PDA

View Full Version : Can I use front and rear channels of head unit for fronts instead of powering w/ amp?



elmor001
04-13-2008, 08:31 PM
I'm thinking of running rsdc 6.5's off of both the front and rear channels of my pioneer head unit instead of running an amp. Is this a terrible idea? Would it be just the same as shifting the the sound to the front using the head unit controls?

revrider1
04-13-2008, 08:33 PM
Poor Control

elmor001
04-13-2008, 08:34 PM
So would that be the only problem?

revrider1
04-13-2008, 08:35 PM
Id say underpowered also, but yeah

elmor001
04-13-2008, 08:41 PM
ok thanks

revrider1
04-13-2008, 08:43 PM
It should work though

benchambers80
04-13-2008, 08:43 PM
Probably sound like ****. Just save up 80$ and buy a decent used 4ch if you must have rear fill. When you see the light you can bridge it.

mlstrass
04-14-2008, 12:46 AM
It is NOT recommended to bridge the amp in a HU. 12volt has a write up on it. Just buy an inexpensive amp to power them. I've had good luck with Profile and there's several others that will do the job on a budget...

elmor001
04-14-2008, 11:04 AM
Probably sound like ****. Just save up 80$ and buy a decent used 4ch if you must have rear fill. When you see the light you can bridge it.

I don't want rear fill that's the whole point of taking the power that would go to the rear speakers and adding them to the front

elmor001
04-14-2008, 11:09 AM
It is NOT recommended to bridge the amp in a HU. 12volt has a write up on it. Just buy an inexpensive amp to power them. I've had good luck with Profile and there's several others that will do the job on a budget...

haha I know this sounds bad, but do you think an older "Dual" amplifier would be alright for this job? It's one like this http://www.amazon.com/Dual-XAF460-Channel-Amplifier-Supplies/dp/B00012O6NO

I already have it and can't sell it, so I might as well use it

benchambers80
04-14-2008, 11:10 AM
You can bridge the H/U if you want to buy a new H/U and amplifier.

elmor001
04-14-2008, 11:18 AM
You can bridge the H/U if you want to buy a new H/U and amplifier.

Are you even reading? First I never said I wanted rear fill. And second if you look at my last post, you can see that I'm thinking about using my old amp. My original question was answered on the 5th post.

nismos14
04-14-2008, 02:26 PM
It was a joke, did you read HIS post?


And NO you can't do it.

elmor001
04-14-2008, 02:53 PM
Oh thanks for explaining it to me. It's people like nismo and benchambers that make this site great........ SARCASM

nismos14
04-14-2008, 02:59 PM
Lawl at some of the people in this freakin forum.