PDA

View Full Version : camaro sub box help?



dspencer24
05-19-2008, 11:59 AM
I have 2 alpine r's with an mrd 1005 pushin them in the back of my camaro! I think the box i have for them is way to big, because they dont hit hard at all they should be pounding in my camaro how can i find the cubic feet there are alot of angles

Louisiana_CRX
05-19-2008, 12:01 PM
get a bigger amp

MTXman
05-19-2008, 12:07 PM
I have a 1995 camaro, they are small in the trunk, and I have the biggest possible box you can fit back there.

To find the volume of the box, just divide the box into seperate squares/triangles and add up the volume. But honestly, there's no way that your box is too big in a camaro for those type R's. A bigger box, especially only one slightly bigger won't cause your subs to be quieter.


You have two 12 inch type R's, the 122D's or the 1244D's?

You probably have two dual 4 ohm voice coil subs, if you have them hooked up right, you're only seeing about 300 watts rms on daily music to each sub. Those subs can take triple that daily with no problem.

Your problem isn't your box, it's your amp.

dspencer24
05-19-2008, 02:17 PM
I have a 1995 camaro, they are small in the trunk, and I have the biggest possible box you can fit back there.

To find the volume of the box, just divide the box into seperate squares/triangles and add up the volume. But honestly, there's no way that your box is too big in a camaro for those type R's. A bigger box, especially only one slightly bigger won't cause your subs to be quieter.


You have two 12 inch type R's, the 122D's or the 1244D's?

You probably have two dual 4 ohm voice coil subs, if you have them hooked up right, you're only seeing about 300 watts rms on daily music to each sub. Those subs can take triple that daily with no problem.

Your problem isn't your box, it's your amp.

My box is huge I def have over 1 cu. per sub and thats being kind and I have 10's

fshanda
05-19-2008, 02:50 PM
Fill the box with packing peanuts. Dig them all out and put them in a box. Measure the height, width and depth of the filled area of the box. HxDxW will give you the cubic inches. divide that number by 1728 and you will know the cubic feet of the box. Subtract for the displacement of the subs to be a little more acurate.

Its not a perfect method but it does get you close.

And what type of subs are they? D4 or D2
MTXman may have solved your problem for you already.

I have an MRD-M605 on my type R 10" D4, 600 watts at 2 ohm and that little sub pounds.

dspencer24
05-19-2008, 07:01 PM
Fill the box with packing peanuts. Dig them all out and put them in a box. Measure the height, width and depth of the filled area of the box. HxDxW will give you the cubic inches. divide that number by 1728 and you will know the cubic feet of the box. Subtract for the displacement of the subs to be a little more acurate.

Its not a perfect method but it does get you close.

And what type of subs are they? D4 or D2
MTXman may have solved your problem for you already.

I have an MRD-M605 on my type R 10" D4, 600 watts at 2 ohm and that little sub pounds.

i ran 1 sub at 2 ohms and it didnt change the sound one bit. they sound really loose and hollow. (the mrd 1005 says it 1000 w and 2ohms) thats just what it says.

miker
05-19-2008, 07:04 PM
um... you probably want about 1.5 each sub, and at least 500watts..

fshanda
05-19-2008, 07:16 PM
If you can wire one sub to 2 ohm then im guessing you have a pair of D4s. You only have the choice of wiring the pair at 1 ohm or 4 ohm. The amp isnt rated to run at 1 ohm and running it at 4 ohm will only get you 250 watts rms per sub. Thats way underpowered for your 12s. You need to get the right amp and feed those babies some Power.

How are you just running just one sub? Leaving the other one in the enclosure unwired or just taking the second one out? Your enclosure volume is probably to big for just one sub sealed.

dspencer24
05-19-2008, 07:16 PM
um... you probably want about 1.5 each sub, and at least 500watts..

um it says that the sub is best at .65 cubic feet

dspencer24
05-19-2008, 07:16 PM
i have 10's and each sub has a seperate chamber i ran 1 sub at 2 ohms just to see if it would change the sound and like i though it didnt.

miker
05-19-2008, 07:19 PM
Yeah.. well Alpine lies!!..

For the 12" you want about 2.5 each ported.. they tell you, you want 1.25....

fshanda
05-19-2008, 07:26 PM
My 10" is in a 2.3 cub box ported and its surprisingly loud and hits hard on the low notes. I cant imagine that amp with 1000 watts a 2 ohm not shaking the s**t out of your Camaro.

Is yours sealed or ported?

Keith H
05-19-2008, 07:34 PM
My advice would be to run 1 in a ported box. Type R's really need to be vented to get the most out of them. You'll probably be suprised at its output.

I currently have 2 R 12's sealed in my hatchback running off 2 zx750's. And its not too much louder than just 1 of them vented with the same amp.

I need a new box. :crap:

dspencer24
05-19-2008, 11:57 PM
My advice would be to run 1 in a ported box. Type R's really need to be vented to get the most out of them. You'll probably be suprised at its output.

I currently have 2 R 12's sealed in my hatchback running off 2 zx750's. And its not too much louder than just 1 of them vented with the same amp.

I need a new box. :crap:

no i wont be surprised i had these subs in a ported enclosure in my civic with the same amp it hurt my brain :) I was hoping that this camaro box i bought off a friend would work but its there is to much space in there. this is my second camro i know what it should sound like with 2 10s in a sealed enclosure.

mobilecreations
05-20-2008, 12:01 AM
i have a 1989 trans am, with 6 ground zero nukes, and 12 nexus amps. they can get real loud. i had a 166.8 on the old audio control

big jake
05-20-2008, 02:08 AM
wow i hope i dont have this same problem as my setup is gonna be 2 12" type r's (not sure if their 2 or 4 ohm) and a 1200 watt jbl amp. im gonna run a box thats angled towards the front of the car and its got about 1 cu ft per slot.

and ive never seen a ported box in a camaro personally.

IDSkoT
05-20-2008, 02:17 AM
i have a 1989 trans am, with 6 ground zero nukes, and 12 nexus amps. they can get real loud. i had a 166.8 on the old audio control


pics or :ban:

dspencer24
05-20-2008, 02:47 AM
wow i hope i dont have this same problem as my setup is gonna be 2 12" type r's (not sure if their 2 or 4 ohm) and a 1200 watt jbl amp. im gonna run a box thats angled towards the front of the car and its got about 1 cu ft per slot.

and ive never seen a ported box in a camaro personally.

you wont camaros hold bass very well i just so happen to have to big of a box for 2 10s

big jake
05-20-2008, 03:13 AM
you wont camaros hold bass very well i just so happen to have to big of a box for 2 10s

yeah i had 2 12s in my first camaro with alot less power than im gonna be running now but for some **** reason i cant find a box like i used to have. hopefully this q-logic box im buying from a member on here does the trick.

fshanda
05-20-2008, 06:01 AM
Figure out how many cubes you have in there first. If its to big fill in some of the area to reduce the volume. Some spray foam would work, not sure if you could get any pieces of MDF and block off some of the area or not. You probably only have the hole for the sub to work thru. I have some rigid closed cell foam blocks that I have used to reduce volume in an oversized box. Worked great.