PDA

View Full Version : Sealed Box Question?

GRAND V
06-10-2003, 06:34 PM
I am building a box for 2 12" audiobahn AW1200Q and would like the best seal possible to plug any air from escaping and get the best sound from the subs. I am using 3/4 MDF. My question is, will it be ok to use truck bedliner to seal the outside of the box and dynamat to seal the inside, along with putting polyfill inside. Is this going to help, hurt my box. The box will be 1.25 cu ft on each side. Also, what is meant by tuning a box. I am a newbie so go easy. I know I can go by a box, but wanted to try to build my own. I bought a book on box building to help. Any and all help appreciated.:peace: :peace: :peace: :peace: :peace:

maylar
06-10-2003, 06:59 PM
Seal the inside seams with RTV caulk or a bead of glue. If you want, you can paint the inside or outside with just about anything - even wood varnish - to seal the (alleged) pores of the MDF. Dynamat is not necessary.

Tuning applies to ported boxes, not sealed ones. Don't worry about that.

bigred78797
06-10-2003, 11:21 PM
Unless you are looking for complete SQ i would not go with a sealed box because most audiobahn subs are for better for ported enclosures. But if you insist in o sealed box then all of that is not necessary. Everything maylar said is correct and if you want to ensure a near complete seal use some fiberglass resin on the inside of the box. If you want to build a ported box download WinISD Pro and it should help you out alot.

fantomas
06-11-2003, 11:54 PM