PDA

View Full Version : New Tweeters blown already?



PuZo
05-17-2008, 04:45 PM
I just got a set of phoenix gold rsd's and hook them up. They are 65 w rms and my amp is 60rms per channel. It is a 4 chan amp, so I bridged 2 channels together. I was listening to it and everything was going good, then all of a sudden the tweeters are gone, cant hear them anymore. How could they have blown so easily/quickly? I didnt put it high at all.

dragnix
05-17-2008, 04:46 PM
perhaps you have gained turned on too high?

edzy
05-17-2008, 05:40 PM
"They are 65 w rms and my amp is 60rms per channel. It is a 4 chan amp, so I bridged 2 channels together"
Depending on what amp it is, bridged is twice the wattage, so maybe you put 120 watts on the 65 watt speakers. And you had the gain too high.

PuZo
05-17-2008, 08:12 PM
so is it too late or can I turn down the gain?

edzy
05-17-2008, 08:17 PM
set the gain correctly, it may need to go up or down, depends on the HU voltage. its not a volume knob. and yes, its too late for the tweets.

PuZo
05-17-2008, 08:31 PM
is it possible to buy replacement tweets from somewhere?

Towncar
05-17-2008, 09:21 PM
is it possible to buy replacement tweets from somewhere?

Call pg, they should have them. Sounds pretty wierd that both tweets would go out at the same time.

king ranch
05-17-2008, 09:25 PM
how did you set the gains and where was the gain knob at like halfway or more

mokedaddy
05-17-2008, 09:29 PM
how did you set the gains and where was the gain knob at like halfway or more

Completely irrelevant question. That is install dependent. :)

DjiNN
05-17-2008, 09:30 PM
ive had my PG's in for a week and im putting ~150w per side .. and they sound great .. def more midbass compared to the Rainbows i had ..

PuZo
05-17-2008, 09:34 PM
I had the full 60watts rms per chan going, so bridged is around 120, and the the hpf I set to 80 and that all I know about the controls on the amp.

king ranch
05-17-2008, 09:35 PM
how did u set your gains

king ranch
05-17-2008, 10:25 PM
u set by ear or dmm

coledawg
05-17-2008, 10:48 PM
try looking at speaker wires and all wires one might came loose on the amp or crossover

mazzasec
05-18-2008, 03:07 AM
i thought this was a common problem with the RSD's
edit: just found the threads to seems to be common

http://www.caraudio.com/forum/showthread.php?t=309955&highlight=blew+tweeter

http://www.caraudio.com/forum/showthread.php?t=307455&highlight=blew+tweeter

bigbangtheory
05-18-2008, 07:45 AM
Hopefully this don't happen to me. I did the same thing just as of yesterday with mine. I bridged the front two channels. They are only getting 75rms right now though.

I don't understand why people would run double the power to them. I can barely take the 75rms I am giving them now.