PDA

View Full Version : aero ports



psylo535
05-27-2008, 03:59 PM
would 1 4" precision port be enough for a type r 12 in a 2.4 cf box

RAM_Designs
05-27-2008, 03:59 PM
yes

SeanDub
05-27-2008, 04:10 PM
no

profundus-sanus
05-27-2008, 04:18 PM
i would do 2..

DB_DRAG_SPL
05-27-2008, 04:19 PM
i would do 2..

Listen to this man, he has like 6 aeros in his box:laugh:

profundus-sanus
05-27-2008, 04:28 PM
Listen to this man, he has like 6 aeros in his box:laugh:

the correct terminology is "on"

:laugh:

psylo535
05-27-2008, 04:31 PM
so far i get 1 yes , 2 no and a listen to this guy he has 6. i only asked cause to use 2 the length would be to long for the box. what would happen if i only use 1. it is goinr in a small truck and the port will be firing sideways

DB_DRAG_SPL
05-27-2008, 04:34 PM
the correct terminology is "on"

:laugh:

True.

delvryboy
05-27-2008, 04:35 PM
2-3 is what I used.

profundus-sanus
05-27-2008, 04:37 PM
give 1 a shot... if you can't make more than one work then do what you can.

i would think 1 would be pushing it.... but i've never even tried running that little amount in relation to box volume, so i can't say.

psylo535
05-27-2008, 04:41 PM
2-3 is what I used.

well the only way i can use 2 is to make the box bigger. i have it in a 2.75 cf box now with 2 ports and it gets low but it doesn't seem to get some of the higher bass that you would hear in rock. i just thought if i make the box smaller it would sound better

thegreatestpenn
05-27-2008, 04:43 PM
you're probably just tuned too low so the drop-off is so dramatic that the higher bass frequencies seem non-existent. what are you tuned to right now

dalucifer
05-27-2008, 04:50 PM
A good rule of thumb is about 10" of port per cubic foot. 2 4" or 1 6" should do the trick

J31Rob
05-27-2008, 04:51 PM
try one 6" pipe, i've got some.

delvryboy
05-27-2008, 05:24 PM
well the only way i can use 2 is to make the box bigger. i have it in a 2.75 cf box now with 2 ports and it gets low but it doesn't seem to get some of the higher bass that you would hear in rock. i just thought if i make the box smaller it would sound better

I wouldn't go any smaller. Try adding another port.

This box peaked @ 43hz. It was about 2.75 cubes.

http://i44.photobucket.com/albums/f19/delvryboy/IMG_0157.jpg

psylo535
05-27-2008, 05:46 PM
you're probably just tuned too low so the drop-off is so dramatic that the higher bass frequencies seem non-existent. what are you tuned to right now

it's tuned to 36hz now. i raised it up from 33 and i still have tons of low bass but the higher stuff is not that great. i have 2 4" aero's at 17" each