PDA

View Full Version : An Enclosure for three 18's



teedot231999
06-28-2008, 11:19 AM
What's up fellas? I am looking for a ported enclosure that will be able to hold three DD 18's. I have about 26 cubes of space maximum in my trunk. From what I read on DD's website I need about 6 cubes of space per sub. I know this eclosure will take up alot of space but again 26 cubes is the maximum amount of space available for the sub enclosure. Can someone please help me out with a design. Please! Thanks for any assistance.:D

pioneerpimp
06-28-2008, 11:21 AM
u wanna put three 18s in a trunk?

im pretty sure that aint happening as 1 18 is hard enough in any trunk

boltpride
06-28-2008, 11:21 AM
what vehicle?

Tuning?

teedot231999
06-28-2008, 11:33 AM
My fault.The car is a 94 chevy caprice. They website says for high efficincey the enclosure should be tuned @ 40hz

kovemaster559
06-28-2008, 11:36 AM
if your going to do this i suggest cutting out the floor. and welding in flat sheat metal to get the most space you can in that car i dont see it happening tho unless u can get 12CUFT from a trunk. A wise man once told me sometimes more is less, in this case . those words apply well to ehat you are trying to do. honestly do 2 18s and take up every bit of trunk you got. it should be more efficient.

teedot231999
06-28-2008, 11:47 AM
I thought so as well. I was also thinking of cutting the trunk because that spear tire crap I wanted to put the idea I had out there to see if it were possible. I know of 2 guys that have four 15's in theb trunk of there caprice/impala SS. I figured If four 15's can get back there then it's a possibility three 18's could get back there with a clever design.

teedot231999
06-28-2008, 11:56 AM
u wanna put three 18s in a trunk?

im pretty sure that aint happening as 1 18 is hard enough in any trunk

Yeah I am thinkinng of putting three 18's in my trunk. I've seen two 18's in the trunk of a civic so why not my trunk? There are plenty of people who run two 18's in their trunk and their trunk is smaller than mine. I don't see why it's so hard to get one 18 in a trunk?

teedot231999
06-28-2008, 04:07 PM
I did some more research and the math three 18's will not fit at all. I thought I had 26 cubes of space after my reasearch I nrealize I don't. i only have about 20-21 cubes of space. Even if I take kove's advice and cut the trunk that might give me about 4-5 extra cubes. I need space for my amps and airide setup. Thanks everyone for steering me in the right direction.

kovemaster559
06-28-2008, 04:10 PM
if you cut it will prolly give you 30 if you do it right. i wish i was their to help. cause i aint scurred to cut!