PDA

View Full Version : 4 Re Se 12's 01 Silverado ECSBhttp://www.caraudio.com/forum/newthread.php?do=newthrea



thur5d4yf4n
06-22-2008, 12:31 AM
Began my build today. The victim is a chevy silverado extended cab 2001. equipment:
4 re se 12's d4
american bass vfl 150.1
0 gauge power
big 3
yellow top
pioneer deck (dont know model)
infinity reference components
stock alt :emb:

box specs
58 wide 20 tall 18 deep
10 cubes before displacement
9 after displacement
three 4 inch aeros tuned to 32 hz
should wang if the electrical keeps up

****** cell phone pictures
old box
http://a95.ac-images.myspacecdn.com/images01/10/l_69b38fab1189b9d6cdab3da27ca9c2fe.jpg
floor (box will sit on this)
http://a283.ac-images.myspacecdn.com/images01/57/l_a44769b913358b9bcd063dab0d4e48ea.jpg
box getting there, drying, also old amp rack with my vfl 150.1 on top adding weight to drying process
http://a296.ac-images.myspacecdn.com/images01/52/l_dbc613c2725e73dacaca10ced502fa8f.jpg
the truck, and my work space, a tail gate :laugh: truck is lowered 4/6 on 20s
http://a8.ac-images.myspacecdn.com/images01/56/l_9694819bf18e8ab2b41a047eb3a6a1a7.jpg
new zero gauge i picked up today (14 feet)
http://a740.ac-images.myspacecdn.com/images01/76/l_5152ab3cfa17f92a00be8cf062919aa3.jpg
i was gonna take pics of the inside of my truck with the back area gutted but it is too dark.

thur5d4yf4n
06-24-2008, 04:30 PM
http://a32.ac-images.myspacecdn.com/images01/110/l_e29578e5abb7815b0060504a1aef7fff.jpg
waiting for the 3rd and 4th sub, aeros in, braces in, double baffle on, zero gauge wire ran. yay!

hoxie08
06-24-2008, 04:32 PM
i love my se 12's :)

CRXBMPN
06-24-2008, 04:36 PM
looks great, am I seeing three 4" aero's there on the top or do you have ports somewhere else and those are just something else?

edit* you said in your original post that its 3 aero's :)

I tried three on four MX 12's and it dogged out bad, definately couldnt breathe enough!

kovemaster559
06-24-2008, 04:38 PM
Nice Box For What It Is

dumpin907
06-24-2008, 04:43 PM
are the subs seperated in chambers?

thur5d4yf4n
06-24-2008, 04:45 PM
are the subs seperated in chambers?

no they are not, single chamber

also, i calculated up the ports with a calculator and this is what it gave me so we'll see. i thought the ports seemed small as well. hmm

kovemaster559
06-24-2008, 04:47 PM
no they are not, single chamber

also, i calculated up the ports with a calculator and this is what it gave me so we'll see. i thought the ports seemed small as well. hmm

X 2 more port area please

Anniku989
06-24-2008, 04:49 PM
If the pic in post two (with the three aero's) is what your going to run with the four subs, I'd suggest getting one or two more. I've got about that much port with two SE's, and it's plenty louder than my previous box which was the same execpt less port

SeanDub
06-24-2008, 09:17 PM
no they are not, single chamber

also, i calculated up the ports with a calculator and this is what it gave me so we'll see. i thought the ports seemed small as well. hmm

What port calculator gave you that ridiculous port area?

You've got 9 cubes net. You should have between 100 and 150 sq inches of port. You have 37.7 sq inches of port. You have a sealed box with three holes in it :fyi:

CRXBMPN
06-24-2008, 09:19 PM
agreed. the only thing is, the more sq in of port area you have, you need to lengthen the ports to get the same tuning... maybe you dont have enough depth to have longer ports?

SeanDub
06-24-2008, 09:23 PM
agreed. the only thing is, the more sq in of port area you have, you need to lengthen the ports to get the same tuning... maybe you dont have enough depth to have longer ports?

Indeed, as his port area increases, his port length will have to increase, and his volume will decrease. So he's going to need a new box if he wants to make any changes, this one is probably not going to be fixed. But somehow it may work out fine.

CRXBMPN
06-24-2008, 09:27 PM
yep... never know it may sound good lol

KINGDELL91
06-24-2008, 09:29 PM
looking good so far...

thur5d4yf4n
06-24-2008, 09:53 PM
awww sh it i feel like an idiot. well 4 re se 12's require 8 cubes for optimal space according to RE's website. The box before displacement of port and sub is 10 cubes. after displacement of 4 re se 12's it is 9.4 cubes. so will this work if i replace the aero's with a slot port in the center? i really need some help.
here's some more pictures of it in my truck.
http://a381.ac-images.myspacecdn.com/images01/22/l_7470649ea17ebf09fff301362e77f854.jpg
http://a891.ac-images.myspacecdn.com/images01/86/l_42f107876dd20b3860c99e8f80ac9b12.jpg
http://a217.ac-images.myspacecdn.com/images01/106/l_752ee300e212f8aafe4b2479ba735b78.jpg
http://a271.ac-images.myspacecdn.com/images01/49/l_6e0ea01b6712f61719cbbd0e9ca11cd6.jpg
http://a271.ac-images.myspacecdn.com/images01/5/l_27ea33a93bd4b738d690a2bdcdace39e.jpg
if i could i would like to get away with using more aero ports even if i have to buy brand new pvc and re cut all of it. i dont mind tossing the ones i already have.

thur5d4yf4n
06-24-2008, 09:59 PM
edit: deleted

thur5d4yf4n
06-25-2008, 12:11 AM
ok made up my mind about the ports. im going to cover up the old port holes with some mdf and sand it flush so it looks like nothing was there. i am going to put two 8 inch aeros at 22" each
they will both come up the middle of the box firing towards the windshield. going to use 90 degree elbows to use the length of the box for the ports. with two 8 inch ports it will have 128" of port area and the calculator calls for 130" of port area. close enough right?

thur5d4yf4n
06-25-2008, 02:27 AM
BUMP will two 8" aeros be legit?!

thur5d4yf4n
06-25-2008, 03:01 AM
wow I am so lost right now, 8 inch aeros are out of the question. 90 degree elbows are 82$ a piece. im going to have to somehow do a slot port in the center of the enclosure. i could really use some help from a box designer.

Blotch
06-25-2008, 03:10 AM
well....if i had the internal and external dimensions of the box you have there and what frequency you are going for I may be able to help you :)

thur5d4yf4n
06-25-2008, 03:28 AM
well....if i had the internal and external dimensions of the box you have there and what frequency you are going for I may be able to help you :)

you got pm :D

NissanKicker
06-25-2008, 04:40 AM
http://i214.photobucket.com/albums/cc75/NissanKicker/412ported32_ActiveWindow.jpg

... It's 8.02 after sub and port displacement - tuned @ 32hz

bryce-man
06-25-2008, 05:16 AM
^ that looks way better than 3 little 4's

JUHL
06-25-2008, 05:17 AM
lookin good

CRXBMPN
06-25-2008, 06:17 AM
those dont even look like tried and true aero ports... :confused:

you really cant go much deeper with the port length can you

CRXBMPN
06-25-2008, 06:20 AM
nvm i see that you have other ideas... i only saw up to the 15th post

thur5d4yf4n
06-25-2008, 01:02 PM
those dont even look like tried and true aero ports... :confused:

you really cant go much deeper with the port length can you

yeah these are just 4" pvc from the plumbing section at home depot :emb:

NissanKicker
06-25-2008, 02:15 PM
Ok...
Here's so you can use the same wood.

It's 9.1cuft after sub & port displacement - tuned @ 32.
http://i214.photobucket.com/albums/cc75/NissanKicker/412lsported32_ActiveWindow_FullScre.jpg
http://i214.photobucket.com/albums/cc75/NissanKicker/412lsported32_ActiveWindow_FullS-1.jpg

adas
06-25-2008, 04:39 PM
Why not just port to the side? 2 6" AEROPORTS(not pvc by itself) or 2 8" pvc would be perfect ported to the passenger side. The way to go with round ports...but the slot idea will work too.

But god, 4 12's with 3 4" pvc pipes, it should be 4 12's with 3 6" aeros!:crap:

thur5d4yf4n
06-26-2008, 12:31 AM
fixed my port issue :D 140 ^2 inches of port area, all edges rounded http://a287.ac-images.myspacecdn.com/images01/120/l_35340e1a717a87ec07350ea1ed73ab3e.jpg

lorilee8284 is taking forever to send the subs, i havent heard from him since i paid for them :-/

thur5d4yf4n
06-26-2008, 04:05 AM
yeah im excited. just a little.

twisztdauthorit
06-28-2008, 02:48 AM
the port shoots into the side of the truck?
does it have room to breathe?

thur5d4yf4n
06-28-2008, 05:15 AM
the port shoots into the side of the truck?
does it have room to breathe?
yeah a good 3 or 4 inches

NissanKicker
06-30-2008, 05:58 AM
* If you where goin' for SPL.. I woulda went with the port firing forward... * ( But the box look great )

thur5d4yf4n
06-30-2008, 01:55 PM
thanks, here's some pictures of the box and amp installed. wrapped in some vinyl from joannes at $30 a yard! http://a457.ac-images.myspacecdn.com/images01/82/l_440453648b72dbca8affa861e3096580.jpg
http://a502.ac-images.myspacecdn.com/images01/32/l_e9e4be95a898e70a357da1b40440dff5.jpg

this is really pissing me off, i ordered my last two RE SE 12's from a user on here named lorilee8284 and he has not spoken with me since i paid for the item which was THE 21ST!! I really hope i don't get scammed. http://www.caraudio.com/forum/member.php?u=41391

thur5d4yf4n
06-30-2008, 01:57 PM
the truck http://a905.ac-images.myspacecdn.com/images01/78/l_6570c8c356ab44052135a95ca953c910.jpg

thur5d4yf4n
06-30-2008, 04:37 PM
contacted lorilee8284 via myspace lol and he said he's shipping them out today... said he was too busy to even send me a message about them yet hes lurking on myspace at 12:30 noon...

so as soon as they get here i'll have some more pics and even some vids.

SHiZNiLTi
06-30-2008, 09:36 PM
fixed my port issue :D 140 ^2 inches of port area, all edges rounded
http://a287.ac-images.myspacecdn.com/images01/120/l_35340e1a717a87ec07350ea1ed73ab3e.jpg

http://a457.ac-images.myspacecdn.com/images01/82/l_440453648b72dbca8affa861e3096580.jpg


Sup buddy, I see the car audio addiction is still strong in you ;p soon you will reach (2) 18's like myself lol. I'm more into performance and looks now with my new Lexus instead of bass, hopefully I get the turbo installed soon, it should be hella fun to drive (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=OHjvC9614D8&feature=related) Hit me up on myspace sometime and let me know when the subs are in so I can check it out. Also hit me up if you have any questions.

Your build reminds me of LIL_KB's build for two type r 15s, with a xx herc on them.

Here's some pics to use as a reference for your build and give you idea's.

I like your vinyl job much better then carpet on his box shown below.

8 cubes after ALL displacements, @ 32 hz. right at 100 sq in of port.

the design:
http://i25.photobucket.com/albums/c81/Lil_KB/15typers8323.png

the build:
http://i25.photobucket.com/albums/c81/Lil_KB/Picture100.jpg

http://i25.photobucket.com/albums/c81/Lil_KB/Picture103.jpg

http://i25.photobucket.com/albums/c81/Lil_KB/Picture101.jpg

http://i25.photobucket.com/albums/c81/Lil_KB/Picture-4.jpg

the amp Rack:
http://i25.photobucket.com/albums/c81/Lil_KB/Picture119.jpg

the vids:
http://i25.photobucket.com/albums/c81/Lil_KB/vids/th_typers1.jpg (http://s25.photobucket.com/albums/c81/Lil_KB/vids/?action=view&current=typers1.flv)

thur5d4yf4n
07-01-2008, 12:35 PM
nice, that is pretty **** close to my design. my floor piece and box are two seperate pieces though. yeah i'll send you a message when it's all done.

kovemaster559
07-01-2008, 03:11 PM
nice!

thur5d4yf4n
07-01-2008, 07:11 PM
:D thanks
nice!

thur5d4yf4n
07-04-2008, 12:24 PM
http://a466.ac-images.myspacecdn.com/images01/75/l_03acdcba4e82ac4353e6b90d909f1479.jpg
Stolen: VFL 150.1(drilled to my box with 4 screws), wallet, $300 prescription sunglasses.

JBLCAMRY
07-04-2008, 12:32 PM
awwww fudge

thur5d4yf4n
07-04-2008, 12:38 PM
awwww fudgei didnt even get to listen to it :-( subs come monday

hemi=22s
07-04-2008, 12:39 PM
**** that ***** **** theives bro never use regular screws for amp/subs/ box mounts

use allen key or torx/security screws man no thief ever carries torx bits on em

sorry for ur loss man thats the worse feeling in the world

hemi=22s
07-04-2008, 12:39 PM
nice box btw tho

hemi=22s
07-04-2008, 12:40 PM
give it a couple days check ur local pawn shops they doubtfully have any idea of what that amp is or capable of and will think its some cheap **** unless it someon who knows ya

thur5d4yf4n
07-04-2008, 12:47 PM
they didnt even unscrew the screws, they just pulled so hard it broke the wood.

hemi=22s
07-04-2008, 12:52 PM
**** man that ***** looks like u live in a nice neighborhood too :(

ssackett
07-04-2008, 12:54 PM
wow sorry to hear dude.. i miss my vfl 150.1s

mobeious
07-04-2008, 02:54 PM
no alarm FTL??? invest in some cheap train horns for ur alarm, thieves hate them and just a little hint... the more u hide stuff the harder it is to steal.... iv learned alot with security since i had around 6k worth of audio stole out of my truck

thur5d4yf4n
07-04-2008, 10:29 PM
no alarm FTL??? invest in some cheap train horns for ur alarm, thieves hate them and just a little hint... the more u hide stuff the harder it is to steal.... iv learned alot with security since i had around 6k worth of audio stole out of my truck
i think i'm just going to nut and bolt my next amp and it will only be able to be unscrewed from the inside, and to get to the inside all 4 subs will have to be removed. i don't mind the windows since glass coverage is free.

thur5d4yf4n
07-14-2008, 02:22 AM
just got back from canada and a big box was waiting inside :) wired up the 3rd and 4th se today and i borrowed my buddies hifonics xx thor. all 4 subs were wired down to 2 ohms and i took it for a spin down to the gas station. it is uncomfortable to sit in, and i could see the roof of the gas station flexing. within 30 seconds a quik trip guy comes out and says it's time to go because people inside were complaining about the noise and the rattling lights in the ceiling. I know being loud and bothering others is not cool but i just wanted to have some fun :)

I am VERY pleased with this system and i will have videos once I buy myself an amp. very impressed! :greedy: by the way, my buddy with the hifonics xx thor owns a fi btl 18 and he says his btl sounds like complete *** in comparison :D

thur5d4yf4n
08-03-2008, 01:13 PM
ordered and arriving tomorrow :D (monday): http://cgi.ebay.com/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewItem&rd=1&item=130242567478&ssPageName=STRK:MEWN:IT&ih=003

does anybody have any clever ideas to make this new amp less steal-able? my buddy is a trophy truck builder so he can weld and all that ****. any ideas are VERY appreciated!

elite08
08-03-2008, 02:02 PM
looks sick bro!

awsome job. I wont be completely satisfied with out some video of the beast.

snoopysnooper
08-03-2008, 02:09 PM
garage it ftw =]

snoopysnooper
08-03-2008, 02:12 PM
so what are you going to do now?
def invest in some insurance for yer next system
alarm w/ 2 brains, (one fake) and the other hidden
2 horns, pager, and what not, because you have a hella nice truck and people will want to steal it

like one guy said, check pawn shops
of if you hear bass, look at it..
did you alert the police?

thur5d4yf4n
08-03-2008, 04:34 PM
so what are you going to do now?
def invest in some insurance for yer next system
alarm w/ 2 brains, (one fake) and the other hidden
2 horns, pager, and what not, because you have a hella nice truck and people will want to steal it

like one guy said, check pawn shops
of if you hear bass, look at it..
did you alert the police?

alarm will be within the next month, i'm going to buy a **** load of piezo sirens and put them under neath the truck and inside the truck as well. for the amp, i want to run some fat bolts through the box that can only be loosened from the inside of the box with the subs removed. expect some videos tomorrow :veryhapp: and yes the cops came out and did a full report, they took pictures inside of my truck and said they will keep a closer eye out of my neighborhood which i highly doubt. also , i went a bit more south in phoenix to check out some pawn shops but there are easily over 75 shops in that area. i am keping an eye on craigslist for the amp though. it's one of a kind, it has plexi glass with cross drilled holes

xpl0it
08-03-2008, 04:41 PM
Get your **** metered.

thur5d4yf4n
08-03-2008, 04:41 PM
garage it ftw =]
i just moved to an apartment in scottsdale, it's a really nice area but don't have a garage.

thur5d4yf4n
08-03-2008, 04:43 PM
Get your **** metered.

where?! i can't find a single competition in arizona. i REALLY want to get it metered.

ThatChevyGuy
08-03-2008, 04:44 PM
vids now!
And def get an alarm. Even when i bolted my amp and subs down, they still got in and knifed em :crap:

thur5d4yf4n
08-03-2008, 04:48 PM
vids now!
And def get an alarm. Even when i bolted my amp and subs down, they still got in and knifed em :crap:
no amp yet :( yeah for sure getting an alarm.

LDW3RD
08-03-2008, 08:06 PM
Good job man. ***** about the theivery though.
Glad to see you bounce right back.

thur5d4yf4n
08-03-2008, 09:23 PM
Good job man. ***** about the theivery though.
Glad to see you bounce right back.

thanks, it's been tough gettin by without bass. :crap:

LDW3RD
08-03-2008, 09:55 PM
your telling me, i've been without bass since 7-07.
and I got more stuff than alil bit.
I got 6 saz1500's and 3 ed sp's more HU's than I need and plenty of front end for everyone let alone the stuff in my avatar but.
No system in my van:(

SilverSquared
08-03-2008, 10:08 PM
Just wait til I do the install in my mazda. My 2100 will be IMPOSSIBLE to steal, unless you want a broken amp. 2100s have 4 mounting locations. Mine will have 12. 6 of which will be UNSEEN and using 1/2" BOLTS. After its said and done...I'll make sure my alarm is hidden high enough, and mounted securely.

thur5d4yf4n
08-31-2008, 07:51 PM
I'm selling the truck for a new one, it just turned 167k and i have a feeling something major is going to break soon, original motor and tranny. everything was removed for a new install in the future!

IbSlamn
09-01-2008, 02:16 PM
Vids!!!!

GAM3OVR
09-01-2008, 04:42 PM
awww sh it i feel like an idiot. well 4 re se 12's require 8 cubes for optimal space according to RE's website. The box before displacement of port and sub is 10 cubes. after displacement of 4 re se 12's it is 9.4 cubes. so will this work if i replace the aero's with a slot port in the center? i really need some help.
here's some more pictures of it in my truck.
http://a381.ac-images.myspacecdn.com/images01/22/l_7470649ea17ebf09fff301362e77f854.jpg
http://a891.ac-images.myspacecdn.com/images01/86/l_42f107876dd20b3860c99e8f80ac9b12.jpg
http://a217.ac-images.myspacecdn.com/images01/106/l_752ee300e212f8aafe4b2479ba735b78.jpg
http://a271.ac-images.myspacecdn.com/images01/49/l_6e0ea01b6712f61719cbbd0e9ca11cd6.jpg
http://a271.ac-images.myspacecdn.com/images01/5/l_27ea33a93bd4b738d690a2bdcdace39e.jpg
if i could i would like to get away with using more aero ports even if i have to buy brand new pvc and re cut all of it. i dont mind tossing the ones i already have.

get 4" pipe

longer....

and fill the rest wid poly

thur5d4yf4n
09-02-2008, 05:33 PM
get 4" pipe

longer....

and fill the rest wid poly

huh? all those ports were 4" pipe, and they were all removed and replaced with a slot port, a much bigger port, almost an extra 100 square inches lol

thur5d4yf4n
09-02-2008, 05:34 PM
Vids!!!!

everything was removed:(

dwright27
09-03-2008, 02:21 AM
fail.

thur5d4yf4n
09-04-2008, 12:16 PM
fail.

explain