PDA

View Full Version : 3.5 Cubes for 2 type Rs? good enough?



99grandprixGT
06-11-2008, 01:50 PM
I only have enough room in my trunk for about 3.5 cubes after sub and port displacement. i'm wondering if a pair of R 12 will be good in that box. im going to run them off a hifonics 2008D so i can give them any where from the 500 to 1000 RMS each. if thats not enough space do you guys think a 15 inch R with 1500 watts would get loud? ive never dealt with a single woofer before i've always had a pair. thanks.

PSturmer
06-11-2008, 01:56 PM
2 12's would do fine in that space

psych0ticnemes1
06-11-2008, 03:37 PM
I have owned both setups and although two 12" Rs would work ok, I think a 15" would work better with 3.5 cubes.

pjvoc
06-11-2008, 03:38 PM
I was gonna put 2 15" R's in 9 Cu ft lol

miker
06-11-2008, 04:19 PM
I did not like my two 12"s in a 3.5cf box...

NJTStang11
06-11-2008, 04:33 PM
I did not like my two 12"s in a 3.5cf box...

I agree. Friend had em in a 3 cube enclosre and sounded awful. Put them in 3 cubes each and it was like a completely different subwoofer.

psych0ticnemes1
06-11-2008, 04:35 PM
3 cubes each may be a bit too big.

miker
06-11-2008, 04:37 PM
3 cubes each may be a bit too big.

2.5 each would be just right :)

TheFiverMan
06-11-2008, 04:38 PM
no..do 4.5cf tuned to 32-35hz

Alpineforever
06-11-2008, 04:40 PM
2.5 each IS just right.

I would go with the 15 in that small a space, i had the two 12 R's in an enclosure that was almost the same size and they sounded like garbage, especially compared to my new box, the output increased so much it felt like i had added 3 subwoofers to my setup just by giving them each 2.5 cubes to work with, it was ridiculous, definitely go with the 1 15

Skip01
06-11-2008, 07:41 PM
3.5 is perfect.....tuned to 32hz......greattttt

No need to make a huge box for 12s, theyll do just fine in that

Check sig

99grandprixGT
06-11-2008, 07:58 PM
all right thanks guys. looks like i may be able to get 4.0 cubes to fit. the trunk space is not the problem its the opening to the trunk is small. and with the back seat out theres only 14 inches tall so unless i made the box only 14 tall than i cant get it through the opening. if i can get 4.0 cubes to work will that be good enough? i may jsut try out the 3.5 cubes and see how it sounds. im only out the cost of the wood if it does not sound good.

99grandprixGT
06-11-2008, 09:40 PM
would you guys throw 1500 watts to them at the beginning or souhld i start off with 1000.

Lakota
06-11-2008, 11:59 PM
3.5 cubes would probably be peaky. My 15" R is currently in 3.5-3.75ish and it's quite peaky for daily. Then again, it's tuned for spl.

PV Audio
06-12-2008, 12:03 AM
Type R sounds best in 2-2.5 cubes a pop, tuned low 30s. I've heard 4 and 4.25 cube boxes that sounded incredible.

PV Audio
06-12-2008, 12:04 AM
would you guys throw 1500 watts to them at the beginning or souhld i start off with 1000.They'll eat up 750 easy and ask for more.

99grandprixGT
06-12-2008, 12:27 AM
Type R sounds best in 2-2.5 cubes a pop, tuned low 30s. I've heard 4 and 4.25 cube boxes that sounded incredible.

ya i think i can squeeze 4.0 cubes so i think i should be good.