PDA

View Full Version : aeroports and reg. pvc



boomzilla
08-03-2008, 01:24 PM
is there a big difference between using the ports from PSP or anyother port manufacturer and using ports from home depot out of pvc?

i wanna do an aeroport box, but dont have the extra cash to throw on ports from PSP. if pvc will work just as good then ill do that, but is there a huge difference?

Techchild
08-03-2008, 01:26 PM
The psp ones are flared at the ends cutting down port noise. While regular pvc isent and can get pretty loud port noise.

boomzilla
08-03-2008, 01:27 PM
hmmm thats a good point. what if i rounded the edges as much as possible, like on the edges of a slot port?

benchambers80
08-03-2008, 01:29 PM
1.5 in round bit on a router works nicely with pvc pipe

boomzilla
08-03-2008, 01:29 PM
**** its a beautiful day out to build a box, hopefully i can make up my mind on port design so i can build it before it rains again lol, hows it out there in tampa tech?

boomzilla
08-03-2008, 01:30 PM
1.5 in round bit on a router works nicely with pvc pipe

i dont have a router.... would sand paper and a hella determination work just as good?

kovemaster559
08-03-2008, 01:33 PM
sure

boomzilla
08-03-2008, 01:35 PM
http://i238.photobucket.com/albums/ff283/kepper420/boxkw2.jpg

Heres the design, Unrated made it for me! The only thing im concerned with is the aeroport issue. The box i have now was made quick to get my sub going. Its tuned somewhere around 32hz, and the lows sound like poop. the mid highs sound great, but i love my lows. the aeroports in the design are 9 13/16'' long, 3'' wide, and theres 2 of them making a tuning of 34hz, i want to lower that, but from what i understand i have to make both of them longer. can you guys give suggestions? its for a 12'' fi bl on about 1000wrms.

and all the chicken scratch is me, ms paint ***** ****.

tooloud4tv
08-03-2008, 01:35 PM
i dont have a router.... would sand paper and a hella determination work just as good?

save the time and effort and just do an slot port your going to catch hell trying to sand pvc by hand. if u can just use 1 big *** pvc like an 8-12" pvc

tooloud4tv
08-03-2008, 01:36 PM
http://i238.photobucket.com/albums/ff283/kepper420/boxkw2.jpg

Heres the design, Unrated made it for me! The only thing im concerned with is the aeroport issue. The box i have now was made quick to get my sub going. Its tuned somewhere around 32hz, and the lows sound like poop. the mid highs sound great, but i love my lows. the aeroports in the design are 9 13/16'' long, 3'' wide, and theres 2 of them making a tuning of 34hz, i want to lower that, but from what i understand i have to make both of them longer. can you guys give suggestions? its for a 12'' fi bl on about 1000wrms.

and all the chicken scratch is me, ms paint ***** ****.

how big is the box?

tooloud4tv
08-03-2008, 01:37 PM
nvm i didnt know u were only using 1 **** 12" scrap the big pvc pipe idea

boomzilla
08-03-2008, 01:37 PM
2.8 cubes he said. im sure thats with sub and port displacement.

boomzilla
08-03-2008, 01:37 PM
nvm i didnt know u were only using 1 **** 12" scrap the big pvc pipe idea

its all gravy

tooloud4tv
08-03-2008, 01:39 PM
2.8 cubes he said. im sure thats with sub and port displacement.

box taht big tuned that low and the lows ******? perhaps tunning was an bit off by mistake?

boomzilla
08-03-2008, 01:42 PM
it was, i built the box originally for 2 12'' cvx's. 4.5 tuned to 32.

built the box, didnt fit the trunk, traded the subs, bought the bl.

I figured i could use half of the 4.5 and use the 2.25 or so left. cut it in half, and bam.

but in the process of building, i ****ed up the port and instead of putting it behind the baffle, i put it on the outside next to it. ill get a pic to show you.

boomzilla
08-03-2008, 01:43 PM
http://i238.photobucket.com/albums/ff283/kepper420/20080729_0148.jpg

the port wall closest to the sub should be flush behind the front baffle not next to it, so i figured thats my prob in the first place.

tooloud4tv
08-03-2008, 01:44 PM
please do something was def wrong there box seems perfect for the lows

tooloud4tv
08-03-2008, 01:45 PM
judging from that pic if anything u should have been tuned lower. because ur port area was reduced so something still was wrong?

tooloud4tv
08-03-2008, 01:46 PM
if u can get all the dim i can help you out better.

boomzilla
08-03-2008, 01:46 PM
I know, people post vids and there fi bl's get low nast style, but mine just makes mechanical noise :crap:

so im figuring the port is affecting it wose than i thought, so i guess ill build a new one, with a slot port.

tooloud4tv
08-03-2008, 01:48 PM
I know, people post vids and there fi bl's get low nast style, but mine just makes mechanical noise :crap:

so im figuring the port is affecting it wose than i thought, so i guess ill build a new one, with a slot port.

if its doing that that means ur playing under tunning freqs which means u are no where near the tunning that u think u are

tooloud4tv
08-03-2008, 01:48 PM
my vote build another box take ur time make sure u got all the measurments right and u should be golden!

boomzilla
08-03-2008, 01:49 PM
if u can get all the dim i can help you out better.

well that box is already all screwed, glued, and siliconed, i didnt see the prints conflict with the port dimensions AFTER i built it lmao, so a lesson learned there. my max dimensions are that box i posted up that unrated built me, if you can stay within 32'' wide, 15'' tall, 11 3/4'' deep, thatd be awesome. my 04 cavy has a tempramental trunk.

boomzilla
08-03-2008, 01:51 PM
And i really appreciate the help, awesome crowd in here this afternooon.

tooloud4tv
08-03-2008, 01:53 PM
anytime man

mlstrass
08-03-2008, 02:16 PM
why not just do a slot port?

boomzilla
08-03-2008, 02:19 PM
thats what im gonna do now, since the flared ones cost way more, i dont have the skill or tools to make a flare template, im gonna do a slot port. its just my old box's port got messed up dimension wise, so i found my problem there. if anyone could lend their design skills on a slot port itll be much appreciated.

boomzilla
08-04-2008, 12:04 PM
bump, can anyone design just a port?

i have the dimensions boxwise, i was gonna go with 2 aeroports but decided not to.

if someone can sketch up just a port in that design i got in this thread, ill pp you 5 bucks tonight, i really wanna get this box done. the box is 2.8 cu. ft. i need between 33.6-44.8 sq inches of port area, and a tuning of 32hz. thanks!

Ed Lester
08-04-2008, 12:11 PM
sanding the edges of PVC will not make a difference.
To realize the benefit of a flared port you can take thin walled PVC. make a moil or fing an old bowl or something. Then heat up the PVC and flare the edges yourself.
http://i131.photobucket.com/albums/p304/manosteel875/0310071248a.jpg
http://i131.photobucket.com/albums/p304/manosteel875/0310071248b.jpg
http://i131.photobucket.com/albums/p304/manosteel875/0310071249b.jpg
http://i131.photobucket.com/albums/p304/manosteel875/0310071249a.jpg

boomzilla
08-04-2008, 01:02 PM
well i dont have a heat gun... or any molds or anything that resembles a flare that wont set on fire lol, so if i just throw the pvcs in there is the port noise gonna be horrible? or is it gonna be minimal? cuz i really wanna build a new box

boomzilla
08-04-2008, 02:13 PM
can someone please guide me in the right direction? are the pvc ports gonna **** or are they gonna be alright? or should i do a slot port?

Ed Lester
08-04-2008, 02:15 PM
do flared or do slot port.

boomzilla
08-04-2008, 02:18 PM
cuz i h ave the design for the one with aeroports but i wanted to make sure it would be alright for my setup. i dont wanna build this box and find out its not what i wanted, you know? but i guess ill have to do the trial and error to find out...

J31Rob
08-04-2008, 02:21 PM
biggest difference is usually the thickness though.

i have thin walled 6" PVC pipes, same wall thickness as PSP 6" pipes. then I have some regular PVC pipes, which are thicker.

J31Rob
08-04-2008, 02:22 PM
& if you're looking for any 6" pipes, they're for sale.

boomzilla
08-04-2008, 02:25 PM
i was just gonna pick some thin walled 3'' along with the mdf if they have it.

boomzilla
08-04-2008, 02:34 PM
another thing i didnt understand is Fi said the bl's need 12-16 sq in of port area per cu. ft.

so i have 2.8 cubes on my design, so that would make the port area 33.6 going off of the 12 sq in of port area fi reccommended. but the 2 aeroports on the design are 3'' wide, and 9 13/16'' long, wouldnt that give me way more port area then 33.6 sq in?

boomzilla
08-04-2008, 03:22 PM
anyone:?

icweiner
08-04-2008, 04:23 PM
2 3" ports have only 14 SQ in. of port area total. i would do 1 4" port and a smaller box.

MikeyB
08-04-2008, 04:39 PM
another thing i didnt understand is Fi said the bl's need 12-16 sq in of port area per cu. ft.

so i have 2.8 cubes on my design, so that would make the port area 33.6 going off of the 12 sq in of port area fi reccommended. but the 2 aeroports on the design are 3'' wide, and 9 13/16'' long, wouldnt that give me way more port area then 33.6 sq in?

Not at all.

Square Port Area= H x W

Round Port Area= Pi x r^2

So, 1.5 x 1.5 x 3.14 = 7.065 x 2 = 14.13

You need more port area

MikeyB
08-04-2008, 04:39 PM
2 3" ports have only 14 SQ in. of port area total. i would do 1 4" port and a smaller box.

One 4" = 12.56sq in

For the port area you need for that box I would do a single 6in port. Or two 4" aeros.

boomzilla
08-04-2008, 05:12 PM
well i seen an earlier post and re's website has a box calculator, which i didnt know about.
i entered in my dimensions, everything seems right, i have 30 sq inches of port area (if i make it any bigger my port wall has to be really long to reach my desired tuning frequency of 32hz and takes away volume, so i kept it minimal) i have 2.212 cu ft of volume with all displacements, and kept within my max trunk dimensions. has anyone used this calculator and is it accurate? im sorry for all these **** questions but i really wanna learn how all this works!

twistedmind
08-04-2008, 11:33 PM
another thing i didnt understand is Fi said the bl's need 12-16 sq in of port area per cu. ft.

so i have 2.8 cubes on my design, so that would make the port area 33.6 going off of the 12 sq in of port area fi reccommended. but the 2 aeroports on the design are 3'' wide, and 9 13/16'' long, wouldnt that give me way more port area then 33.6 sq in?



two 3" ID pvc pipes nets you a port area of 14.13 square inches.

twistedmind
08-04-2008, 11:37 PM
2 3" ports have only 14 SQ in. of port area total. i would do 1 4" port and a smaller box.

id do one six inch aero if you're dead set on aeros, slot port would e the ideal way to go.


Can you post the specs for your sub?


They will look like this

Fs: 28.4 Hz
Re: 0.7 Ohms/coil
Qms: 05.39
Qes: .49
Qts: .45
Mms: 211g
Cms: 0.15mm/N
Sd: 481cm^2
Vas: 48.3 l
Spl: 85.4dB 1W/1m
Bl: 10.4 N/A
Xmax: 27mm

then give me the maximum outside dimension that you can fit for your box and ill throw somethng together for you

twistedmind
08-04-2008, 11:40 PM
32x15.75xx11.75 is as big as you can go?

or is the H 15" including a invisible board?

twistedmind
08-05-2008, 12:03 AM
alrighty not accounting for bracing or ports the displacment of that box on page 1 is 2.264 cubic feet

after a 13.5" x 2" x 5" port it comes down to 2.2 cubes with a 55 Hz tune and it has a pretty decent responce.

http://www.aww-kittah-aww.com/up/files/1089/fi%20bl%2055%20Hz.bmp

with a 35 Hz tune and a 13.5" x 2" x 24.5 " port the volume comes down to 1.9 cubic feet

and the responce looks UGLY

http://www.aww-kittah-aww.com/up/files/1089/fi%20bl%2035%20Hz.bmp


hope that helps some

boomzilla
08-05-2008, 12:07 AM
thanks for the help, but yea the re box calculator gave me something to work with, im gonna see if that all works out. if not, ill pm you and see what else we can do.

thanks all for your help!

boomzilla
08-05-2008, 12:58 PM
alright, i got all my stuff outta my trunk so i can go pick up some wood.
hopefully this will be my nirvana box and i can fully enjoy the highs AND the lows, my last two boxes got fudged up in the port part so theres my problem right there i think. so im gonna take my time on this one, buy some 90 degree fixtures like i see in the box builds on here, and really make this one nice. i wont carpet it though, raw mdf ftw
anyways if you guys want pics while im doing this ill take some.

boomzilla
08-06-2008, 02:47 PM
finally got the box done, i didnt go with the aeroports like i wanted to but its all good.
fit it my trunk so snug it was rediculous, im glad it worked out. the lows hammer and the higher end notes sound amazing as well.

i just want to thank all of those who have helped me understand how a box effects the sound of a sub, if you guys didnt help, id still be stuck. thanks again guys, if you care for pics ill get some up, if not, less work for me lol.