PDA

View Full Version : 1st time builder here



pbnj22
08-03-2008, 06:46 PM
ok so after me being an idiot i have now to build a box for my 12 inch diamond audio d9 d2, running of a autotek 1900.1 (800 @4 im running), would like sealed or ported leaning toward sealed for now.
could someone give me some help or input or something
what dimensions should a use? i have mdf wood and glue and screws for now
anything else i need?

dumpin907
08-03-2008, 06:48 PM
clamps and silicone. and i would go with 3.5 cubes at 33hz. also, if that amp can be ran at 1ohm i would run it at 1 ohm.

use the www.reaudio.com box calculator for dims and cut sheet.

SSS 18734
08-03-2008, 06:49 PM
Corner braces help a lot if you're building it by yourself and silicone to seal the box when it's done. How are you planning on cutting the MDF? A table saw is preferable.

Also, search! This has been covered many, many times.

pbnj22
08-03-2008, 06:50 PM
well it can be run at 1 ohm but that would 1900 watts to a sub rated at 800 (rms of course)

dumpin907
08-03-2008, 06:51 PM
that amp is probably overrated. i would run it at 1 ohm and you will have some head room to turn it up a little bit.

pbnj22
08-03-2008, 06:51 PM
Corner braces help a lot if you're building it by yourself and silicone to seal the box when it's done. How are you planning on cutting the MDF? A table saw is preferable.

Also, search! This has been covered many, many times.

i plan on using a table saw as you mentioned

pbnj22
08-03-2008, 06:53 PM
1 ohm is asking for trouble isnt it? it will last longer most likely blow my sub what about 2 ohm for a happy medium 1500 watts sounds nice doesnt it

SSS 18734
08-03-2008, 06:57 PM
1 ohm is asking for trouble isnt it? it will last longer most likely blow my sub what about 2 ohm for a happy medium 1500 watts sounds nice doesnt it

It's not if the amplifier is built well and stable down to 1 ohm. You can only run it at what the voice coils are configured at. What is the VC configuration?

Also, check out the stickies at the top of the section you posted your thread in. There's some helpful info there for box design. Although there isn't one for box building, which is dumb. Google that and you'll get some pretty thorough walkthroughs and videos.

KHARPS
08-03-2008, 06:58 PM
You don't have to send it all that power. Just get a 50 hz test tone and a dmm and set the gains to 44.7 volts which is 1000 watts.

dumpin907
08-03-2008, 07:01 PM
yeah his sub is d2 i think, thats why i said 1 ohm load, and plus, getting 800 rms @ 4 ohms w/o clipping the shet out the amp would be hard. and im sure the sub can take more then 800 ( so he will keep turing the "volume" (gain) ) up till his amp clips.

bobtista
08-03-2008, 07:03 PM
if you are doing sealed all you'll need is a 1 cubic foot box.

i would do 15x15x15 externally

bobtista
08-03-2008, 07:03 PM
although i would go ported.

pbnj22
08-03-2008, 07:03 PM
You don't have to send it all that power. Just get a 50 hz test tone and a dmm and set the gains to 44.7 volts which is 1000 watts.

thanks...will look into that, if i do a sealed box can i just pretty much wing it cut out a rectanular prism thing and cut i hole for the sub?

pbnj22
08-03-2008, 07:06 PM
although i would go ported.

reason for going ported?

bobtista
08-03-2008, 07:07 PM
top and bottom 15x15
sides 13.5x13.5
front and back 15x13.5

bobtista
08-03-2008, 07:08 PM
louder, and it raises your subs rms since it can breath and wont heat up as much.

pbnj22
08-03-2008, 08:33 PM
how does H15 W 24 D 9 sound?

mgbcs
08-03-2008, 09:18 PM
I would go with like 1.25cuft sealed or 2.25cuft ported...