PDA

View Full Version : Some Box Questions



x2o
07-24-2008, 02:56 PM
Okay, well I'm building the box today and have a few questions.

First, my box in total will be 20" Deep by 34" Wide by 16" Tall. It's for a 15" Sub, so I heard when making a baffle so close to the size of the sub it is best to sandwich the top and bottom inbetween the front and back, as opposed to the normal top and bottom being the biggest ones that sandwich everything. Is this true? If not then the front will only be 14.5" tall, which may still work but it would sort of get bolted to the top/bottom as well as the front, lol.

Secondly, do you need the second wall in the L port? You know how one would go from the front to the back, then the other one from the left to the right for tuning? If I go with 4.5" wide port, leaving no wall on the second place would give me the tuning I'd prefer, but is it needed?

I'm sure I'll have a couple more questions as I think of them, I'll post if so :D

Thanks for helping a noob out :p:

x2o
07-24-2008, 03:37 PM
:( nobody? I'm sort of in the process of cutting the wood now so the sooner the better :)

hemi=22s
07-24-2008, 04:00 PM
i would put the top and bottom as biggest pieces cause the front is where the port is correct??


no that 2nd pc of the wall is to adjust tuning u dont need it

i have no calc how much air space ya got there

x2o
07-24-2008, 04:01 PM
i would put the top and bottom as biggest pieces cause the front is where the port is correct??


no that 2nd pc of the wall is to adjust tuning u dont need it

i have no calc how much air space ya got there

It's about 4 cubes, a bit more :)

And so even if the sub is bigger then the height of the front panel i should sandwich it like that?

And thanks for the answer on the tuning piece :)

hemi=22s
07-24-2008, 04:05 PM
it shouldnt' be bigger than the mounting diameter,

u got 4 cubes before sub and bracing so figure 3.75 tuned to 39 is where u want it at?? thats what i got with ur dimensions and 4.5" wide port

mounting hole is 14" which would be kinda tight on ur front panel restrictions

hemi=22s
07-24-2008, 04:08 PM
u could make the front screw to the top/bottom but, it will stick out1.5" further than the port does if u get what im saying.

i did mine 4.3 @ 33 hz punds the lows and still does great#'s

x2o
07-24-2008, 04:11 PM
it shouldnt' be bigger than the mounting diameter,

u got 4 cubes before sub and bracing so figure 3.75 tuned to 39 is where u want it at?? thats what i got with ur dimensions and 4.5" wide port

Yeah I mean I'm going for high 30's, just don't wanna pass 40hz.

And it's 4.25 or so before sub / brace, so yeah it should end around 3.8-4 cubes

and umm okay so I'm gonna have to recut some panels. Good thing I got 3 sheets of mdf!

So my cut sheet is looking like this :

Top: 34x20
Bottom: 34x20
Left: 14.5x20
Right: 14.5x18.5
Front: 29.5x14.5 (times 2, wanna double baffle the front)
Back: 34x14.5

I think, that's off the top of my head, gonna check it once more.

Actually maybe I won't double baffle, idk. Should I tune lower? Like 35ish?

hemi=22s
07-24-2008, 04:14 PM
i did one flush with top/bottom mount and then one on top of that so it sticks out .75 more than the port, but when i wrapped it gave it a nice edge on top and bottom of the front of the box



http://i261.photobucket.com/albums/ii80/56acebtown/IMG_0634.jpg


and lots or bracing, then i lined the inside with egg crate lookin foam does quite well

x2o
07-24-2008, 04:14 PM
I don't know, I'm so confused!

x2o
07-24-2008, 04:17 PM
Hm, so I guess I will just do it normally where the top and bottom are biggest. Only thing is the bolt circle for the 15" MT as you know is 14.75", and the front panel would only be 14.5" tall. :crap:. Would I be fine doing it that way? It'd be 10000 times easier to build and keep the dimensions in my head.

hemi=22s
07-24-2008, 04:28 PM
Hm, so I guess I will just do it normally where the top and bottom are biggest. Only thing is the bolt circle for the 15" MT as you know is 14.75", and the front panel would only be 14.5" tall. :crap:. Would I be fine doing it that way? It'd be 10000 times easier to build and keep the dimensions in my head.


it will be fine all the bolt holes will still be in wood and it will look better, rember ur total front is going to be 16" still

x2o
07-24-2008, 04:29 PM
Alright cool then, thanks for the help hemi, you've answered like 80% of my threads asking questions. Haha!

Going to fab up another cut sheet right now using the new specs :)

hemi=22s
07-24-2008, 04:30 PM
Hm, so I guess I will just do it normally where the top and bottom are biggest. Only thing is the bolt circle for the 15" MT as you know is 14.75", and the front panel would only be 14.5" tall. :crap:. Would I be fine doing it that way? It'd be 10000 times easier to build and keep the dimensions in my head.


it will be fine all the bolt holes will still be in wood . rember ur total front is going to be 16" still

x2o
07-24-2008, 04:35 PM
double post :crap:

hemi=22s
07-24-2008, 04:51 PM
pics when done lolz,

u will love that ****in sub i am so impressed i have had at least 40 systems and this kills all but 2 of em