PDA

View Full Version : I need an aero port box designed for 15" RD Alpha



528hz
06-20-2008, 06:02 PM
So I need a box designed for the 15" RD Alpha I will be aquiring. Here are the specs for the sub:

15" D2
FS 33.9hz
RE 3.6 ohm
QMS 5.21
QES 0.522
QTS 0.4745
RMS 10.27
CMS 0.0874 MM/N
MMS 251G
BL 19.22 TM
SPL @ 1W 91.55 DB
VAS 98.94 L
XCOIL 53 MM
Cutout 349 MM
Mounting Depth 230 MM
Displacement .31 cu.


My max dimensions are: 35w x 15.5h x 20d

I would like it to be aero ported (to save space), and 3.4-3.7cu. if I can. Tuned @ 30 hz.

Now, I have heard from a lot of people that tuning in the mid 30s (35-38) works great too for this sub, and it will still have lots of low end. So maybe my thinking is off by wanting to go 30 hz????

I'm also open for suggestions as to what I should do.

matte
06-20-2008, 06:05 PM
ive had 2 boxes for my 15" alpha v.2 - one with aero ports tuned to 35hz, and my current slot port tuned to 34hz. both were 3.5cuft after all displacement - 3.5 @ 34 is absolutely ridiculous for this sub.

528hz
06-20-2008, 06:07 PM
ive had 2 boxes for my 15" alpha v.2 - one with aero ports tuned to 35hz, and my current slot port tuned to 34hz. both were 3.5cuft after all displacement - 3.5 @ 34 is absolutely ridiculous for this sub.

How is it on music? My BIGGEST concern is group delay! I want NONE of it. I want it to be very musical (hit double kicks and quick changing frequencies) but still get low and very loud.

I'll be putting about 2200 RMS on it :D

matte
06-20-2008, 06:10 PM
ive got a saz1500d on mine, and it SLAMS. absolutely destroys the low notes, but at the same time is insanely musical. ive heard nuuuumerous setups of all different kinds of subs, and the alpha is without a doubt up there. ive never once heard it miss a beat, or get sloppy, etc.

my a-pillars flex about a half inch, along with everything else in my car, but the sound quality has never been absent. sounds beautiful on all kinds of music.

matte
06-20-2008, 06:10 PM
i know someone who has about 4000rms on his lol.

528hz
06-20-2008, 06:11 PM
ive got a saz1500d on mine, and it SLAMS. absolutely destroys the low notes, but at the same time is insanely musical. ive heard nuuuumerous setups of all different kinds of subs, and the alpha is without a doubt up there. ive never once heard it miss a beat, or get sloppy, etc.

my a-pillars flex about a half inch, along with everything else in my car, but the sound quality has never been absent. sounds beautiful on all kinds of music.

Any difference, pros/cons from aero to slot port?

matte
06-20-2008, 06:14 PM
Any difference, pros/cons from aero to slot port?

huge difference. im not sure what it was, but as soon as i threw it in the slot port box, it sounded like an entirely new setup. louder, crisper, cleaner, lower, EVERYTHING about it was better.

i dont think it was because i went from 35 to 34 .. not much of a difference there.

both setups were identical, besides the box. (same amp, hu, wiring, vehicle, everything).

528hz
06-20-2008, 06:16 PM
huge difference. im not sure what it was, but as soon as i threw it in the slot port box, it sounded like an entirely new setup. louder, crisper, cleaner, lower, EVERYTHING about it was better.

i dont think it was because i went from 35 to 34 .. not much of a difference there.

both setups were identical, besides the box. (same amp, hu, wiring, vehicle, everything).

HMM.....interesting.....

Maybe I'll consider doing that instead. I've never owned an aero ported box (or this sub), so I don't really know what to expect/think.

matte
06-20-2008, 06:17 PM
well, pm me if you wanna talk about anything else..ive owned it for quite a while.

bout to leave work, laterr

skateboardkid
06-20-2008, 06:18 PM
Maybe it was the change is port area that affected the sound, with all other variables the same, a slot port should have more area than a single aero...

Just guessing

528hz
06-20-2008, 06:19 PM
Maybe it was the change is port area?

I bet you're right. With aeros you don't have much......

528hz
06-20-2008, 06:28 PM
Maybe it was the change is port area that affected the sound, with all ovther variables the same a slot port should have more area than a single aero...

Just guessing


Ah you ninja edited on me:furious::)

So what about compensating with 2 or more aeros to make up for area compared to a slot?