PDA

View Full Version : Darn regular cab!!



Gearstix
06-05-2008, 12:34 AM
Well, I was going to do a box that is inside my truck, although there is not much space. I was thinking of doing a blowthrough in the bed of my truck with two to four 15s depending on space, but now that plan is fcuked already. I went and measured the bed, and the box would have to be 54" wide and 15" tall, I can make it long cause I got alot the bed.
Not really sure what to do, might end up with 12s or 10s? what you guys think? What are my options for an enclosure.

Fusion_FREAK
06-05-2008, 12:36 AM
Spend $1000+ for a fiberglass tonneau cover.

OR, get shallow mount subs. Kicker has some, I've seen others, but forget the manufacturer.

Gearstix
06-05-2008, 12:58 AM
Spend $1000+ for a fiberglass tonneau cover.

OR, get shallow mount subs. Kicker has some, I've seen others, but forget the manufacturer.

RE has there SL line.

If I do a blowthrough the truck bed will have a soft cover.
I could do a wall of shallow subs, or just behind the seats.

Fusion_FREAK
06-05-2008, 12:59 AM
RE has there SL line.

If I do a blowthrough the truck bed will have a soft cover.
I could do a wall of shallow subs, or just behind the seats.

Alright, but expect to take the box/amps out every night. Moisture can get in thru a soft cover. Atleast with a fiberglass cover you can get it with a thick rubber gasket so it will be pretty water tight.

WOT
06-05-2008, 02:12 AM
blowthrough is way to much work for what youre going for man.

100% I would go with a single BIG power sub and give it the power it wants. Im going to suggest the mach 5 audio SPL line, either 12 or 15 and looking for something in the 3000rms range. youve probably got the cubes to make a single sub box IN your truck. The sub is like $400, amps to pump out that much power would only run you 4-500 more. Alot cheaper and easier, and plenty loud in a regular cab

Mr Cabinetry
06-05-2008, 11:08 AM
Well, I was going to do a box that is inside my truck, although there is not much space. I was thinking of doing a blowthrough in the bed of my truck with two to four 15s depending on space, but now that plan is fcuked already. I went and measured the bed, and the box would have to be 54" wide and 15" tall, I can make it long cause I got alot the bed.
Not really sure what to do, might end up with 12s or 10s? what you guys think? What are my options for an enclosure.

Regular Cab - What??? Chevy, Ford, Dodge, Nissan???

poundindak69
06-05-2008, 11:12 AM
Regular Cab - What??? Chevy, Ford, Dodge, Nissan???

yeah he never said what make of regular cab he had.

Gearstix
06-05-2008, 01:45 PM
Regular Cab - What??? Chevy, Ford, Dodge, Nissan???

I have a 1994 GMC Sonoma 2WD.

Mr Cabinetry
06-05-2008, 02:07 PM
I have a 1994 GMC Sonoma 2WD.

Well, the only way your going to know what can or cannot fit is all a matter of space.

With that being said, you need measure what you behind the seat:

This is just and example, but it gives you an idea of what you need to measure for the bottom depth, top depth and the height and course - the width.

When take these measurement, keep in mind that you need clearance front the front angle baffle of the enclosure to the back of the seat, this means that you position you seat back to where you comfortable sitting at with the seat back at the angle you want and then measure the top and bottom dims according to the you want.

Only then will the dims you provide will yield what you have for volume and then it will establish whether the sub(s) you want to use will of will not fit or have the proper volume for the type of enclosure you want for the subs.

Also, forgot to mention, you need to note any details behind the seat that would be par to the enclosure design to fit as well.

http://i29.photobucket.com/albums/c251/MrCabinetry/Jameseypoo-1.jpg

Phil
Woodlawn Cabinetry

Gearstix
06-05-2008, 03:36 PM
Well, I need a new seat, cause mine is busted.
This is an old pic.
http://i134.photobucket.com/albums/q106/gearstix/Sonoma/box.jpg

ProgMtl
06-06-2008, 06:49 AM
wait for the shallow mounts from SI to finish being built

Blove1991
06-06-2008, 07:50 AM
I ended up fitting 3ft^3 NET at 35hz in my truck for (2) 10's

1995 S10 Standard

stuckinok
06-06-2008, 08:58 AM
ever consider 8s?

Ill be running 2 Critical Mass SS82s but if you can get 3cubes then 3 maybe 4 DD1508s would smash there

Mr Cabinetry
06-06-2008, 11:15 AM
Well, I need a new seat, cause mine is busted.
This is an old pic.
http://i134.photobucket.com/albums/q106/gearstix/Sonoma/box.jpg


That right there is 4.24 cu.ft. accounting for 3/4" MDF Material.

So, if that's what will work for ya keep in mind that what ever you seat location is now will have to move forward given what you have you seats angled at.

If you decrease the top depth and hold the bottom depth, then it's purely a matter of top depth being at a certain depth to provide the volume required for the subs and type of enclosure you want.

Just keep in mind that the back of the seat has to clear the front of the enclosure a good 1- 1 1/2" for the subwoofers.

As far as 15's, ehhhh, you might be stretching that for fitting them, but, if you stick with a that enclosure size shown and don't give a ***** about seat location/comfort, you could do 1 15 - 2or3 12's, 4 - 10s, 4-6 8's.

Just a question of what size sub(s) volume and enclosure type. Till you decide what you want to do, there's not point in doing a design for the enclosure.

Gearstix
06-06-2008, 07:26 PM
I know, I've got to find a better bench seat or get two cavalier seats. Then, me sitting in it, and moving the seat will let me figure out how much space is behind there.

01 S 10
06-06-2008, 07:34 PM
check out s10forum.com in the audio/video section, lots of guys doing smaller (8" and 10") subs that work out really good, you dont really need 12" or 15" in a regular cab, too much of space hogs for the area you have to work with.

I used to have a reg cab Sonoma with 4 10"s sealed in about 3 cubes (lost ALOT of leg room, but was worth it... )

theres a reg cab s10 doing 150+ db (on TL) without a blow through.

Gearstix
06-07-2008, 12:21 AM
I am kinda tall 6' 1", but I don't wanna be mushed into the dash. But my seat just flops around so IDK.. If you slide it ahead, the seat back just flops back.
I'm on s10forum, under the same username.