PDA

View Full Version : How does this box look for an 18" Fi Q?



Pickler
06-12-2008, 11:46 PM
http://i251.photobucket.com/albums/gg294/SMCustomz/SM%20Customz/6530.jpg

It is 6.5 cufeet internally tuned to 30hz with 111 inches of port area. What is your guys thoughts on it? to much/to little port area? not enough room inside the box? just post what you think on it.

mlstrass
06-13-2008, 03:20 AM
I would do a double baffle for an 18, and that would eliminate some of the bracing you have in there. Also a little on the big side port wise. I've built boxes for several Q's and have always done 12^2 per cube...

steveyhustle
06-13-2008, 03:30 AM
i would tune it to 32. 30 bit to low

helotr3vor
06-13-2008, 03:31 AM
Whats that design maker called? i need to make a design

BuckyBoy
06-13-2008, 03:44 AM
Whats that design maker called? i need to make a design
I drew it up for him. If you need one, you can PM me.
If you want to make one yourself, then there is a sticky at the top of this section. There is no program that does it. The RE Calc is used by some, but is inaccurate.

Pickler
06-13-2008, 03:45 AM
i would tune it to 32. 30 bit to low

Well Fi recommends a 28 hz tuning for the sub, so 30 is a little above what they reccomend

BuckyBoy
06-13-2008, 03:46 AM
I would do a double baffle for an 18, and that would eliminate some of the bracing you have in there. Also a little on the big side port wise. I've built boxes for several Q's and have always done 12^2 per cube...
I figured with it being an 18" Fi Q, that it would need more port area, but I don't have any experience with them.
Only 12sqin per ft^3?
He is wanting to get more net volume anyways, so we will probably change the design a bit. Smaller port, more airspace.

helotr3vor
06-13-2008, 03:47 AM
I figured with it being an 18" Fi Q, that it would need more port area, but I don't have any experience with them.
Only 12sqin per ft^3?
He is wanting to get more net volume anyways, so we will probably change the design a bit. Smaller port, more airspace.

Well whats the program that i can draw it out?

Pickler
06-13-2008, 03:54 AM
Well whats the program that i can draw it out?

autocad or google sketchup seem to be pretty popular

steveyhustle
06-13-2008, 03:57 AM
i had a 15'' FI Q in a 3.5 cubic ft box tuned to 32herts from bjfish and it sounded amazing.

90accordman
06-13-2008, 03:58 AM
ida went closer to 90 sq in or port 111 is alot imo

BuckyBoy
06-13-2008, 04:19 AM
Well whats the program that i can draw it out?
Ah, didn't know that's what you were asking.
I use Google Sketchup...
http://www.download.com/Google-SketchUp/3000-6677_4-10257337.html?tag=lst-1&cdlPid=10626008

quest51210
06-13-2008, 04:24 AM
scammer!!!!

i had a 15'' FI Q in a 3.5 cubic ft box tuned to 32herts from bjfish and it sounded amazing.

mlstrass
06-13-2008, 12:04 PM
Q is more of an SQL sub vs SPL, so no need for the massive port area IMO...

Pickler
06-13-2008, 02:01 PM
Alright I will do less port area, how does 100 sq inches sound?