PDA

View Full Version : Adding port to sealed box



bterz
05-05-2008, 05:51 PM
hey guys. I recently pieced together my first system. I ended up with an AlpineTypeR 12" as my sub of choice and budget. I didn't want to buy a box and I thought it would be fun to build one.

I ended up building a sealed box due to my small amount of room.

http://img254.imageshack.us/img254/9453/box1vg9.jpg

This is the box I built. It fits in my backseat perfectly and I want to keep it, but I heard this sub really opens up in a ported box. I'd like to know how to add a circular port to this existing box, if at all possible.

Its about 1.2 cubes before displacement.

Thanks guys

edit: and incase anyone is wondering the reason the baffle has slices in it is because I decided I wanted flush mount after I was completed, and only way I could get it in there was an octagon. LOL

hatemonger
05-05-2008, 05:53 PM
that box is nowhere near large enough to add a port

tommyk90
05-05-2008, 05:53 PM
It's not enough airspace.

A typical single 12" ported enclosure will be around 2 cubes AFTER displacement, so roughly 2.5 cubes gross.

dragnix
05-05-2008, 05:54 PM
yea...no

miker
05-05-2008, 05:55 PM
I have 2.5 cubes net..

So IF you do a port do it completely externally...

Still ehh..

bterz
05-05-2008, 05:57 PM
looks like i'm keeping the box I have.

thanks for the quick response

smd4life
05-05-2008, 05:57 PM
external ports can be done...but the way the box is shaped it would look retarded

hatemonger
05-05-2008, 05:58 PM
the first box i built was 1.25 ported for a type R. didn't like it much.