PDA

View Full Version : Help with Single Alpine 12" Type Box

ascitiesburn69
07-12-2008, 02:17 AM
Hi this is my first time posting on this forum so bear with me....
Ok i have a single 12" type R and a 500watt RMS amp and plan to make a ported box for it around 2.5-3 CuFt and i was wondering if I wanted to get the most SQ and SPL possible a freq of 33hz should be fairly ideal right? and also i want the box to be as least deep as possible. So for say a 3Cube box wat would the port dimensions have to be for it to be ~33hz?
Thanks in advance
-ascitiesburn69

Perfectionist
07-12-2008, 07:32 AM
what are the specs for the sub?
what are the maximum sizes the enclosure can be built to?

01 S 10
07-12-2008, 07:46 AM
www.reaudio.com << has a box builder program you can use for free, just need your max outer dimensions.

ascitiesburn69
07-12-2008, 02:07 PM
Thanks for the replies guys

ascitiesburn69
07-13-2008, 03:44 AM
If i am looking for the best SQL then what should the port be tuned to 32 or33 or will 1hz really not be THAT noticeable to human ears? Anyways that reaudio.com site was a great help and virtually builds the box for u. I plan to make the box an L ported box with dimensions W=35" H=15" and D=11". Internal Volume is going to be around 2.0-2.1Cubes with all displacements taken account for. The port is going to be 1.75" wide and 10" long which makes the freq about 33.5hz. Should i lower the Freq by increasing the size of the port length or making the port less wide? or is the freq fine for a decent combo of SQ and SPL? Also i have one question that is prob answered in one of the many amazing stickies....But when i construct the box i use screws obviously but i should just put wood glue along the seams too? or between the pieces of wood then glue them together then screw them together? or after it is contructed am i supposed to seal off the box except for the port with silicon?
Thanks for all the great help guys
Keep the replies coming;)

Perfectionist