PDA

View Full Version : Would an AQ HDC318-A in 14.4 cuft trunk using IB work?



mcsoul
07-08-2008, 10:45 AM
Would an AQ HDC318-A in 14.4 cuft trunk using Infinite Baffle work?
I tried this question in the Subwoofer section, but it's not working
out for me.

VAS 109 ltr (3.85 cubic feet) trunk is 3.7 times the size.

QES .5
QTS .464
FS 31 Hz

rest of the specs:

http://www.audioque.com/aq/HDCSeries.htm

What would this do to the power handling (should reduce it a lot), I was
thinking it may handle an AQ 1200d this way?

Will it work as IB, or will my trunk act like a big leaky
sealed enclosure?

The Car is a 2004 nissan Altima, the trunk and rear deck actually
do not look to bad in terms of IB, it's almost ideal from what I can see.
Just seal off the 6x9 ports and 2 little holes, and mount some layered
mdf sheets behind the seats, right against the ledge with some kind
of gastketing or expandable foam.

I know, I know try it and see. I just want to make sure the numbers look
right to people with IB experience.

jeremiah
07-08-2008, 12:49 PM
I dont think the HDC318's are the best sub for IB but I do know that the mach5audio MJ-18M is a good sub for IB

James Bang
07-08-2008, 01:02 PM
Power handling will decrease most likely decrease.

If you have leaks when going IB, imo, its best to have the leaks leading outside of the trunk and not into the cabin

mcsoul
07-08-2008, 01:27 PM
I dont think the HDC318's are the best sub for IB but I do know that the mach5audio MJ-18M is a good sub for IB

Nice low qes and qts and price:), but the VAS = 210 litres, or about 7 cubes. Do you think that I have enough trunk for that woofer?

Rashaddd
07-08-2008, 01:32 PM
Nice low qes and qts and price:), but the VAS = 210 litres, or about 7 cubes. Do you think that I have enough trunk for that woofer?

It can also just be a 'gigantic sealed box'