PDA

View Full Version : Ported Box questions?



dpu2014
07-26-2008, 01:27 PM
Ok I am trying to build a ported box for a friend but how do i know how big of ports to use? how long? etc. And before u tell me to use SEARCH, i already have.

azimuth
07-26-2008, 01:29 PM
search "port calculator"

a_steezy
07-26-2008, 01:30 PM
google 're audio'

then under the first thing it'll say encloser calculator or something

it's easy to find and works good

dumpin907
07-26-2008, 01:32 PM
first tell us the sub, the amount of power, the vehicle,and what music he listens too

tooloud4tv
07-26-2008, 01:33 PM
got****e~ what size subs,box u are using i will be able to help you further!

dpu2014
07-26-2008, 01:34 PM
ok thanks i just found it. also, what is the difference between the boxes that just have the tube ports vs the boxs that have the big slots.

tooloud4tv
07-26-2008, 01:34 PM
first tell us the sub, the amount of power, the vehicle,and what music he listens too

x2

azimuth
07-26-2008, 01:35 PM
ok thanks i just found it. also, what is the difference between the boxes that just have the tube ports vs the boxs that have the big slots.

i think you should do some reading before firing up the tools

a_steezy
07-26-2008, 01:39 PM
i think you should do some reading before firing up the tools

haha x2

dpu2014
07-26-2008, 04:14 PM
two small 10inch kenwoods. 150 watt rms.

dpu2014
07-26-2008, 04:16 PM
two small 10inch kenwoods. 150 watt rms.

and he listents to all kinds of music. So i was thinkin around 35hz. The problem is I dont know how to tune a box to a certain hz. I just built a sealed enclosure for my 15 fi Q so now Im tryin to learn the world of ported enclosures as well.

dumpin907
07-26-2008, 04:19 PM
and he listents to all kinds of music. So i was thinkin around 35hz. The problem is I dont know how to tune a box to a certain hz. I just built a sealed enclosure for my 15 fi Q so now Im tryin to learn the world of ported enclosures as well.

go to reaudio.com use the box calculator. you can enter all the dims and adjust port size to get the tuning you want

dpu2014
07-26-2008, 06:13 PM
that is for L ported boxes. This wont be L ported.

skmfkr
07-26-2008, 07:03 PM
http://www.carstereo.com/help/Articles.cfm?id=31

that is what i use

dtbrown
07-26-2008, 08:25 PM
ok thanks i just found it. also, what is the difference between the boxes that just have the tube ports vs the boxs that have the big slots.

An areoport difference http://www.partsexpress.com/pe/showdetl.cfm?&Partnumber=268-354

to a standard slot port for music is mostly a build,spl,tuning difference.

Areoports are very efficient and loud due to the flared ends that you see in the picture. Areoports are very easy to tune and you can make the box smaller due to you don't need the extra space for the slot port. Great for cars with limited space for a box

Slot ports work pretty well but typically require a bigger box and are pretty much untunable unless you make it so that you can take the slot port out and either make it shorter or longer. So with a slot port box you'll need to gather a lot of info so you do it right the first time.

Me personally have been using areoports mostly due to the ease of use and they are loud as hell if set up right. Cost wise you'll spend more with areoports due to the initial investment on the ports. But if you want a simple ported box that sounds good with ease of build and won't dig into your wallet go slot port. Just do your research for the specs you'll need for the port size, length and box size.

Good luck.