View Full Version : Need suggestions on a 12" IA DP

06-13-2008, 11:14 AM
Im recieving one of these in a trade. This will be going in my 1999 suburban. If one sub dosent do the job, ill eventually get another, but as i have no substage right now, imma build a box for this beast of a sub. What im looking for is someone who has PERSONALLY used one of these, and what size, port area, and whatnot that you went with and how it sounded. Ill be powering it with around 1500rms, but im unsure of how much power i can SAFELY feed this sub. Any suggestions, or recomemdations would be appreciated! I also plan on using aero ports, but im not set on it for sure....so , let me hear what you guys have to say! thanks in advance, Ed

06-13-2008, 12:35 PM
Safely you can give it 2000w+, easily. Do 1 6" aero in a good 2.5ft or so box. Tune to your liking

06-13-2008, 01:09 PM
thanks alot, anyone else have any input?

06-13-2008, 01:12 PM
Bout 2-2.5 cubes with 70-100sq in of port.Or 2 4"aero's.

06-13-2008, 04:29 PM
so i could use 1, 6" aero, or 2, 4" aeros? If one would be better in one way, which would it be, and why? thanks for all the input guys!

06-13-2008, 04:37 PM
was wondering also, the IA site says ported , that 20-48 in. of port......with tuning from 32-37hz......so would the 70-100 in of port be better? or produce more?

06-13-2008, 04:40 PM
my buddy has 4 each IA DP 15" off 2 x stetsom7kd
and a bank of powermaster getting alomost 19 volts
2 dr blazer walled


06-13-2008, 06:33 PM
well, one of them might hurt my toe?...lol, keep the input comming fellaz!

06-13-2008, 06:37 PM
2.5 cubes, 40 sq. inches of port tuned @ 35 hz.. trust me, I own two of them.

06-14-2008, 09:19 AM
I think they like alittle more port then whats recommended on the site.I don't have the DP's but I do have the DR's.The more port I gave then the louder it got.
If I were the OP I would put them in a 2.5ft3 box with 2 4" aeros or a slot port thats about 12x6.This will give you great output and still be pretty transient with the music.