PDA

View Full Version : to much port area???



Joseph M
06-21-2008, 12:33 PM
http://img299.imageshack.us/my.php?image=box1ya8.jpg

for a btl 18 fully loaded

Joseph M
06-21-2008, 12:38 PM
top

Joseph M
06-21-2008, 12:45 PM
anyone

soloXgt
06-21-2008, 12:46 PM
use a different building program. haven't heard the best things about RE's program

Joseph M
06-21-2008, 12:48 PM
lol its already built. ya only problem i have heard was it didnt take the displacement of the sub into account and i did that when i built the box.

soloXgt
06-21-2008, 12:50 PM
if its already built, then why are u asking? hook it up and hear it out

Mr Cabinetry
06-21-2008, 12:51 PM
The only thing that's really wrong with RE's program is it calculates the length of the port with end correction factor and most other programs do not.

The differences as such with regards to how this effects the port tuning is not worth sweating over if your designing/building an enclosure to daily boomin.

Joseph M
06-21-2008, 12:52 PM
i am, but its not moving any air so i wondered if that box has to much port area.

Joseph M
06-21-2008, 12:53 PM
i will post a video tonight of it, and see what you guys think.

keifersracing
06-21-2008, 12:56 PM
put a plug in the port so you can make it the size you want. when it sound good then there go.

keifersracing
06-21-2008, 12:56 PM
One more thing is this a daily set up?

Joseph M
06-21-2008, 12:59 PM
daily set up, but i will go get it metered and if it does good i will use it for competion

Joseph M
06-21-2008, 12:59 PM
what do you suggest using as a plug for that big of port?

keifersracing
06-21-2008, 01:03 PM
make a plug that you can put in the port. by doing so you can make it smaller and if and when you get to the size you think is best then you can fix the box or build a new one. but your tuning will not be the same when you put a plug in it. you csn use wood or what ever you have

Joseph M
06-21-2008, 01:04 PM
hopefully the meter is in town soon and i will go from there. the aero ports dont get in stock til july so i am just trying to get by til then.

BEAVER.989
06-21-2008, 01:08 PM
I would think it would be nearly impossible to plug an L shaped port. You would merely be choking the end of it. This would, in theory, make it act as if it were tuned a little lower, though... kind of like when you place a port too close to an obstruction such as a wall.

What the hell... give it a try. It never hurts to experiment a little.

keifersracing
06-21-2008, 01:10 PM
like he said you just have to try thing out

Joseph M
06-21-2008, 01:15 PM
I would think it would be nearly impossible to plug an L shaped port. You would merely be choking the end of it. This would, in theory, make it act as if it were tuned a little lower, though... kind of like when you place a port too close to an obstruction such as a wall.

What the hell... give it a try. It never hurts to experiment a little.

i kinda thought that also. maybe stuff it with some towell before the bend?

cshaw
06-21-2008, 01:24 PM
with more port area comes slower port velocity which is good for preventing port noise. but only up to a certain point where there's too much port and the sub will act as if in free air. kinda like a cars exhaust. you need some back pressure for it to work right. to much or to little and you loose hp.

Joseph M
06-21-2008, 01:25 PM
ya good input right there.

cshaw
06-21-2008, 01:42 PM
looks like your using about 22 square inches of port area per cubic foot, which for a btl 18 should be good. most people dont go with big of port but your fine. when you have to much port area power handling will go down and excursion increases because of the free air like effect.