PDA

View Full Version : two 8" AERO's or one 12" AERO????



dcole18
04-24-2008, 02:17 PM
as the titile states... im trying to port two 15" 3hp's in the trunk of a 1995 caddilac seville, the trunk is like a **** tank and im trying to figure out a way to get sound into the cabin... i think ive decide to port through the rear deck

ive been thinking i can do

two 8" aero's = 100in of port area and 31" long (34hz)

or

a single 12" aero = 113.5" of port area and 33" long (34hz)


any opinions?

groundpound4200
04-24-2008, 02:19 PM
where are you getting 8" and 12" aeros? I would do the 12" personally...

dcole18
04-24-2008, 02:19 PM
where are you getting 8" and 12" aeros? I would do the 12" personally...

i would make them... i gots teh Glazzin skilz :p:

CRXBMPN
04-24-2008, 02:20 PM
i have 10" pvc pipe here, we did a birch box with four L7 12's and the 10" port :) pix anyone?

dcole18
04-24-2008, 02:22 PM
i have 10" pvc pipe here, we did a birch box with four L7 12's and the 10" port :) pix anyone?

lets see it... but i would have a flared aero

Andrizzle
04-24-2008, 02:23 PM
dcole. any pics of aeros you've made before?

dcole18
04-24-2008, 02:24 PM
dcole. any pics of aeros you've made before?

never made anything bigger than 6"... but its a pretty straight foward process

Andrizzle
04-24-2008, 02:24 PM
I wanna see a 12" aero :[

dcole18
04-24-2008, 02:25 PM
I wanna see a 12" aero :[

depending on the outcome of this thread you just might ;)

dcole18
04-24-2008, 02:29 PM
what if i went with the 12" from the deck down into the box and split the 12" into two 8"s inside the box making a T shape...


say the 12" is 16" long before the split and each 8" is 16" long heading towards the sides of the box


there is a 13" port area difference between the two 8"s and a single 12"... how much would this affect tuning?

AudioXtremes
04-24-2008, 02:35 PM
what if i went with the 12" from the deck down into the box and split the 12" into two 8"s inside the box making a T shape...


say the 12" is 16" long before the split and each 8" is 16" long heading towards the sides of the box


there is a 13" port area difference between the two 8"s and a single 12"... how much would this affect tuning?

NO!

Just do a single 12". The lower the number of ports the better. Plus more square inches than 2 8".


BTW if you need flares bigger than 6" this is the place to go.
http://www.spiralfittings.net/standard%20bellmouth.htm

Zeuslicious
04-24-2008, 05:45 PM
^^^Just like he said, I have a single 11" Aero and works perpect in my daily box. I'll try it in the comp box too.

BrianChia
04-24-2008, 05:56 PM
what about 2 12" aeros?

twisztdauthorit
04-24-2008, 05:57 PM
im in the process of making an 8" aero also..
what method are you using?

dcole18
04-24-2008, 07:38 PM
what about 2 12" aeros?

thats a shitload of port area and each one would have to be 73" long for 34hz tuning :(

dcole18
04-24-2008, 07:39 PM
^^^Just like he said, I have a single 11" Aero and works perpect in my daily box. I'll try it in the comp box too.

so your running a single 11" on those two 15" 4hps?

do i need a 12" then?

MikeyB
04-24-2008, 08:00 PM
Do the 12 and get pics. I would looovvveee to see how to make one :)

I almost attempted but then decided to give up

dcole18
04-24-2008, 08:02 PM
Do the 12 and get pics. I would looovvveee to see how to make one :)

I almost attempted but then decided to give up

i make a form out of staggered circles of mdf/bondo and then use that to make the flair out of glass... ive seen your worklogs, this would be a cakewalk for you


buuut go look at the link posted in here with the flared ends... i think i might just buy some of those

snfsh79077
04-24-2008, 08:05 PM
a guy on here has two ssx 15s with a 12" aero

dcole18
04-24-2008, 08:06 PM
a guy on here has two ssx 15s with a 12" aero

who?

MikeyB
04-24-2008, 08:07 PM
i make a form out of staggered circles of mdf/bondo and then use that to make the flair out of glass... ive seen your worklogs, this would be a cakewalk for you


buuut go look at the link posted in here with the flared ends... i think i might just buy some of those

Yeah Ive seen some tutorials on it, I ended up ditchin the whole round port idea as I would need a bend in it :(

However, Im lovin the rectangular flared ends from that link. I might have to order two. Would work out perfect for my port setup and I was gonna make it out of mdf :eek:

Anyone have any idea on the pricing of those? Couldnt imagine its too bad since its just duct work tubing.....

Unholysavage
04-24-2008, 08:10 PM
Acoupower also makes big aeroports for home theater.
IIRC, they have 7" and 10" aluminum aeroports, but they aren't cheap (~$130 each).

snfsh79077
04-24-2008, 08:24 PM
his name on here is GnFnRs

Mitch86
04-24-2008, 08:45 PM
Hm, never saw a 12" aero...I was thinking of using 8" quick-krete tubes and making a fiberglass flare for my next build...maybe I'll do a 12" though. :D My vote goes to 12"..just cause I wanna see how it turns out.

snfsh79077
04-24-2008, 08:48 PM
do it big and go 12"

bluelceii
04-24-2008, 09:07 PM
Do the 12 and get pics. I would looovvveee to see how to make one :)

x2... I vote they add a "how-to" for stuff like this...

twisztdauthorit
04-24-2008, 09:25 PM
anyone have a link to the tutorials?
cant seem to find em. i used a large styrophoam block and carved it out.. came out alright but a little lopsided

AudioXtremes
04-24-2008, 10:14 PM
Those metal flares are less than 40 a pair.

MikeyB
04-25-2008, 08:57 AM
anyone have a link to the tutorials?
cant seem to find em. i used a large styrophoam block and carved it out.. came out alright but a little lopsided

I can find it when I get home tonight, off to school and work though :(

Wkbdkid
04-25-2008, 11:38 AM
I made a thread on how to make flared aeros. BrianChia posted a pretty koo link. Im gonna try this within the next couple of weeks.

Check this out:

http://www.subwoofer-builder.com/port-flares/Flare36mm.jpg

http://www.subwoofer-builder.com/flares-25mm.htm

Wkbdkid
04-25-2008, 11:43 AM
NO!

Just do a single 12". The lower the number of ports the better. Plus more square inches than 2 8".


BTW if you need flares bigger than 6" this is the place to go.
http://www.spiralfittings.net/standard%20bellmouth.htm
I jus sent them an email on how much pricing a 6" bellmouth would be, but would you happen to know how much 1 of them cost?

CRXBMPN
04-25-2008, 11:49 AM
http://i48.photobucket.com/albums/f242/crxbmpn/100_1452.jpg

http://i48.photobucket.com/albums/f242/crxbmpn/100_1453.jpg

and this is the same port in another vehicle

my buddy built it so its sloppy as all ****

http://i48.photobucket.com/albums/f242/crxbmpn/101_0605.jpg

http://i48.photobucket.com/albums/f242/crxbmpn/headport.jpg

Kenneth10483
04-25-2008, 08:20 PM
what kind of numbers the 4 L7s did with that port?

CRXBMPN
04-28-2008, 12:51 PM
we dont know yet, my buddy blew his MA 4000D before we metered it and I had to pull out the JBL he was using to send to DB_DRAG_SPL for my new Wii :) so now I have two PA A3000D's coming for him. He is going to go to the show this saturday in Mass I think, so I'll know then.

WOT
07-27-2008, 05:28 PM
how big is that freaking port? where would you get something that big? Thats perfect for my setup, I gonna port 4 15's in 14 cubes, need about 240sq/in of port and only have about 20" depth to give up......

JBLCAMRY
07-27-2008, 05:40 PM
http://i228.photobucket.com/albums/ee174/kirbycamry/000_0009-1.jpg

WOT
07-27-2008, 05:43 PM
That box is a beast, complete double baffle...... wow

Where do you get such a huge port? I dont have ALOT of depth to give up, maybe 20" tops, and I need alot of sq /in of port to let 4 15's breathe....

dcole18
07-27-2008, 05:44 PM
lol... i cant belive this thread got brought back to life

delvryboy
07-27-2008, 05:45 PM
you need to flare that focker

JBLCAMRY
07-27-2008, 05:47 PM
you need to flare that focker

me?

Hintzyboy
07-27-2008, 05:56 PM
That box is a beast, complete double baffle...... wow

Where do you get such a huge port? I dont have ALOT of depth to give up, maybe 20" tops, and I need alot of sq /in of port to let 4 15's breathe....

If you only have 20" of depth, you won't be able to run that big of a port. The larger the port, the longer it has to be to get the same tuning

twisztdauthorit
07-27-2008, 05:57 PM
me?

Im quite surprised that it wasnt flared, especially with that double baffle. Just get a nice large roundover bit, im sure even that would help.

JBLCAMRY
07-27-2008, 06:08 PM
Im quite surprised that it wasnt flared, especially with that double baffle. Just get a nice large roundover bit, im sure even that would help.

i did. i just did not take pictures of the finished enclosure.

i will early next week.:D

it is accualy tripple baffle just for that reason.

http://i228.photobucket.com/albums/ee174/kirbycamry/000_0007-1.jpg

twisztdauthorit
07-27-2008, 07:08 PM
i did. i just did not take pictures of the finished enclosure.

i will early next week.:D

it is accualy tripple baffle just for that reason.

http://i228.photobucket.com/albums/ee174/kirbycamry/000_0007-1.jpg


ok now where did you get pvc that big? or would one of those round concrete forms work too?

gotparts90
07-27-2008, 07:40 PM
model rocket builders use cardboard as an inner form then after the carbon fiber sets up the cardboard it soaked in water and peeled out. I think the same technique would work nice for custom ports. I might try it out.

WOT
07-27-2008, 07:54 PM
If you only have 20" of depth, you won't be able to run that big of a port. The larger the port, the longer it has to be to get the same tuning

So what port would I need if I only had 20" or less? Ive got a 37" wide box, so I can fit a few PVC ports side by side as my port. Probably can get ahold of some 6" PVC easily, will this make for shorter ports? Im gonna need alotta sp/in of port though..... dont know how that calculated with a round port..

twisztdauthorit
07-27-2008, 07:59 PM
yes but buying a cement form(made out of thick paper) sounds so much easier.. I think it would bond well with wood glue too being that they are made out of the same resource.???

mazdakid
07-27-2008, 08:00 PM
go to construction sites. thats where i got my 12" pvc

JBLCAMRY
07-27-2008, 08:01 PM
ok now where did you get pvc that big? or would one of those round concrete forms work too?

side of the road. :up2somet:





















but i think they sell it at the local Plumbing supply store.