PDA

View Full Version : round port to slotted



Granpaa
07-30-2008, 07:57 PM
I have a 10" sub box design I have is 15.5 wide 15.5 depth 11.5 high with a 3" dia port 11 inches long....how do I change that to a slotted port I will kerf the port?

Granpaa
07-30-2008, 08:02 PM
those are outside dimensions

Techchild
07-30-2008, 08:06 PM
Why change a round port to slotted do you have any pictures?

Granpaa
07-30-2008, 08:12 PM
just wanted to try my hand at the kerfed port frenzy...I'm handy at woodworking just to old to know much about car audio....no pictures but would like to take some while I give this a try.

Techchild
07-30-2008, 10:16 PM
Are you looking to build a whole new box? It would be less work just building a new one rather then modifiying the old box.

Granpaa
07-31-2008, 06:50 AM
yes I will build a new one just not sure about port size....box will be 15.5 wide 15.5 deep and 11.5 high....for a 10"...kind of think those dimensions may be off I dont have a box program

Granpaa
07-31-2008, 07:25 AM
13.5 high sorry...

ultimate157
07-31-2008, 09:16 AM
To keep the same port area with those dimensions, you'll have a port that's 12" tall and .58" in width... Not ideal by any means.

Granpaa
07-31-2008, 10:06 AM
I am so bad at this stuff....could someone with a box building program draw me up a slot ported box for a 10" Kenwood sub....I will try and figure out paypal if the drawing costs money.

ultimate157
07-31-2008, 10:19 AM
I am so bad at this stuff....could someone with a box building program draw me up a slot ported box for a 10" Kenwood sub....I will try and figure out paypal if the drawing costs money.

If I could design boxes I would gladly help, but I haven't figured it out yet :laugh:

Granpaa
07-31-2008, 10:25 AM
Thank you ...least I didnt waste time making the wrong box.

boomzilla
07-31-2008, 10:31 AM
a member by the name of Unrated thats here can draw you up a box, pm him, he helped me out alot.

Techchild
07-31-2008, 10:42 AM
Here we go hows this.

All these measurments are to scale and would need 3/4 mdf to make correctly
The port in my drawing is not correct length

http://img364.imageshack.us/img364/7677/granpaboxcutsheetrc9.jpg
http://img364.imageshack.us/img364/4091/granpasboxdx2.jpg

Granpaa
07-31-2008, 12:02 PM
Thank you very very much...thats perfect.

ultimate157
07-31-2008, 12:08 PM
FYI some people will disagree with your port dimensions due to it being so tall and skinny.

That's why I stick with sealed boxes. Get the right volume and you're golden.

shortyg83
07-31-2008, 12:13 PM
FYI some people will disagree with your port dimensions due to it being so tall and skinny.

That's why I stick with sealed boxes. Get the right volume and you're golden.

What size is the sub. For a 10 or 8 inch sub a 1 or 1.5 inch wide port isn't to bad.

Techchild
07-31-2008, 12:41 PM
What size is the sub. For a 10 or 8 inch sub a 1 or 1.5 inch wide port isn't to bad.

I designed it for a 10" by his reqest :)

01 S 10
07-31-2008, 12:56 PM
typical MAX port ratio is 1:8, but with only a single 10" and low power it should sound good.

Granpaa
07-31-2008, 03:05 PM
Thank you Techchild for the plans about to start cutting out the pieces.

ultimate157
07-31-2008, 03:11 PM
and that's why I don't design boxes :)

Granpaa
07-31-2008, 03:29 PM
??

ultimate157
07-31-2008, 03:31 PM
??

I was wrong about the dimensions :)

Granpaa
07-31-2008, 03:34 PM
you offered help...I appreiciate that....I know every little about this stuff just trying to help my Grandson.

Granpaa
07-31-2008, 06:39 PM
thanks to all....I will post pics if I can figure out how

Techchild
08-01-2008, 12:11 AM
Is it all done?
To post up pictures put them on your computer then upload them to either photobucket.com or imageshack.us then take the direct link and put it between image codes that look like this
[.img][./img] but without the . :)