PDA

View Full Version : Help with daily box in Maxima



notoriousroc1
04-14-2008, 12:07 AM
I am planning on running two 12" Type-R's ported at 33Hz in the trunk of my 2001 Maxima. If someone could design an enclosure for me, I'd greatly appreciate it.

My max external dimensions are:
39"W
16"H
15"D

Again, it's 2 12" Alpine Type-R's tuned to 33Hz, built for SQL. Thanks!:D

notoriousroc1
04-15-2008, 09:18 PM
no help guys?:crying::crying:

miker
04-15-2008, 09:24 PM
I could do a quick design, but just so you know... Space will not be optimal for 2 12" R's..

galacticmonkey
04-15-2008, 09:29 PM
I could. See signature.

psych0ticnemes1
04-16-2008, 11:01 AM
I'll give it a go. I had two Type Rs in the back of my hatch in 5 cubes with a big 5 inch port and they fit snug. PM me if interested. I'll do it for free.

psych0ticnemes1
04-16-2008, 11:47 AM
Your max dims are very small for two Rs. Why not use one?

Propimp
04-16-2008, 08:34 PM
make sure it will fit INTO the trunk and dont just take measurements of the inside thinking you can fit it... I just made that mistake :(

Kenneth10483
04-16-2008, 09:09 PM
Id go with 36x16x15 subs up with 2 4" aero ports pointing to the drivers side of the trunk. Place the enclosure as far back as possible. Thats good enought airspace for those subs should be good for both SQL and SPL might not do so good on the meter being tuned that low but will have a tight responce.

notoriousroc1
04-16-2008, 10:48 PM
hmmm..it was either the 2 R's or one HDC312. its about 5 cubes gross though. I'm thinking the HDC might be better for this size???

and yes, this box size is the max of what would fit into a 2000-2003 Maxima trunk

Kenneth10483
04-16-2008, 10:52 PM
1.75 ported is enough per sub for those 12s If you decide to go with the HDC I wouldnt do anywhere close to a 5cub box for it I would do a 1.75-2.25 with a 6" port ask Skip01 he did a box for 1 and it was not big at all mostly just big enough to fit the sub and port in..

psych0ticnemes1
04-17-2008, 10:07 AM
Do you want to build a slot or round ported box? Round ports might be the way to go because it will significantly reduce the overall size of the box...

notoriousroc1
04-17-2008, 10:55 PM
i would prefer to build a slot box, cause the guy building it for me, will just cut the wood for $20 and help me assemble it. but if i could fit 2 r's with a aero port i think i would do that instead

Keith H
04-17-2008, 11:16 PM
Hey, I had 2 12" R's in the back of my '03 Max. I had them enclosed in a Q-Logic type 3 ported box (1.75L each side). It quaked! Sounded excellent too.

notoriousroc1
04-18-2008, 12:32 AM
hmmm, thanks for the input. i won't be doing a pre-fab. but knowing that that size will fit is good. i'm trying to squeeze out all 5 cubes though.