PDA

View Full Version : blown 15



woodels420
06-29-2008, 09:28 PM
i bought a 15"subwoofer from audioxtreme and did even get to play it for more then 2 days.really ***** heres the link for the sub.i was only runing 1700rmshttp://www.caraudio.com/forum/showthread.php?t=305285

im not doging on him or anything but this is bs.when it was shipped to me it was packaged horeably and the basket had a crack on it witch was never mentioned in the ad.

brtnboarder3241
06-29-2008, 09:29 PM
want to sell it

woodels420
06-29-2008, 09:32 PM
maybe have to see what goes on with it for know.might just get a recone kit and do it myself.who knows know i will let u know.

dbman150
06-29-2008, 09:35 PM
i dont think that would hes problem if it blown 2 days after you installied it you could have been clipping the hell out of it , too small of box many things could have happened to it and the crack could of happien in shipping

woodels420
06-29-2008, 09:45 PM
even if the cracked did happen in shipping if u would have seen the box that came in u would know y.i sure the hell wasnt cliping it or the box being to small.it wasnt even able to b called a box.ask lingerfelt if u dont believe me he seen the box.

DB_DRAG_SPL
06-29-2008, 10:47 PM
You have absolutely NO proof that it wasn't a problem with your install. You have no leg to stand on here, if it was blown when you recieved it then you have a case, but seeing as how you played it for 2 days, it obviously wasn't blown when you recieved it.

silvercookie
06-29-2008, 10:51 PM
You have absolutely NO proof that it wasn't a problem with your install. You have no leg to stand on here, if it was blown when you recieved it then you have a case, but seeing as how you played it for 2 days, it obviously wasn't blown when you recieved it.

x2
although the guy did say that HE would rate it at 2000w rms
so if it was rated lower and he gave it 2000w+ he could have possibly worn out the woofer

AudioXtremes
06-29-2008, 11:50 PM
I truely am sorry it blew. Strange for a tripple stiff spider sub with a 8 layer flat aluminum coil would blow so easily. How did it blow? Coil?

mazdakid
06-30-2008, 12:03 AM
Maybe the whole sub wasnt glued together properly when he got it?

woodels420
06-30-2008, 08:40 AM
dont know how it blew was driving and it cut out and when i poped the trunk it was smoking like a m/f.im going to take the sub out today and take pics.like i said i was only runing about 1700rms at 1ohm so i know i didnt over power it.

DB_DRAG_SPL
06-30-2008, 12:49 PM
Shockers will take 2kw all day long, my guess is still the install on your side (i.e. you were clipping the holy hell out of that woofer)

woodels420
06-30-2008, 03:36 PM
i was not cliping the woofer at all the cliping light would have been going on and off on my amp.

silvercookie
06-30-2008, 03:38 PM
what amp are you running it off of?

woodels420
06-30-2008, 05:00 PM
Concept CC-D2400specs

1 x 600W @ 4 ohms
1 x 1150W @ 2 ohms
1 x 2400W @ 1 ohm
1 x 2700W @ .5 ohms
i only had the gain just under 3/4 and the subsonic all the way down.runing it at 1ohm

almond
06-30-2008, 08:30 PM
which head unit?

DJ Nitrous 427
06-30-2008, 09:01 PM
dont know how it blew was driving and it cut out and when i poped the trunk it was smoking like a m/f.

Unless your amp or wires were on fire...you cooked the coil.

It dosn't matter where you say you had the gain knob set ... it was set too high

Just because the amp wasn't clipping the signal dosn't mean the headunit or pre-amp wasn't

Sorry for your mishap

woodels420
06-30-2008, 10:08 PM
me 2.o well hopefull i just got a mojo anyways