PDA

View Full Version : Use viper 130xv for ccfls on 07 Charger



MrDolomite
07-03-2008, 11:01 AM
The Bits I Have:

2007 Dodge Charger SRT8

Chrysler 300, Dodge Charger and Magnum Haynes Repair Manual for 2005 thru 2007, ISBN 1 56392 665 2, with appendix of vehicle wiring diagrams, (book info link (http://www.haynes.com/products/searchType/vehicleApplicationSearch2/searchEnd/yes/sfID1//sfID2//sfID3//year/2007/make/Dodge/model/Charger/x/13/y/11/productID/517))

functional, but deinstalled from another vehicle, Viper Model 130XV Remote Start (PDF (http://www.the12volt.com/installbay/file.asp?ID=569) of install manual)

One SPDT relay, tested as functional

Three sets of 12V Logisys cold cathode fluorescent lamp (CCFL) lighting w/ inverter (product link (http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16811994004)). These are already wired up, using an appropriately sized 3A inline fuse, and all connected to the same manual switch

The Idea:


Use some output of the Viper remote start, plus possibly the relay, plus possibly some other as-yet-to-be-determined-part-I-have-no-idea-about-yet, to use the Viper's remote control fob to power the CCFLs on and off

No intention of using the Viper as an actual remote start for the vehicle. Or else I would have taken it to an installer and let them do this for real $$. :)

But I'm cheap and figure this small application should be something I can DIY with some expert hints in the right direction.

While I'm not an electrician, my thought is that this should be doable.


I have successfully hooked up the two 12V input wires (red on the heavy gauge plug) and the one ground wire (black on the H1 plug) and verified that using the lock/unlock button on the fob will send a short voltage change signal down the green/white wire (on H1). So at least this proved that the Viper itself is alive and listening to the fob.

I was hoping to use one of the outputs on the heavy gauge plug or one of the other accessory outputs to send 12V which can be used as an input to the CCFLs. If I could come up with the right combination that would use the Viper's time-out function, that would be even better.

But right now, there is no power coming out of any of the outputs on the heavy gauge connector.

My guess is that more than just the two input power and ground connections need to be wired up to make the Viper think that it is all connected.