PDA

View Full Version : Testing the RCA preouts using DMM?



Weeznur32
04-15-2008, 07:06 PM
How exactly do i test the pre outs using a DMM to make sure they are sending a signal. Do i set the DMM to AC? Do i stick the probe inside the pre outs? Thanks

Weeznur32
04-15-2008, 07:19 PM
anyone?

audioarsonal
04-15-2008, 07:22 PM
Set DMM to ACV put the red lead inside the rca hole and touch the black lead to the outside.

Weeznur32
04-15-2008, 07:31 PM
hmm thats exactly what im doing and i get 0 yet i KNOW the rca pre outs are sending a signal because the amp that the RCA's go to is working.

Just my luck today...****

audioarsonal
04-15-2008, 07:33 PM
Is your DMM set to ACV or ACA?What volume are you checking at.If its just a regular deck you won't see much till the vol is up.

djman37
04-15-2008, 07:36 PM
Set DMM to ACV put the red lead inside the rca hole and touch the black lead to the outside.


hmm thats exactly what im doing and i get 0 yet i KNOW the rca pre outs are sending a signal because the amp that the RCA's go to is working.

Just my luck today...****

use TONES. Music may not have sustained voltage for your meter to read.

Weeznur32
04-15-2008, 07:37 PM
its ACV im pretty sure cuz it has this sign : V~. I was on like volume 20 out of 35. Wasnt playing a test tone though..not sure if that matters.

Weeznur32
04-15-2008, 07:37 PM
use TONES. Music may not have sustained voltage for your meter to read.

**** answered my question before i asked it...ill do that.

djman37
04-15-2008, 07:41 PM
fluke manual
http://assets.fluke.com/manuals/80v_____umeng0100.pdf

audioarsonal
04-15-2008, 08:19 PM
Even without tones you should still get a reading.Although it will flucuate with the freq. being played.If your just trying to get a reading you'll be fine.