PDA

View Full Version : question on terminals



burtonsnow83
05-26-2003, 09:17 PM
So this is my question, I remember hearing from J-mac I think that if you have a box with sub recieving more than 1000 watts that it is not good to have plastic terminals as the pressure would be too much from the sub and cause the plastic to flex, my question then is what would be the best way to get the wiring into the box to hook up to the subs? are there thicker plastic termincals that they make or what?

nswartley
05-26-2003, 09:18 PM
drill a hole in the corner of the box...stick the wires through there then seal it off with some caulking or hot glue or something. be sure to completely seal it off tho.

-nate

ss3079
05-26-2003, 09:20 PM
Originally posted by nswartley
drill a hole in the corner of the box...stick the wires through there then seal it off with some caulking or hot glue or something. be sure to completely seal it off tho.

-nate

Yup...this is the way I do/would do it.

And hey, its free.

- Steve

Matador
05-26-2003, 09:26 PM
either way it woudl be fine.
if by plastic he meant the cheap stuff that u get like at radioshack, then maybe.
but just get the good ones (gold or platinum connections).

ie: http://www.crutchfield.com/cgi-bin/S-d9ZrSjHHnao/ProdView.asp?s=0&c=11&g=744&I=073700AG&o=m&a=0&cc=01&avf=N
above prob wontbe good.

but this one is ok.
http://www.darvex.com/miva/merchant.mv?Screen=PROD&Store_Code=D&Product_Code=TC4&Category_Code=Box+Max

kinda like that but for just 2 terminals.

u get the point tho