box in my trunk for my single 15" btl. it will **** to have to disassmble it when i need to remove the box. do what i gotta do.

mlstrass
08-06-2008, 09:33 AM
just build 2 complete boxes, no need to seal anything then...

Ed Lester
08-06-2008, 09:33 AM
or just go to 12s.