PDA

View Full Version : Box help, 2 12w6s ported



zbryant4210
06-15-2008, 12:32 PM
currently i have a 2.5 sealed enclosure for my 2 12w6s and it just does not get as loud as i want. i was looking to upgrade to a ported box. i was looking for anyone to help me design a box, or just throw out some numbers of what i should build around. Like how big, what tunning and such.


thanks

also would running 2 diff subs in the trunk, 2 12w6s and 2 12w3s be a bad idea

edit: was told to only run 1 set of woofers, so the 12w3s with the slash 500/1v2 amp is for sale

dropped_mazda
06-15-2008, 12:36 PM
sell me the w6s(i already boxes built for them) and run your W3s

ported is better cleaner sound for sure i had 1 w6 and it smalled in custom 2 cube box at 35hz

zbryant4210
06-15-2008, 12:38 PM
i just bought the w6s, so i am not goin to sell them, sorry, but if you want the w3s make an offer

zbryant4210
06-18-2008, 10:10 AM
bump

dman4486
06-18-2008, 10:16 AM
currently i have a 2.5 sealed enclosure for my 2 12w6s and it just does not get as loud as i want. i was looking to upgrade to a ported box. i was looking for anyone to help me design a box, or just throw out some numbers of what i should build around. Like how big, what tunning and such.


thanks

also would running 2 diff subs in the trunk, 2 12w6s and 2 12w3s be a bad idea

2 different subs in one trunk is not recommended

what do you want to get from this setup? spl, sq?

zbryant4210
06-18-2008, 10:20 AM
i have decided to only use the w6s, and i want a mix of sq and spl. i want it to get a lot louder than it does now in the sealed box

Rookie_80
06-18-2008, 10:24 AM
sell me the w6s(i already boxes built for them) and run your W3s

ported is better cleaner sound for sure i had 1 w6 and it smalled in custom 2 cube box at 35hz


dude, didnt u just sell your w6, now u want new ones? lol

dman4486
06-18-2008, 10:26 AM
JL recommends 1.5cuft@32hz, but that gives you a peak at 50hz

I would say to get loud and lower bass, go for 3 cubes @ 30hz (moves the peak from 50 down to mid 30's)

and these are per sub numbers

zbryant4210
06-18-2008, 10:32 AM
i just bought the w6s, so i am not goin to sell them, sorry, but if you want the w3s make an offer

i said i just bought the w6s so i am not goin to sell them, but i am selling the w3s.

zbryant4210
06-18-2008, 10:35 AM
thanks dman, what size/kind of port and how would i go about porting it. Does it matter where the port is.

Rookie_80
06-18-2008, 10:36 AM
i said i just bought the w6s so i am not goin to sell them, but i am selling the w3s.

if u're replying to me, i was actually asking dropped mazda.

dman4486
06-18-2008, 10:41 AM
thanks dman, what size/kind of port and how would i go about porting it. Does it matter where the port is.

I have always used slot port boxes. the slot can be anywhere on/in the enclosure, as long as it has room to breath both inside and outside the enclosure. The size of the port will change with volume and tuning of the enclosure.

edit: you could also use aero ports, but I know nothing about them

zbryant4210
06-18-2008, 10:45 AM
thanks dman, and my bad rookie.

psych0ticnemes1
06-18-2008, 10:47 AM
You have a PM.