PDA

View Full Version : Box too big?



TC2k15x2
05-14-2008, 10:02 PM
Hey guys do you possibly think that if I build a ported enclosure that barely fits in my trunk, will it suffocate

Ford302Redneck
05-14-2008, 10:03 PM
Its possible I assume.

Not in all cases tho.

TC2k15x2
05-14-2008, 10:07 PM
Oh tight what do you think would get louder 2 15"s in a prefab sealed enclosure, or 1 15 in a well designed ported enclosure? Same amp

psych0ticnemes1
05-15-2008, 09:32 AM
I would go with a single 15" in a well built ported enclosure.

DejaWiz
05-15-2008, 09:44 AM
I would go with a single 15" in a well built ported enclosure.

X2. The only prefabs I would remotely consider would be a sealed enclosure made out of at least 3/4" MDF. A cookie-cutter ported is a huge no-no.

PV Audio
05-15-2008, 02:52 PM
Yes, and it is very common. That's why people who have 4 15s in the trunk are rarely louder than people with a single 12, because they effectively choke the output because there isn't enough air to excite and therefore pressurize.

TC2k15x2
05-15-2008, 06:24 PM
Well the prefab I have is made out of 3/4 MDF, but its got a slanted front lmao, but thats all I could work with at the time because it was 90 bucks and I couldnt find someone to build a ported enclosure in my trunk for that cheap. Shops around here are trying to charge 500 or so just because its a mercedes, the only reason I cant build it myself is because its going to be a tight fit. Im sure if I had SUV amounts of space to work with id have my own built in a hurry. If someone lives in the Orlando, Daytona area and is willing to help out id really apprecieate it.

PV Audio
05-15-2008, 10:01 PM
...Why would it cost more because it's a mercedes? People use the same waxes and polishes Civics as they do Lamborghinis. Same concept.

miker
05-15-2008, 10:21 PM
lol..

Scam????

TC2k15x2
05-15-2008, 10:25 PM
...Why would it cost more because it's a mercedes? People use the same waxes and polishes Civics as they do Lamborghinis. Same concept.

Because they think I have deeper pockets, and thats its "german" and its hard to work with. They tried to charge me 180 to run just my power wire lol, i ended up doing that myself and im no technician.

patrick1202
05-15-2008, 10:25 PM
Oh tight what do you think would get louder 2 15"s in a prefab sealed enclosure, or 1 15 in a well designed ported enclosure? Same amp
my one 15" fi is is about the same loudness as my buddy's 2 15" cvr's
and his is on 1500 watts mines on 1100.
it depends on the sub

I would go with a single 15" in a well built ported enclosure.
qft

patrick1202
05-15-2008, 10:25 PM
and it sounds so much better

PV Audio
05-15-2008, 11:14 PM
Because they think I have deeper pockets, and thats its "german" and its hard to work with. They tried to charge me 180 to run just my power wire lol, i ended up doing that myself and im no technician.Oh no, I know that's why they quoted that, much like Ferrari owners need to buy Zymol vintage when me and my uncle detailed a Boxer and a Testarossa to concours spec using nothing but Meg's #16 and some Mother's metal polish :laugh:

TC2k15x2
05-18-2008, 01:27 PM
my one 15" fi is is about the same loudness as my buddy's 2 15" cvr's
and his is on 1500 watts mines on 1100.
it depends on the sub

qft

So im guessing your running that FI in a nice enclosure and he isnt?