PDA

View Full Version : AQ HDC3 10 air space and tuning?



SPY
05-22-2008, 01:19 PM
I'm trying to design a box for my AQ HDC3 10 and I would like opinions from those who have experience with these subs.

I was thinking 2.0 ft^3 tuned to 35 or 2.5 ft^3 tuned to 34

Suggestions anyone?

poundindak69
05-22-2008, 01:24 PM
i have one in 1.8 Ft^3 at like 33hz and it pounds good. how much power are you goin to be runnin' to it?

SPY
05-22-2008, 01:31 PM
Amp is rated at 1400x1@4ohms but is fairly underrated.

poundindak69
05-22-2008, 01:33 PM
oh so you goin to wire the sub to 4ohm

SPY
05-22-2008, 01:35 PM
yes, the amp is only 4ohm mono stable.

It's a PPI PC 21400.2

poundindak69
05-22-2008, 01:36 PM
oh i c. most people will say it will need more power but i got a DD m1a on mine and it pounds but i really want to give it more power.

SPY
05-22-2008, 01:40 PM
Well this is just for daily use so I think I will be OK.

poundindak69
05-22-2008, 01:41 PM
yeah thats the same for me

NeedDirections
05-22-2008, 01:46 PM
mine is 1.85 tuned to 38hz off a sundown 1500 and it pounds.

SPY
05-22-2008, 02:27 PM
Well this is what I came up with.

I like the idea of 33hz tuning but I originally thought it would be to low for this sub and it's 1.98 ft^3 after port displacement before sub. 30 in^2 of port

http://memimage.cardomain.com/member_images/1/web/3049000-3049999/3049092_133_full.jpg

poundindak69
05-22-2008, 03:59 PM
Well this is what I came up with.

I like the idea of 33hz tuning but I originally thought it would be to low for this sub and it's 1.98 ft^3 after port displacement before sub. 30 in^2 of port

http://memimage.cardomain.com/member_images/1/web/3049000-3049999/3049092_133_full.jpg


thats pretty **** there. yeah it does well being tuned that low.i have a video of mine on here some place