PDA

View Full Version : The official Alpine W505 thread



bikinpunk
04-16-2008, 12:43 AM
Since I've gotten about 6 PM's asking me about my review on the w505 since people can't reply to that thread, I'm opening up a thread for this unit to be talked about publicly.

Link to review:
http://www.caraudio.com/forum/showthread.php?t=306940&highlight=w505


If you have any questions, or want to discuss the review, feel free to do so here.

jluv
04-22-2008, 11:07 AM
Hooray for the mute button! That (and the visual graphic eq) are the biggest things I missed when switching from the W200 to the W205. At least we got one back. I'm excited about the 7" screen as well. I'm miffed about the Toslink thing, as I've got the H701. Nice find on the Panasonic cable.

Nice review.

Fahqu
04-22-2008, 07:34 PM
Great review. Sorry for being extremely rude, but how much did you pay for the head unit? I didn't see it anywhere in the review. Sorry, if I over looked it. And if anyone is reading and you purchased the W505 as well, what have you guys been paying? Thanks a lot in advance.

meade916
04-22-2008, 07:39 PM
Excellent review and a ****** deck!!

bikinpunk
04-22-2008, 08:14 PM
Great review. Sorry for being extremely rude, but how much did you pay for the head unit? I didn't see it anywhere in the review. Sorry, if I over looked it. And if anyone is reading and you purchased the W505 as well, what have you guys been paying? Thanks a lot in advance.

I paid full MSRP from Crutchfield which was $1000. Could've saved about $150 and gotten it through e-bay, but I wanted the authorized purchase for warranty purposes.

If you're saaavy you can find 'em for less than $800 but it's a toss up. I'd stick with the norms (e-bay, CF).

Supergumby5000
04-22-2008, 08:16 PM
i've been waiting for some info on this! What kind of audio controls does it have? I've been wanting to get a double DIN alpine, but i dont wanna lose all the options my 780mp has (equalizer, etc)

bikinpunk
04-22-2008, 08:20 PM
For basic audio settings you'll have to check the website or CF's site. I can't tell you because it's been connected to my h701 since it's been installed.

Gregger
04-24-2008, 12:20 AM
I have mine installed in my 07 WRX, and LOVE IT! I can't tell you how satisfied I am with this unit. I don't have any other really high end audio stuff, so I can't really review it's sound quality in a meaningful way, but the screen is top notch, the controls are intuitive, and the sound is better out of the box than my x001..I know, big surprise...

I wish I could figure out how to use a background on all my inputs, not just radio.

sierra4x4
05-28-2008, 11:42 PM
I have been researching nav units for about a week straight now. I have changed my preference about 5 times, but I keep coming back to the W505. That said, I have come across every extreme of review and opinion about this unit and every other unit out there. Everyone seems to agree that the Alpine performs its audio/video functions almost perfectly. They rave about the features, the performance, the touch screen quality, etc. What I am not sure on is the performance of the navigation system. Some people love it others hate it. Does anybody have some first hand experience in dealing the IVA-W505 + B200 Blackbird navigation performance?

steveklein
05-29-2008, 03:41 PM
I have been researching nav units for about a week straight now. I have changed my preference about 5 times, but I keep coming back to the W505. That said, I have come across every extreme of review and opinion about this unit and every other unit out there. Everyone seems to agree that the Alpine performs its audio/video functions almost perfectly. They rave about the features, the performance, the touch screen quality, etc. What I am not sure on is the performance of the navigation system. Some people love it others hate it. Does anybody have some first hand experience in dealing the IVA-W505 + B200 Blackbird navigation performance?

I also want to hear about people's opinion of the blackbird. $400+ is a lot to spend on a portable GPS unit. It needs to be top notch if I'm going to throw down that kind of coin for it.

Supergumby5000
05-29-2008, 03:50 PM
I also want to hear about people's opinion of the blackbird. $400+ is a lot to spend on a portable GPS unit. It needs to be top notch if I'm going to throw down that kind of coin for it.

:word:

oh, and for cost purposes for the w505, it can be had from sonicelectronix for $950, who is an authorized Alpine dealer now.

hojo802
06-04-2008, 06:37 PM
I have the W505 installed with the Blackbird II. Before I have used a Megallen 4250 and the Harmon Kardon GPS 810. Let me say this, the blackbird II does not compare to these 2 GPS. But I have to use the BlackBird because I don't extra stuff hanging on my windshield.

First thing, docking the blackbird to the W505 is very simple. Open the face plate and insert. But it is recommended to install the optional antenna to the back of W505. It is the only way to get a excellent reception. Without the antenna, the reception is horrible.

Docking the Blackbird with the W505 does give you the large screen size, but does not increase resolution. Therefore the map looked pixelated.

Calculation of route is fast and accurate. You get choices of fastest time, and less use of freeway. Blackbird does not annouce the street name or freeway. Re-routing is also fast.

Traffic is optional, free for 90 days. It does show you where the traffic is, but somehow it is not as accurate.

Docking the Blackbird also give you the capability of bluetooth handsfree. It connects to your cellphone thru bluetooth, and sync with your phone's phonebook automatically. You can connect the optional mic to the back of the W505 for complete handsfree operation, talk thru mic and hear thru car speaker. And when receiving call or calling someone, it gives you the option to send the call back to the phone for private conversation.

POI searching is not as intuitive, you have to type the exact wording of the place you are searching or it will not come up.

The blackbird does have some good tool. There is a information tool that tells you your speed, how long have you been driving and idling, fastest speed and average speed.

Overall, the blackbird is a good compilment to the W505 if you are like me that don't like extra thing hanging on the windshield. Good GPS overall, but it just does not have the cool features of the Garmin or Magellan.

cash9987
06-07-2008, 06:34 PM
what do you have to do to bypass the w505 so that i can watch ipod videos/music videos and dvd's while driving ? can i just ground a wire or do i need to install a toggle switch ?

steveklein
06-08-2008, 11:16 AM
what do you have to do to bypass the w505 so that i can watch ipod videos/music videos and dvd's while driving ? can i just ground a wire or do i need to install a toggle switch ?


Alpine PAC-TR7 bypass I believe.

cash9987
06-08-2008, 12:13 PM
now would it be the pac tr7 or the tr-7 look at pac's website both tr7 but one has a dash .. i think it is the tr-7.

lostdaytomorrow
06-23-2008, 02:50 PM
Bikinpunk, thanks for the ****** review. Think I might be getting one of these bad boys soon.
Do you have a system diagram anywhere like on DIYMA or something with how you wired up the H701 to the 505. I assume you have your 701 in your false floor but I'm not too sure.

Thanks for the help.

bikinpunk
06-23-2008, 03:21 PM
701 is in false floor.

Is that what you mean by "wired up the 701 to the 505"?

lostdaytomorrow
06-23-2008, 05:30 PM
701 is in false floor.

Is that what you mean by "wired up the 701 to the 505"?
I just didn't know if it was an AI-Net cord or which wires went from the 701 to the 505. Do you have to run all the speaker wires to the 701 or what's the deal with that?

lilmaniac2
06-23-2008, 05:32 PM
Mine will be here wednesday, along with the pac bypass and xm direct connect and all needed install accessories

FTW

lilmaniac2
06-23-2008, 05:34 PM
I paid full MSRP from Crutchfield which was $1000. Could've saved about $150 and gotten it through e-bay, but I wanted the authorized purchase for warranty purposes.

If you're saaavy you can find 'em for less than $800 but it's a toss up. I'd stick with the norms (e-bay, CF).


I got mine from CF too, after googling the net I found about $250 in coupon codes to try and I think about half of them worked and saved me enough to justify ordering it through crutchfield and having the piece of mind that it will arrive on wednesday with everything needed to install

bikinpunk
06-23-2008, 06:46 PM
I just didn't know if it was an AI-Net cord or which wires went from the 701 to the 505. Do you have to run all the speaker wires to the 701 or what's the deal with that?


The only thing you have to run to the h701 from the headunit is the ai-net cable. If you want digital sound you also run a digital cable, too. But, you don't have to have digital to get playback.

The 701 is great because it also has a remote out on it's power harness that will turn on your amps. Also, if you put it near your amps you can use short RCAs instead of running them all the way down your car.

AtomicLabRat
07-21-2008, 12:14 AM
How hard is it to hook up a PAC-TR7 bypass?

I am going to put one of htese in a miata.

AtomicLabRat
07-21-2008, 12:33 AM
Another stupid question, is there a cover available to disguise the face plate and deter theft?

AtomicLabRat
07-22-2008, 02:23 AM
OK, I suppose that my questions weren't up to the high standards of this board.

Will a shop hook up a PAC TR-7 or is that a user installed option only.

bikinpunk
07-22-2008, 09:28 AM
if you can wire a headunit you can wire a pac

jluv
07-22-2008, 01:38 PM
The Toslink cables finally came in from Alpine. Mine hit the shop last week. It's about time!

I've had this thing sitting in my bedroom now for almost two months. I should have it installed soon.

bikinpunk
07-22-2008, 02:27 PM
I don't see it online yet, though. PM me your price. I may pick one up from you.

jluv
07-22-2008, 03:39 PM
I don't see it online yet, though. PM me your price. I may pick one up from you.

PM sent.

bikinpunk
07-22-2008, 04:09 PM
box was full. cleared now

jluv
07-22-2008, 05:09 PM
box was full. cleared now

Resent.

AtomicLabRat
07-22-2008, 05:18 PM
if you can wire a headunit you can wire a pac

I was hopiong to not have to open the dash up. Just too ****ed busy to mess wth it unless I absolutely have to.

AtomicLabRat
07-26-2008, 01:14 AM
I had the IV-w505 installed yesterday in my Miata along with the PAC TR-7. I have been reading the book that is the typical Alpine manual and I can see that the PAC TR-7 is a must have for this unit.

The IPOD functionality is worth the money that the unit cost. It is intuitive and wroks well with my IPOD.

ON BACKGROUNDS:

How do you download new backgrounds?

What formats can you use for a background if you want to make your own?

Are their any backgrounds available online?

lilmaniac2
07-26-2008, 01:14 AM
cant make them on your own, kinda *****.

AtomicLabRat
07-26-2008, 01:19 AM
OK, found this from the review thread and a google search: http://i-personalize.alpine.com/i-Personalize/nam/user_regist_input.html

http://http://www.pride-rock.com/forum/apnlist.php

AtomicLabRat
07-26-2008, 01:35 AM
So how many background (.apn) files can you hve on the CD-ROM?

How many can be uploaded?

bikinpunk
07-26-2008, 10:54 AM
You can only have 2 different backgrounds, but you can put as many as you want on a disc. Just can't download more than 2 to the headunit.

AtomicLabRat
07-26-2008, 11:34 AM
Thanks, ill take some photos and post them later.

I also found the priderocklabs site thanks to your review.

AtomicLabRat
07-26-2008, 02:40 PM
I'm having an issue uploading the background tothe W505.

How long does the unit take to read the CD ROM?

An aside . . . . when I attempted to upload the first time, it changed a setting somewhere and my display now blacks out after 30 seconds.

Any advice?

shadowjack1965
06-18-2009, 06:39 PM
Thought it better to resurrect an old thread that applies to my question than create a new one; I tried a search but didn't find any similar questions so I apologize if I'm duplicating.

I installed the W505 in my 2006 Impala (non Bose, non-OnStar). My previous GPS unit (Pioneer AVIC-N3) worked fine with my Scosche GM21SR, (their version of the GMOS-LAN-01), which extended the parking brake and speed sensor to the head unit install, eliminating the need to run these cables to the parking brake sensor and speed sensor wire. With the W505 this isn't working.

I plan on buying the Pac TR-7 for the video bypass, so my questions are:

1. Do I even need the GM21SR with the Pac TR-7?
2. With the Pac TR-7 do I still need to connect to the vehicle's parking brake and speed sensor wires?

Thanks in advance!

Jack

jluv
06-19-2009, 11:14 AM
To get the head unit to function properly, the answer to both of your questions is no. Not being familiar with the first part you mentioned, I don't know if you need it for something on your vehicle to function properly. Anyway, the W505 and TR7 together should do everything you want that head unit to do.

shadowjack1965
06-19-2009, 12:08 PM
JLUV,

I think you're right, the guy on eBay I bought the TR-7 from said this:

"That gm21sr is not going to work on the alpine. The pioneers need 2 pulses on one brake wire where the alpine need multiple pulses on 2 brake wires..."

The GM21SR is Scosche's version of the GMOS-LAN-01 (which is I believe Metra's part number). This device allows installers to bypass having to hook up the parking brake and speed sensor wire as the connections are routed through this part. These units are usually needed in late model cars that use OnStar or are wired for OnStar.

Thanks for your feedback!