PDA

View Full Version : 4 apline type r's



hittin_hard
04-13-2008, 09:49 PM
4 alpine type r's and i need a box that'll fit in a cobalt. anybody know of box dimensions so i can build one that'll sound good. 12height x 30 width x 30depth are the trunk dimensions

revrider1
04-13-2008, 09:51 PM
what size subs? thats gonna be kinda hard to do?

hittin_hard
04-13-2008, 09:54 PM
10's

XxAkroNyMxX
04-13-2008, 09:57 PM
you could make it work sealed, but you would be better off with 2 ported.

wheeler8921
04-13-2008, 09:57 PM
ported or sealed?

hittin_hard
04-13-2008, 09:58 PM
ported if possible, but sealed if the ported boxes wont fit. i want people to be able to hear me comin

hittin_hard
04-13-2008, 10:11 PM
2 ported as in 2 separate ported boxes with 2 subs in each??

tukn18s
04-13-2008, 10:12 PM
ported if possible, but sealed if the ported boxes wont fit. i want people to be able to hear me comin

people will hear you coming with 4 sealed pretty sure of it.:confused:

dbhittin
04-13-2008, 10:13 PM
thats gonna be a small ported box

hittin_hard
04-13-2008, 10:16 PM
they would be small boxes, cause i know ported are louder, its just a matter of finding dimensions to where i can make a ported box small enough that will be loud enough

revrider1
04-13-2008, 10:18 PM
its gonne be very hard to do 4 10s ported in such small area

pickup1
04-13-2008, 10:21 PM
ported if possible, but sealed if the ported boxes wont fit. i want people to be able to hear me comin


just do 2 -15's.:p:

hittin_hard
04-13-2008, 10:23 PM
i already got the 4 10's though and 15's would be to big for my car

Lingerfelt
04-13-2008, 10:35 PM
I had two 12" R's in a prefab ported box in my girlfriend's Ion (which I assume has practically the same trunk space, being the same car).

The dual ported prefab was difficult enough to get into the trunk, I think you'll have a difficult time trying to squeeze four tens in there.

hittin_hard
04-13-2008, 10:40 PM
with my car the trunk space is fine, but the openings to get in the trunk are really small. so most prefab boxes are to big to fit in my trunk

snb778
04-13-2008, 10:46 PM
Had 4 12" type R's in my avalon.... HIGHLY doubt you can get them in a cobalt... we literally had to beat the trunk with a sledge hammer in some spots to make the boxes fit

Heres my log http://www.caraudio.com/forum/showthread.php?t=124117&highlight=avalon

http://img396.imageshack.us/img396/2152/pic1iq5.th.jpg (http://img396.imageshack.us/my.php?image=pic1iq5.jpg)

http://img297.imageshack.us/img297/4075/pic2if5.th.jpg (http://img297.imageshack.us/my.php?image=pic2if5.jpg)

tommyk90
04-13-2008, 10:49 PM
4 10's ported would be d*mn near impossible. You could probably do 3 ported, but thats it.

4 10's sealed should get plenty loud in such a small car though.

babaganoush123
04-13-2008, 10:51 PM
why dont u do 3rs?

hittin_hard
04-13-2008, 10:55 PM
cause i already got 4. ive been checkin with some people on designs for 4

snb778
04-13-2008, 10:57 PM
NOW... i have 2 15's...and they are MUCH louder... although the boxes werent built right for the 4 12's

hittin_hard
04-13-2008, 11:01 PM
ive been using the drafting program from google and ive been using different box calculators to come up with some way to make the boxes fit and to where they have the right frequency and sound right

tommyk90
04-13-2008, 11:03 PM
ive been using the drafting program from google and ive been using different box calculators to come up with some way to make the boxes fit and to where they have the right frequency and sound right

Don't waste your time man.

With the dimensions you listed, thats a MAXIMUM of 5 cubes. That doesn't include any sub or port displacement. For a ported application, you're looking at a minimum of ~1.25 cubes per sub AFTER displacement. That's already 5 cubes right there. Factor in port and sub displacement and you're looking at more like 6-6.5 cubes MINIMUM.

You just don't have the space to fit 4 10's ported.

king ranch
04-13-2008, 11:05 PM
u r looking at 4.9 before any sub and port displacement with the dimensions you gave

heres the maunfactures specs
Sealed Box Volume: 0.5 - .8 cubic ft
Ported Box Volume: 0.6 - 1.25 cubic ft

you are looking at 1.2 cu ft per sub before any displacement at all so no way ported unless you have a supersmall aero port box but i would just go with 4 of them sealed or 2 ported and put alot of power to them

bluelceii
04-13-2008, 11:05 PM
I have 4 15s in my accord...... I also no longer have a back seat..... 12.228 cubes tuned to 34. Box IS below the window line too...
http://img134.imageshack.us/img134/3400/yuphr8.jpg (http://imageshack.us)
you get the idea.....

king ranch
04-13-2008, 11:11 PM
only way to go ported is give each sub 1cu ft net and do aeroport so you will have right around 1cu ft for aero and sub displacement which can easily be done

use a 6" aero and tune the box to 34hz will give you 28" of port area and the aero displacement will be .18 then i am not sure but guessing each sub is around .06-.08 for displacement just say .08 thats .32 also

so .32+.18=.50 displacement so that would work and leave around 4.4-4.5 which will give each sub about 1.1net so thats about the only way but i would go 2 ported or 3 tops or 4 sealed

tommyk90
04-13-2008, 11:14 PM
only way to go ported is give each sub 1cu ft net and do aeroport so you will have right around 1cu ft for aero and sub displacement which can easily be done

use a 6" aero and tune the box to 34hz will give you 28" of port area and the aero displacement will be .18 then i am not sure but guessing each sub is around .06-.08 for displacement just say .08 thats .32 also

so .32+.18=.50 displacement so that would work and leave around 4.4-4.5 which will give each sub about 1.1net so thats about the only way but i would go 2 ported or 3 tops or 4 sealed

one 6" aero isn't sufficient port area for 4 10's. 2 is the minimum I would do.

I wouldn't put type-rs in 1 cube ported either. 1.25 is about as small as I would go.

I6pwr
04-13-2008, 11:16 PM
I just finished putting (ONE) 10" type-R in the LOML's jetta in a sealed box. Believe me...you won't need 4 for others to hear you coming. Save the frustration and build for 2 ported 10 inchers.

The single 10" really pounds hard, anymore and I will need some loctite :p:

You could sell the other two or save them for another project.

hittin_hard
04-13-2008, 11:26 PM
i just drew 4 spearate vented boxes at 1.3 cubic ft at 35hz. and it looks like it'll fit. anyone think that size box will work for a type r??

tommyk90
04-13-2008, 11:28 PM
i just drew 4 spearate vented boxes at 1.3 cubic ft at 35hz. and it looks like it'll fit. anyone think that size box will work for a type r??

How in the world did you get 4 separate boxes to fit in there? What are the dimensions?

hittin_hard
04-13-2008, 11:31 PM
each box is 12.5depthx14heightx21width. and it has a 22" L shaped vent at 1.5" wide

tommyk90
04-13-2008, 11:35 PM
each box is 12.5depthx14heightx21width. and it has a 22" L shaped vent at 1.5" wide

And how are the subs and ports going to fire?

I don't understand how you went from one box that was 12x30x30 to 4 separate boxes that are substantially larger in terms of total size.

king ranch
04-13-2008, 11:36 PM
for real i am lost in the 4 seperate boxes being way bigger than the max dimensions he gave and that makes no sense if you have room for 4 seperate boxes go with one it will give more airspace

but you do what you want

hittin_hard
04-13-2008, 11:37 PM
all of them are firing up. i was wanting to leave room so i could get my spare tire out. but i decided not to do that. so i went out and remeasured and got the most room out of my trunk as i could

tommyk90
04-13-2008, 11:39 PM
all of them are firing up. i was wanting to leave room so i could get my spare tire out. but i decided not to do that. so i went out and remeasured and got the most room out of my trunk as i could

I still think that 4 sealed will give sufficient results.

Otherwise, 2-3 10's ported. Any more and you're shoving 10 pounds of crap in a 5 pound bag.

I'm not a fan of everything firing up either. Never seen a loud trunk setup that had everything firing up.

king ranch
04-13-2008, 11:39 PM
wats the most room you have meausrement wise

hittin_hard
04-13-2008, 11:41 PM
i'll just go in to our towns scosche dealer and have him just customize my trunk and make it work

king ranch
04-14-2008, 12:30 AM
you do that and make sure you take about 4k dollars with you so you can get some pyle subs and legacy amps and dont forget the caps you will need

king ranch
04-14-2008, 12:35 AM
nvm his system setup says it all with a cap and a 3000watt boss amp

notoriousroc1
04-14-2008, 12:37 AM
nvm his system setup says it all with a cap and a 3000watt boss amp

yup, the only thing thats missing is the audiobling's and a sticker to add 10db's:cool:

BrianChia
04-14-2008, 01:44 AM
what you want to do if you want to use all 4 subs is to use Isobarik loading. It will cut the required airspace needed by 1/4. Sensitivity will be reduced, but it is the only practical option if you insist on using all 4 subs.

http://img341.imageshack.us/img341/6011/215isobarik16cf31hzbjc3.png

tommyk90
04-14-2008, 01:51 AM
what you want to do if you want to use all 4 subs is to use Isobarik loading. It will cut the required airspace needed by 1/4. Sensitivity will be reduced, but it is the only practical option if you insist on using all 4 subs.

http://img341.imageshack.us/img341/6011/215isobarik16cf31hzbjc3.png

Only question with using an isobaric setup is if he has the clearance to have a sub inverse mounted.

With the height of the enclosures only being 12-12.5", I would have to say that inverse mounting a sub on top of another would be pretty impossible, even with a reduced enclosure height.

Type-r's have a 7" mounting depth, so not even including the enclosure itself and the spacer between the subs we are already talking about 14" of height. Overall, it's probably going to end up being closer to 17-18" factoring in the enclosure and spacer.

Now if he can mount them isborically with the subs facing forward, that might be a legitimate option.

Frankly, I think he would be better off just doing 2-3 ported or 4 sealed.

BrianChia
04-14-2008, 02:33 AM
Sorry, that picture is misleading. He should not be firing up in a trunk car in the first place. There is enough room to do either a clamshell or piggyback loading firing front or rear.

http://img384.imageshack.us/img384/7434/ehqsfront2et9.jpg

miker
04-14-2008, 07:29 AM
The only thing with the idea of using separate boxes is that he could fill his entire trunk, front to back...

tommyk90
04-14-2008, 12:22 PM
Sorry, that picture is misleading. He should not be firing up in a trunk car in the first place. There is enough room to do either a clamshell or piggyback loading firing front or rear.

http://img384.imageshack.us/img384/7434/ehqsfront2et9.jpg

With an enclosure like that, whats the point of running 4 subs? :)

I think the OP is trying to get 4 10's in his trunk so he can pop it open and go "I got fo 10's in dis bish". 2 10's properly ported will get plenty loud in a trunk car. If he can get 3 in there, it would only get better.

I built a simple enclosure for a pair of crunch groundpounder 12's and a 20.1 @ 1 ohm (~1200 watts in his setup) and it would do 145's on the dash in the 40 hz range.

basshedz06
04-14-2008, 05:52 PM
dude listen to these guys they know wht they are talking about, man just run 2 type r's with about 1500 to 2000 watts going into them and it will be hella loud truss me, my wife has 2 of those same 10's in a concorde and it bangs for 1200 watts tuned to liike 38 hz. i would say do 2 10's or 3. now i could do 4 in my trunk a 98 altima, but i have to put my subs in first then put the box in my trunk and risk f**kin up my subs but why when i could be just as loud with 2 12's or 3. but do what u want its yor ride but i still say do 2 and u will still have room in your trunk to get your spare tire out

david

82 cutlass
04-14-2008, 11:44 PM
If you don't mind cutting some metal around the rear seat going into the trunk you will get some more room for a wider and taller box . You should be able to get enough room for a ported box . Build 2 boxes 36 x 14 x 14 . Port 12.5 x 3 x 26 . Tuned to 35 hz. That will be 1.25 ea. ported