PDA

View Full Version : March 1 Audio.



NewAgeKing
05-17-2008, 11:03 PM
Sorry Mach 1 audio... not march. Lexington Parkway, on the corner of randolph. I stopped in there this past week just to check things out and i was dissapointed actually. I know nothing of there installs but the space just reminded me of the little corner candy store when i was a kid. Just alot smaller. They have quite the selection on decks, but very little in the amps or subs unless your looking for some L7's. When i asked what they were authorized in he rattled off some names, basic stuff. So when i was dozing off in my head wondering about what i wanted to eat i heard the name kicker, so i asked about the 2500 for something to do. He said it would run me about 1500. You can clearly get them alot cheaper. Anyway as i stated i know nothing of installs or anything with service, just thought i would post up my first impression. Later.

usacimember
05-23-2008, 11:55 PM
Sorry Mach 1 audio... not march. Lexington Parkway, on the corner of randolph. I stopped in there this past week just to check things out and i was dissapointed actually. I know nothing of there installs but the space just reminded me of the little corner candy store when i was a kid. Just alot smaller. They have quite the selection on decks, but very little in the amps or subs unless your looking for some L7's. When i asked what they were authorized in he rattled off some names, basic stuff. So when i was dozing off in my head wondering about what i wanted to eat i heard the name kicker, so i asked about the 2500 for something to do. He said it would run me about 1500. You can clearly get them alot cheaper. Anyway as i stated i know nothing of installs or anything with service, just thought i would post up my first impression. Later.



What I can tell you is that I am a Direct Manufactures Representative for that territory, and I can personally vouch for the level of work they do and there product knowledge.

iMSeRiOuS
07-17-2008, 01:52 PM
That one on Randolph is small compared to the other two. I usually go to the one on rice street. They are really expensive but they do know what they're talking about.

KRYPTO
09-08-2010, 08:06 PM
I just had a sub box made from them and it cost $100 more then I was quoted. Quoted on doing a ported box, but after I dropped the car off we decided to do a sealed before he started working on it. He said it will be cheaper then original quote. Said it would take a day to build and I would have my car back tomorrow..... well a week later and $100 more I have my car back.
They didn't include any material on there quote WTF

To spendy and hided fee's for work

RAM_Designs
09-08-2010, 08:10 PM
I just had a sub box made from them and it cost $100 more then I was quoted. Quoted on doing a ported box, but after I dropped the car off we decided to do a sealed before he started working on it. He said it will be cheaper then original quote. Said it would take a day to build and I would have my car back tomorrow..... well a week later and $100 more I have my car back.
They didn't include any material on there quote WTF

To spendy and hided fee's for work

That's pretty shady...how much did they charge, and do you have any photos of the box?

KRYPTO
09-08-2010, 08:17 PM
It was $400 total out the door, I can get pics. It also fell apart when I was taking it out of my car to run power wire. (top plate fell off)

KRYPTO
09-08-2010, 08:20 PM
Basically it is 2 sealed boxes with a carpeted cover plate on top and back

slim2fattycake
09-08-2010, 08:24 PM
haha. dude I would have thrown that **** back at them. That's bullsh1t

KRYPTO
09-08-2010, 08:30 PM
Yeah I wasnt to happy with them taking a week to build it either. But damage is done and nothing I can do about it.
I cant even sell them as separate boxes cuz They aren't fully carpeted. (no carpet under cover plates)

Deeper_shades
09-08-2010, 08:30 PM
hmmm, sounds pretty bunk....

KRYPTO
09-08-2010, 08:34 PM
I couldnt find any shops that had the knowledge about sub specs and how to build boxes with them. They said they do it all the time and know what to do. I find out after I question why the box's are so small they just called Alpine and ask what size to make the box's

KRYPTO
09-08-2010, 10:50 PM
http://i186.photobucket.com/albums/x113/KRYPTO_album/DSC00670.jpg
http://i186.photobucket.com/albums/x113/KRYPTO_album/DSC00671.jpg
http://i186.photobucket.com/albums/x113/KRYPTO_album/DSC00672.jpg
http://i186.photobucket.com/albums/x113/KRYPTO_album/DSC00673.jpg

slim2fattycake
09-08-2010, 10:54 PM
holy ****. I'd break that **** over their glass display case. no one I have ever built a box for has ever had anything anywhere as ugly and unprofessionally done as that.

dumple
09-08-2010, 10:57 PM
they charged you 400 for that HAHAHA i wish i had some disposable income like that.

KRYPTO
09-08-2010, 11:20 PM
:emb: I know
In the center is my Nitrous tank so cant make it a single box all the way through. When I talked to them about making the box they where going to be facing up. I use to have my battery in the hatch, but had to put it back under the hood because it was very close to the sub and I was afraid when I put some real power to the subs it would hit it.
I was originally quoted $375 for a sealed and ported box (was going to run 2 amps)with subs and port facing up and ended up with 2 sealed facing back for $400

I had another shop quote me $250 but he didn't sound like he knew much about building to sub specs so I went to another place.... that didnt turn out to well lol

dumple
09-08-2010, 11:22 PM
:emb: I know
In the center is my Nitrous tank so cant make it a single box all the way through. When I talked to them about making the box they where going to be facing up. I use to have my battery in the hatch, but had to put it back under the hood because it was very close to the sub and I was afraid when I put some real power to the subs it would hit it.
I was originally quoted $375 for a sealed and ported box (was going to run 2 amps)with subs and port facing up and ended up with 2 sealed facing back for $400


im sorry but your pockets got raped for what you got looks like 2 prefab sealed boxs with two boards going acrossthem not glued or screwed to the boxes and the carpet is different color...

power-fanatic07
09-08-2010, 11:25 PM
Wow

KRYPTO
09-08-2010, 11:29 PM
The boards are screwed to each box, just the top one fell off when I tried to move it and I unscrewed the other to move around easier. They are made from 5/8" MDF and resin sealed seams.
But yes I will agree my pockets got raped. I just wanted a professional box make for my specific subs specs so went to a professional shop....

KRYPTO
09-08-2010, 11:30 PM
What do you guys think about the size of the box for the subs? I think they are to small

i2ain2thunder
06-09-2011, 04:37 PM
LOL I went to that shop, at least I think it was mach1 it was off rice street. Anyway I went in for a 1/0 to 4gauge reducer. I was shocked at how crappy their selection of products were. I'd rather go to best buy lol. They didn't have the reducer and the guy at the counter asked me what I wanted it for and preceded to tell me 1/0 is rarely needed in an install. I told him I got a 3600watt amp so thats the reason for the 1/0. He asked me what kind I told him its a MA Audio HK602sx. He didn't know what it was so he asked me what it had for fuses. (I don't know why he cared about all this when I just wanted a reducer) I told him it had 6x40amp fuses. He said that doesn't do 3600 watts, I said I know it doesn't do 3600 but it'll do close to 3k. He then preceded to take out a calculator, punched some numbers and showed me the calculator, it said 1400. He told me this was all that amp was gonna put out for rms. I laughed in his face and left. Anyone know how he got that number??

boomzabit
06-16-2011, 03:35 PM
Those "shops" are out there to make money just like anyone else. I like to go into places and look around and shoot the chit, get small items and thats about as far as it goes.

On a side note your amp is probably closer to 1400w then it is to 3600w..

Anton Miller
06-29-2011, 06:06 PM
LOL I went to that shop, at least I think it was mach1 it was off rice street. Anyway I went in for a 1/0 to 4gauge reducer. I was shocked at how crappy their selection of products were. I'd rather go to best buy lol. They didn't have the reducer and the guy at the counter asked me what I wanted it for and preceded to tell me 1/0 is rarely needed in an install. I told him I got a 3600watt amp so thats the reason for the 1/0. He asked me what kind I told him its a MA Audio HK602sx. He didn't know what it was so he asked me what it had for fuses. (I don't know why he cared about all this when I just wanted a reducer) I told him it had 6x40amp fuses. He said that doesn't do 3600 watts, I said I know it doesn't do 3600 but it'll do close to 3k. He then preceded to take out a calculator, punched some numbers and showed me the calculator, it said 1400. He told me this was all that amp was gonna put out for rms. I laughed in his face and left. Anyone know how he got that number??

A common practice to getting a power rating from fusing is to take a normal cars resting voltage at idle which is 14.4 volts and times that by the total amount of amperage fuse and then take the efficiency of the amp into effect (as in 1 ohm is typically 75% meaning 75% of input gets turned into output). so if you say the amp has 6 x 40 amp fuses. thats 240 total amps of fusing. so times that by the cars voltage and you get 3456 wattage of input (this is givent hat your car can maintain this wattage of output) then take the 75% into effect and you get 2592 wattage of output MAX before you pop fuses. so what he did was probly divided that by 2 to get approx a 1300 watts rms rating.... this is at one ohm.... he wasnt off base, you just didnt know what you were talking about ;)

PS: 1/0 never hurts in an install :) id rather have big wire then little wire :D

boomzabit
07-11-2011, 06:49 PM
1/0 never hurts in an install :) id rather have big wire then little wire :D

I wish i would have went with 1/0, oh well maybe when it comes time to do the big 3 ill take out the 4ga.

boomzabit
07-11-2011, 06:49 PM
1/0 never hurts in an install :) id rather have big wire then little wire :D

I wish i would have went with 1/0, oh well maybe when it comes time to do the big 3 ill take out the 4ga.