PDA

View Full Version : Double Din



doyoshuffle5
04-28-2008, 04:54 PM
Im getting a really good deal on a double Din indash/navigation only problem is that my 02 jeep cherokee laredo is a single din. Anyone ever make this work. Is there something i can buy

thanks

shizzzon
04-28-2008, 04:57 PM
i dont know what the dash looks like but i cant imagine installing a double din in a single din slot without some major modding.

doyoshuffle5
04-28-2008, 05:01 PM
http://images.google.com/imgres?imgurl=http://www.wjjeeps.com/woodtrim/st_02.jpg&imgrefurl=http://www.wjjeeps.com/woodtrim/woodtrim.htm&h=338&w=450&sz=44&hl=en&start=14&tbnid=VO9iMSD7ised4M:&tbnh=95&tbnw=127&prev=/images%3Fq%3DDash%2Bof%2B02%2BJeep%2BLaredo%26gbv% 3D2%26hl%3Den

theres mine minus the wood kit

doyoshuffle5
04-28-2008, 05:01 PM
i cant find any double din kits

shizzzon
04-28-2008, 05:03 PM
OH ok, now i see.. that whole top piece should be replaceable... hmm, let me see what i can find.

If i dont post back soon... i didnt find anything.

jco1385
04-28-2008, 05:05 PM
doesnt look like there's enough room. hard to say though

SethPhillips
04-28-2008, 05:07 PM
gunna be a good amount of custom work....

quest51210
04-28-2008, 05:10 PM
cut out them ac vents

bumpin buick
04-28-2008, 05:11 PM
its going to need to be custom, hope ya like fiberglass

king ranch
04-28-2008, 05:12 PM
thats just dumb cutting out the ac vents why not just mod it to the top and right at the yp of the ac vents

jco1385
04-28-2008, 05:13 PM
is the car a lease? if so, i'd go single din

mapolley07
04-28-2008, 05:13 PM
i can't get the picture to load any larger, but in my friend's '04 GC limited, the original opening in the woodgrain panel is ~1.5 din, but the whole top woodgrain panel does come off. you MIGHT be able to modify the dash, but fitting a single din in there was even tricky because of limited depth

audioarsonal
04-28-2008, 05:14 PM
I have an 00 GC.And planned a simuliar setup until I got into it.It does require cutting the a/c vents in the dash to make room for the DD.As well as you have to cut the vents out of the trim panel.It is possible though with extensive modifications.

doyoshuffle5
04-28-2008, 05:28 PM
ya that doesnt sound like alot of fun gettin a kenwood 6019 with navigation

but im getting a good as deal i dont want to pass up

anyone do this kind of work before

IDSkoT
04-28-2008, 05:29 PM
I don't think this goes in Enclosure help...

But... I don't think it's worth it. Just spend less money on a single DIN and finish.

doyoshuffle5
04-28-2008, 05:29 PM
is the car a lease? if so, i'd go single din

no its not totally paid off

jco1385
04-28-2008, 05:30 PM
Post and discuss your box construction, design, fiberglass and other fabrication questions here.


:fyi:

doyoshuffle5
04-28-2008, 05:32 PM
Post and discuss your box construction, design, fiberglass and other fabrication questions here.


:fyi:

does this ? not pertain to the following requirements sorry

jco1385
04-28-2008, 05:34 PM
does this ? not pertain to the following requirements sorry

was aimed this comment:


I don't think this goes in Enclosure help...

But... I don't think it's worth it. Just spend less money on a single DIN and finish.

doyoshuffle5
04-28-2008, 05:35 PM
was aimed this comment:

im sorry bout that man i was a little confused

thanks for the help tho

doyoshuffle5
04-28-2008, 05:37 PM
I don't think this goes in Enclosure help...

But... I don't think it's worth it. Just spend less money on a single DIN and finish.

its going to be way cheaper why pay 800 on a solid single din when i can get one just as good for a fraction of the price with a garmin navigation in it

and yes this post belong in this section

audioarsonal
04-28-2008, 06:51 PM
But think of the cost of the modifications to your vehicle.This will take time,money and materials.If your not doing the work yourself it would be more economical to buy a single din unit.
And I know I can find a solid single din for less then $800!

quest51210
04-28-2008, 07:14 PM
thats just dumb cutting out the ac vents why not just mod it to the top and right at the yp of the ac vents

because moving it to the right would pull the touchscreen further away, would require cutting metal behind the dash, and would mess up the symetry of the vehicle. you gotta pay to play.

audioarsonal
04-28-2008, 07:17 PM
Its not worth it.Just get a single din.Your going to have more work then its worth.Just cause the deck is a good deal doesn't mean you should by it if you can't even use it.

jco1385
04-29-2008, 09:46 AM
you could build a box and set it on top of the dash.:sneaky:

doyoshuffle5
04-30-2008, 06:09 PM
the thing is im not buyin it im only trading 2 kicker cvr's and a 1606 hifonics

liqdfire4755
05-01-2008, 10:46 AM
you shouldnt have too much of a problem puttin the double din in there. we have put them in the 07's. there is a flexible bracket behind the factory radio that has two bolts holding it down. the bolts are located under the vent panel at the very top of the dash. once you get this bracket out you shouldnt have any depth issues. as far as changing the single din to double... you would have to trim the face plate that comes off. if your not keeping this vehicle for 20 years. i wouldnt suggest you do this. but there are ways to make these things work. good luck.