PDA

View Full Version : external aero's to port a sealed box??



budahbuddy803
06-19-2008, 01:17 AM
I have a 2.5cuft sealed box right now. If i could tune it 28-32hz what size aeros would i need? Where can i go to calculate the right amount of port area or what size to buy (ex. 6"x8")? All help is appreciated.

yunvme666
06-19-2008, 01:19 AM
i love my external aeros its nice and loud daily....

yunvme666
06-19-2008, 01:19 AM
oh and go to psp.com i think the site is.... they got a port calc for their aeros on it....

btdickey99
06-19-2008, 01:21 AM
http://psp-inc.com/

budahbuddy803
06-19-2008, 01:21 AM
well the box is for my idmax... i didnt really think it mattered rather it was a slot port or aeros. Does an aero produce a different sound than a slot?

I have the idmax in 2.5 sealed and i like it a bunch, i would just like to try it ported and sealed before i build a nice box for it.

yunvme666
06-19-2008, 01:22 AM
there ya go my bad... i was to lazy to look it up....lol...

profundus-sanus
06-19-2008, 01:22 AM
your going to have trouble tuning low w/ aero's...

yunvme666
06-19-2008, 01:23 AM
aeros are supposed to allow for less port area, and help with air flow... if your box calls for ports being the same size id try and external to see what it sounds like....

budahbuddy803
06-19-2008, 01:26 AM
http://psp-inc.com/

well using that, for a 2.5cuft box @32hz i would need 1 4"x11.3" flared port..... Doesnt really make sense because i can also use a 2"x2.84" flared port

yunvme666
06-19-2008, 01:27 AM
both that and bb6p came out to **** near the same for my lengths....

budahbuddy803
06-19-2008, 01:32 AM
is there any possible way for someone to suggest the correct size aeros to tune a 2.5cuft box to 32-38hz if getting any lower than that is a problem?

yunvme666
06-19-2008, 01:34 AM
external? right? and thats 2.5 net? or gross?

yunvme666
06-19-2008, 01:37 AM
in 2.6 net i got like 11.6 for 32 and 7.2 for 38 with a 4 inch aero

profundus-sanus
06-19-2008, 01:39 AM
well using that, for a 2.5cuft box @32hz i would need 1 4"x11.3" flared port..... Doesnt really make sense because i can also use a 2"x2.84" flared port

what about that doesn't make sense? they have the same port area...

2^2(3.14)= 12.56

1.42^2(3.14)= 6.33(2)=12.66

if you have the length i would go for 2 3" aero's.

adas
06-19-2008, 01:40 AM
is there any possible way for someone to suggest the correct size aeros to tune a 2.5cuft box to 32-38hz if getting any lower than that is a problem?1 4" aero or 2 3" aeros. psp's calculator works perfectly. You'll have a bit more port area with the 2 3's, but either will work.

11" long 4" port will get you 33hz. Perfect.

profundus-sanus
06-19-2008, 01:43 AM
i have a quick question while were on the aero topic tho.

a stock length port would be considered 18" on the flare port length required on that calc correct.

Hintzyboy
06-19-2008, 01:47 AM
I would at least go with 2 4" ports. One 6" port was around 30" long according to that calculator.

yunvme666
06-19-2008, 01:55 AM
as far as i know when i talked to them, ya use the flare too....

budahbuddy803
06-19-2008, 02:02 AM
is precision sound a good place to buy from?

adas
06-19-2008, 02:05 AM
i have a quick question while were on the aero topic tho.

a stock length port would be considered 18" on the flare port length required on that calc correct.17".....well my 4" aero right here came with a 12" tube and each flare adds 2.5" to total length. But yes to answer your Q, the calc is saying with flares included


is precision sound a good place to buy from?

Yeah, get em from partsexpress though, better shipping IMO.

yunvme666
06-19-2008, 02:06 AM
they link ya to a site but yea its not a bad deal , but do look around , someone might have a few for ya i had a bunch of 6s but spairs are gone now... almost wish i hadnt sold them....lol...

profundus-sanus
06-19-2008, 03:20 AM
17".....well my 4" aero right here came with a 12" tube and each flare adds 2.5" to total length. But yes to answer your Q, the calc is saying with flares included

well, on there site it says 17 usable 18 overall.. thats what i'm kinda getting at.

i have 6 stock length ports in my truck... but i never took the time to measure them.

yunvme666
06-19-2008, 11:53 AM
my 6" ers are 18 in total length...