PDA

View Full Version : Aero ports in a SUV...yes or no



da box king
05-21-2008, 09:28 PM
I like using aero port designs and I have heard that they don't work as well in SUV's. I am getting 2 15" AQ hdc3's and they will be going in my 2003 Trailblazer. I've got atleast 8 cubes to use, and maybe someone can design me a box for the AQ's too. I like the sound of aeros alot and am looking to play 35 hz daily and maybe pull the ports and swap for testing. Anyone have experience with aeros in SUV's?

adas
05-21-2008, 09:38 PM
work great for the 4 suv's i've used em in. 1 4" in an explorer, 3 6"s in a blazer, 2 6"s in a tahoe and 3 4"s in a tahoe. All of them sound great and pound hard.:)

kovemaster559
05-21-2008, 09:40 PM
use the 6 inch ports and u should be ok

stuckinok
05-21-2008, 09:42 PM
yes

da box king
05-21-2008, 09:46 PM
Should I have to worry bought them flexing? I'm doing subs up, ports back. I will be powering these with a crossfire vr4000d. Also anyone wanna make me a sweet design.

adas
05-21-2008, 09:49 PM
They usually stay pretty solid, just brace the panel their on.

Come to think of it a couple years ago I heard a 12" MT with 4 4" aeros in a 03 trailblazer and it sounded awesome, I think it did a 148.x, and dropped pretty **** well.:)

kovemaster559
05-21-2008, 09:50 PM
it depend on how long they are going to be u can try to brace them tho it help

matrxx dude
05-21-2008, 09:53 PM
all my setups have had aero's in my explorer,i had 2 15 ab hd's in 8 cubes with 3 6'' aero's,i done a 152 at sbn with 1 40.1.

matrxx dude
05-21-2008, 09:54 PM
http://i91.photobucket.com/albums/k292/livinlouder_2006/me.jpg

PSturmer
05-21-2008, 10:01 PM
aeros are awesome.

2000LaDe
05-21-2008, 10:04 PM
you would say that :) u above that 154.1 mark yet psturmer?

kovemaster559
05-21-2008, 10:08 PM
all my setups have had aero's in my explorer,i had 2 15 ab hd's in 8 cubes with 3 6'' aero's,i done a 152 at sbn with 1 40.1.

how much did u hit with 4

da box king
05-21-2008, 10:08 PM
looks like I will be using aeros..sweeeeeeet:)
..next: anyone got any good box designs for HCDC3's. I will be using 2 15's

da box king
05-21-2008, 10:10 PM
also how many ports and of what size would you recommend for 2 15" hcd3.
anyone got any good sites to buy them too?

djman37
05-21-2008, 10:13 PM
also how many ports and of what size would you recommend for 2 15" hcd3.
anyone got any good sites to buy them too?

psp's are all that's left AERO isn't doing much right now.

www.psp-inc.com www.partsexpress.com might still sell them, i don't know about thrilleraudio any more.

kovemaster559
05-21-2008, 10:27 PM
psp's are all that's left AERO isn't doing much right now.

www.psp-inc.com www.partsexpress.com might still sell them, i don't know about thrilleraudio any more.

whats the difference between psp and aero its all plastic

da box king
05-21-2008, 10:28 PM
whats the difference between psp and aero its all plastic

im wondering the same

PSturmer
05-22-2008, 12:49 AM
you would say that :) u above that 154.1 mark yet psturmer?

not yet. new install though. i still gotta paint the boxes and mount the amp and put the car back together but here is what it is right now. 4 12'' hdc3's :)

http://i24.photobucket.com/albums/c8/psturmer/be5dcb2ee084.jpg

J31Rob
05-22-2008, 12:50 AM
if interested, i've got 6" pipes.

hoxie08
05-22-2008, 12:52 AM
why not?

hoxie08
05-22-2008, 12:53 AM
whats the difference between psp and aero its all plastic

psp is a brand name?

J31Rob
05-22-2008, 12:54 AM
psp is a brand name?

yeah, but they're thinner than PVC & are supposed to resonate better..

bass-aholic
05-22-2008, 12:55 AM
also how many ports and of what size would you recommend for 2 15" hcd3.
anyone got any good sites to buy them too?

I would go with something like 4 4" ports. It depends on what you want to tune to, exact cubic feet after displacement and how much depth you have to work with for the port length.