PDA

View Full Version : HELP Hertz HSK165



rapmaster0
06-12-2008, 10:54 PM
Okay, I have my new HSK165. I bridged my JL 300/4 to get 150watts to each speaker. Now, I set it for Bridged 4Ω: 150Ww x 1 (set to 24.6 V), using the input sens. (GAIN). I also put the filter freq to 80hz and set the 24.6V using an 1khz test tone.

I set the 24.6V at volume 30, now i cant even get past 21 without my amp cutting off. I dont know why, or what i did wrong. Am I doing something wrong???

Side Show
06-12-2008, 10:57 PM
Huh?

rapmaster0
06-12-2008, 10:59 PM
The speakers cut off when I go past volume 21-23.

when im up that far, the speakers sound really bad.

Here-I-Come
06-12-2008, 11:37 PM
If i understand you correctly. With you new settings (gains) you can't get pass 21 on the volume of your headunit. Truthfully it sounds like you are overloading the inputs of the amp. The JL may have a protection on the inputs, but not sure I will have to check the PDF. for the amp out, for now back the gains down slowly and see if the problem goes any.

What headunit are you using?

rapmaster0
06-13-2008, 01:56 AM
stock....acura tsx 2006 navi

Here-I-Come
06-13-2008, 02:00 AM
So what converter are you using. Clean swap, Audio Control DQL8, Rockford 360?

wong05tsx
06-13-2008, 04:00 AM
I have a TSX too.
Are you running mercman's custom amp bypass harness?

Try turning the input freq. on the amp to LOW

rapmaster0
06-13-2008, 08:27 AM
Yea im running mercmans harness...it takes the outputs and puts it into an balanced ouputs. I believe that the TSX outputs has no spikes in EQ so i did not need a clean sweep or anythig.

wong05tsx: what do you mean by input freq? the 300/4 doesnt have one.

blackbonnie
06-13-2008, 08:54 AM
hey i sent you a pm back and just realized this. when you bridge them it turns your amp into a 2 channel. you cant run it that way because then it puts the final load down to 2 ohm. your amp isnt stable at 2 ohm bridged. you have to run them undbridged. one crossover to each channel. switch it up and problem solved

rapmaster0
06-13-2008, 12:14 PM
Hey blackbonnie....

So if I do that, im only going to push 75 watts to each speaker?

Why can't the JL hold the ohms?

blackbonnie
06-13-2008, 12:31 PM
its just how the amp is, its not stable bridged at 2 ohms. try it an see how you like it and if you dont then sell your amp and upgrade to a higher output

wong05tsx
06-13-2008, 03:20 PM
OP - You should pick up mercman's BALUN, and run some different amps. I ran JL amps for a while before I got his balun, and was never impressed by any of the JL amps. 3 of them shitted on me too. Switched setups, and havn't had a single problem now

rapmaster0
06-13-2008, 03:34 PM
What amp you think? Mercman is having some downtime due to his PC getting messed up so i dont want to bother him for the BALUN yet. What amp are you running or reccomed for the hertz? or should i jsut try adn see if i can get the JL 300/2

wong05tsx
06-13-2008, 03:41 PM
I've got my sundown 100.4 bridged to my hsk's. a 100.2 to my rear hcx's.. I'm about to unbridge it though and have my 100.4 run it all soon, since I need some more trunk space, which is why i'm selling the 100.2. It'd be perfect for your hsk's if you're interested :thumbsup:

It'd outperform the jl 300/2, IMO. More tuning options too

rapmaster0
06-13-2008, 04:03 PM
lol...how much and wanna trade for the 300/4? :)

WulfComp
06-13-2008, 05:23 PM
I agree with the 100.2 especially if you can get it from him at a good price. I use a 100.2 on my demo board for all my components, including the HSK 165. I have been very impressed with its performance.

wong05tsx
06-13-2008, 05:30 PM
180 shipped. it's pending sale, unless you can get me $ first :)
Still ~6 months warranty on it, orig box, invoice, bass knob etc
http://www.caraudio.com/forum/showthread.php?t=321926

the 15" treo is up for sale too if you're interested. built the box to spec + clears the navi unit in our tsx trunk
http://i35.photobucket.com/albums/d200/izsumthinwong/P1010784.jpg

Here-I-Come
06-14-2008, 12:48 AM
OK am I missing somthing here, is the Hertz HSK165 comps 2 ohms thru the passive crossovers?

Because on Hertz website it says 4 ohms so the amp should have no problem running a 4ohm mono load. 4ohms mono is 2 ohm stereo and that amp can handle that with no problem.

MikeATL
06-14-2008, 02:24 AM
You're not missing anything - he went from running 2 sets of components (4 channel @ 4ohm) on his 300/4 to bridging the channels and running 2 channels at 2ohm.

The 300/4 puts out 75X4 at 4ohm. Bridging this amp to 2 channels will yield 150X2 at 3-8ohms, but he'll be yielding 2ohms per channel to the amp in this configuration. This is going beyond the amps supported configuration (according to the ratings anyway), so it makes sense why it might be working overtime.

Here-I-Come
06-14-2008, 09:42 AM
OK I did miss that, He running 2 set bridged. In that case you guys a total correct.

rapmaster0
06-14-2008, 02:48 PM
Okay, so now im a little confused.

I followed the directions you guys gave me, but now when im trying to set the gain, it doesnt go to 17.3 volts, the highest is 13.1...is that normal?

The speakers are 4 ohms, and im pushin 75watts now.

Here-I-Come
06-14-2008, 03:18 PM
OK man if you was using only one set at 4 ohm brigded it should have not had a problem. There is something wrong with the amp if it can not support the 4 ohm load brigded and that is the bottom line if the amp is seeing 4 ohms for the passive crossover and the is not going into protection from overheating (gains set to high)

rapmaster0
06-14-2008, 03:32 PM
Well i took it off, so now it is not bridged anymore. Now i couldnt even go up to thje 17.3 volts. THEN when im playing music at volume 20 -21 i get the ohm light on the JL 300/4 amp...

whats wrong!!!

rapmaster0
06-15-2008, 11:30 AM
Bizzumppp

Here-I-Come
06-15-2008, 03:02 PM
Something is wrong with the amp. If the ohm light is coming on even at the 4 ohm stereo without the amp bring bridged and you only have one set of comps on it. ITS THE AMP!!

rapmaster0
06-15-2008, 05:34 PM
yeah, only one set, the left and right....this *****, i just brought new speakers and now i may need a new amp....

I thought the JL amps could hold and push the power!! What's up with that...

MikeATL
06-15-2008, 06:06 PM
wow, OK I was wrong then..from reading the earlier posts it sounded like you were running 2 sets bridged @2ohm. I agree w/Here-I-Come, it sounds like something is either wrong w/your amp (or install). You should be fine running that amp bridged to a single set of components @4ohm and definitely if you unbridged it.

rapmaster0
06-15-2008, 07:03 PM
Just to clarify to everyone...

Im running a PAIR of hertz hsk165 of the JL 300/4 amp.

Can i run it bridged and unbridged?

Eairler, black bonnie said that the amp is NOT stable at 2 ohm BRIDGED. Looking at the jl site, it doesnt say that so is that true?

Here-I-Come
06-15-2008, 08:27 PM
It will not run 2 ohms brigaded, but it will do 4 ohm bridged all day long. Just remember as I stated before 4 ohms brigaded is 2 ohms stereo. Two ohm bridged is not at play here because you have a single set of HSK165. So you should be able to run them either way. bridged or not. It you are sure your installed is on point. And you said the ohm light is coming. IT IS THE AMP, plain and simple.

These amps are usually pretty darn solid, but even amps the cost 2-3 times as much brake.

rapmaster0
06-15-2008, 08:41 PM
Could that be the reason why the gain setting is not goign to the 17.3 volts?

rapmaster0
06-15-2008, 11:01 PM
UPDATE:

Weird thing this afternoon, I onlyplugged in my right speaker and guess what happens. The ohm light never lit up. I then only plugged in my right side and then the ohm light came on. Im going to try and switch the pos and neg wires on the crossover and see what happens, maybe i soldered it wrong when i put the door back in.

Blackbonnie also told me about how crossovers automataclly seperate the freq. for the components, but how come when i adjust the filter freq on the amp, the sound changes?

rapmaster0
06-17-2008, 03:28 PM
If i wire the crossovers wrong...say for the woofer, pos on neg rather than pos to pos, can I blow my speakers?

Also, do you guys think that is the reason why my amp is going into low ohms?

Here-I-Come
06-18-2008, 02:42 AM
NO! at that point its just out of Mechanical phase with the other woofer.

rapmaster0
06-24-2008, 06:54 PM
Okay so I figured out one problem, but dont know how to solve it just as yet, but another arises. I bridged the JL amp 300/4 - no problem, no ohm problem no cut off nothing.

BUT WHY IS MY SPEAKER SMELLING LIKE ITS BURNING!!!!

150watts continous to each should be fine, whats the problem. I'm also playing white girl - young jeezy. whats the problem?!?!?!?!?

kovemaster559
06-24-2008, 06:56 PM
sell your amp and get a 2 channel

wong05tsx
06-24-2008, 07:03 PM
what size wiring ?

you can buy my sundown 100.2 :)

rapmaster0
06-24-2008, 07:56 PM
16 Gauge...its the monster speaker wire...but i dont want to sell my amp when i know it can do it bridged....why is my speakers smelling like its burning!!!

rapmaster0
06-25-2008, 02:07 PM
I dont know what im doing wrong... i just dont understand. Ive double checked the wiring, bridging the amp shouldn't do this to the speakers - it can handle the power!! whyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyy

rapmaster0
06-26-2008, 01:25 PM
Anyone?

rapmaster0
06-26-2008, 01:25 PM
Someone tell me what to check! BTW i have an 1.2 farad cap - if that makes a difference

rapmaster0
06-26-2008, 07:46 PM
Can Someone Explain Why The **** One Of My Speakers Are Blown???!?!?!?

rapmaster0
06-27-2008, 02:59 PM
anyone?

BEAVER.989
06-27-2008, 03:27 PM
Chances are, if you are smelling burning the gain is too high. I suppose it's possible for it to be a bad speaker, but in every instance I've been involved with, smelly speakers=heavy clipping.

rapmaster0
06-27-2008, 04:25 PM
sooo should i bridge the speaker anddd set the gains lower than what that forumla gives me?
the sqrt one

BEAVER.989
06-27-2008, 04:32 PM
I don't care to use a dmm at all. Use your ears, they're the best tools you own. At the first hint of distortion back the gain off just enough to clear it up.

rapmaster0
07-05-2008, 07:38 PM
Is there anyway to fix my speaker? It works when i press down a little, and when i press down its like stuck untill i push harder.

rapmaster0
07-06-2008, 01:13 PM
Guess not :(

MikeATL
07-06-2008, 02:11 PM
Sounds like you blew them.

rapmaster0
07-07-2008, 02:33 AM
I think i did :( but is there anything i can do? I just spent 300 on these and now a woofer is blown :(

MSW Danny
07-07-2008, 02:43 AM
send it back to where you got them and have them warranty it

rapmaster0
07-07-2008, 02:44 AM
It was from a user on here. does it still count? lol

MSW Danny
07-07-2008, 02:47 AM
hmm.. maybe ask the guy if he can do something for you