PDA

View Full Version : Sealed into a ported



ProgMtl
05-15-2008, 10:57 AM
Currently have a custom built (shaped to floor and under seat) MDF & fiberglass box that I'm 90% sure has too much airspace for my woofers...what is the likely hood of making a decent ported box out of my sealed? If so, what would I need to know and/or do to make it work?

bunkerking09
05-15-2008, 11:00 AM
fiberglass? ugh thats gonna be a pain to mess with...only thing i can think of is to drill a hole and put in an aeroport

ProgMtl
05-15-2008, 11:02 AM
The fiberglass is only on the hump portion of the box (so it would custom fit to the floor) the rest is MDF so the port wouldn't be going into the fiberglass

Witty690
05-15-2008, 11:05 AM
What size is the box now and what driver are you using?

bunkerking09
05-15-2008, 11:05 AM
The fiberglass is only on the hump portion of the box (so it would custom fit to the floor) the rest is MDF so the port wouldn't be going into the fiberglass

o, well just find the dimensions of your box, take off the top, do the math on your port length and add a port wall or two if necessary

Pl8er
05-15-2008, 11:09 AM
Got a pic of the box?

Kold_Killa
05-15-2008, 11:11 AM
Use a couple a aero ports... Then just find the proper tuning for the volume and cut some circles....

ProgMtl
05-15-2008, 11:13 AM
the box is approx. 2.2cf (single chamber)...subs are in sig

the box can't be taken apart without ruining the thing (if I have to take it apart I will just have a new one made with much more mounting depth to accommodate some bigger, louder, more power handling subs...will have the rear seat raised also).

I'm good at math but I know NOTHING about ported boxes...just wondering if this is even a feasible idea or just some lame half-assed attempt to do something I shouldn't even mess with.

ProgMtl
05-15-2008, 11:14 AM
Use a couple a aero ports... Then just find the proper tuning for the volume and cut some circles....


I'm dumb when it comes to ported boxes...is an aero port just a hole in the box or is it one of those tubes you can slide into the hole?

ProgMtl
05-15-2008, 11:15 AM
Got a pic of the box?


Not a pic of the whole thing...it's like one of those you'd see under the rear seat of a truck...but it's all one chamber with the fiberglass blended into the wood...I may have a pic of parts of it is all.

bunkerking09
05-15-2008, 11:16 AM
I'm dumb when it comes to ported boxes...is an aero port just a hole in the box or is it one of those tubes you can slide into the hole?

its the tubes, aero's would be the way to go for sure

Kold_Killa
05-15-2008, 11:18 AM
But not just a tube... Just a tube will often times cause port noise... aero actually have "horned" ends.

BASS14
05-15-2008, 11:18 AM
2.2cubes for the 2 of em?? how is that too much air space!!! i had my 1000s in a 6cube dual chamber box so 3cubes for each sub and each chamber had a 3-3/4in aero port in it tuned to 32hz!

and it was loud as all hell!!! if anything i would say get a bigger box! cause 2.2cubes for the 2 is not to much for those subs!

ProgMtl
05-15-2008, 11:21 AM
for sealed it is....the specs say 0.4cf...the guy that built my box didn't follow my instructions...it's nowhere near loud enough for the power I'm putting to them as it is

BASS14
05-15-2008, 11:30 AM
are they 10s or 12s?

PV Audio
05-15-2008, 11:32 AM
for sealed it is....the specs say 0.4cf...the guy that built my box didn't follow my instructions...it's nowhere near loud enough for the power I'm putting to them as it isThere is not a subwoofer over 8" on the market that does well in .4 cubic feet sealed. Are you looking at the Vas, because that's entirely different.

BASS14
05-15-2008, 11:35 AM
There is not a subwoofer over 8" on the market that does well in .4 cubic feet sealed. Are you looking at the Vas, because that's entirely different.

x2....thats wat im sayin!!! i used to own a pair of em!! and they like alot of room! 2.2cubes for the 2 is not too much!!

ProgMtl
05-15-2008, 11:39 AM
they are 10"

ProgMtl
05-15-2008, 11:40 AM
well maybe I need to push them harder then...I'm semi-conservative with the gains...set everything with a 0db test tone...maybe I should try a -1db tone or something lower?

PV Audio
05-15-2008, 11:55 AM
well maybe I need to push them harder then...I'm semi-conservative with the gains...set everything with a 0db test tone...maybe I should try a -1db tone or something lower?No, you need a larger enclosure. 2.2 cubes ported is absolutely nothing.

ProgMtl
05-15-2008, 11:58 AM
Then I will leave it as 2.2 cubes sealed....that's all I wanted to know is if it would work or not (need the back seat so huge ported is not an option)

PV Audio
05-15-2008, 12:02 PM
I mean yeah, it'll work, but you'd probably be happier (take that back, I know you would be happier) with a moderately sized sealed box versus a super high tuned honking ported box.

ProgMtl
05-15-2008, 12:09 PM
I just need some more volume (loud type, not space) maybe I'll have to cut out the back of the box and glass that over to get a little deeper woofer like an SSA Icon in there or something.

BASS14
05-15-2008, 01:32 PM
No, you need a larger enclosure. 2.2 cubes ported is absolutely nothing.

thats wat iv been sayin this whole time! 2.2 ported is nothing! if anything you need a bigger box and throw in a port and ull be more than happy!:D

trust me those are GREAT SUBS and they like the room!