PDA

View Full Version : 1.5" Slot Port....Cause port noise????



Miller
05-22-2003, 09:49 PM
I have a box and can only fit a slot port that is 1.5 inches x 14.6 inches and around 7 incehs deep. I will be putting 2 12" RE SE's in the box and it is 3.2 cubic feet. Will I have port noise or should I be ok?

paikiah
05-22-2003, 09:54 PM
Originally posted by Miller
I have a box and can only fit a slot port that is 1.5 inches x 14.6 inches and around 7 incehs deep. I will be putting 2 12" RE SE's in the box and it is 3.2 cubic feet. Will I have port noise or should I be ok?

winISD would need a power figure to determine port velocity. Most say 25m/s is minimum, some say 35m/s can't be heard.

Your port tuning would equate to 40Hz.

Anyhow, with 1000w, there will be port noise (nearly 50m/s@41Hz), and at 500w, speed reduces to 35m/s.

F150Matt
05-23-2003, 05:02 PM
You need more port area for two of those subs anyways...

Miller
05-24-2003, 12:10 AM
how wide minimum should my port be...I have limited width. My box is only 29.5 inches wide and i'm putting 2 12's in it and I need the port in the front. what should the Minimum port width be??

F150Matt
05-24-2003, 02:09 PM
Make the width of your port 2''...that'd give you like 29.?square inches of port. That would be a lil better. Sorry to alarm you, I was thinking your port was only 14x1 for some reason and its not so..you'd probably be alright with what you've got but 14.6x2 would be even better. JMO.

Miller
05-25-2003, 01:11 AM
I'm not sure if I have enough room for a 2" wide port, so I might try to squeeze in a 1.75" port and a 2 if possible.... will 1.75W x 14.6H x 12" Depth be ok with port noise for 2 12" SE's. I would prefer to do 1.5"W x 14.6H x 12" Depth, but which one would be better. Is the one with 1.5" gonna cause port noise??? how about 1.75"???

F150Matt
05-25-2003, 09:44 AM
It would probably be ok, go with whatever you can fit. Test it and see, thats the only way.