PDA

View Full Version : power to boston pro 60's



JLBAMA
04-09-2008, 10:03 PM
What is the maximum amount of power you would put on a set of boston pro 60's? Around 250 is what i'm planning on putting to them but i can put more if they can handle it or would i be just fine to leave it around 250. Also, my amp i'm planning to get is a 2ohm or 4ohm and of course the pro 60's are 3ohm so which way do i wire it?This one is confusing me a lot. Any comments are appreciated.

R05Nismo
04-09-2008, 10:56 PM
My amps does 100X2 at 4ohms and 200X2 at 2ohms so mine are getting 150rms per side and they can get very loud and clean. Depends where your crossover is set also. If you plan on giving them that much per side becareful with your settings.

JLBAMA
04-09-2008, 11:57 PM
do you have it wired for a 2ohm or 4ohm load?

tcguy85
04-09-2008, 11:58 PM
if they are 3 ohm then they are 3 ohm. its that simple.

snb778
04-10-2008, 12:04 AM
here...we....go

tcguy85
04-10-2008, 12:08 AM
^ huh?

IgnoreMe
04-10-2008, 10:16 PM
i have a 300w @ 4 ohm amp with gains set to 300 @ 3 ohms using a -3db test tone. im telling you right now, you WILL be disappointed if you think you're going to get loud with the rms wattage going to these speakers.

although they sound great, they are power hungry as ****. my friends cdt comps get just as loud IMO, with half the power....

R05Nismo
04-10-2008, 11:05 PM
i have a 300w @ 4 ohm amp with gains set to 300 @ 3 ohms using a -3db test tone. im telling you right now, you WILL be disappointed if you think you're going to get loud with the rms wattage going to these speakers.

although they sound great, they are power hungry as ****. my friends cdt comps get just as loud IMO, with half the power....

You have 300 per side??:eek: I have a Phoenix Gold Ti400.2 on mine and they can louder than I will ever listen to them.

IgnoreMe
04-11-2008, 11:29 PM
You have 300 per side??:eek: I have a Phoenix Gold Ti400.2 on mine and they can louder than I will ever listen to them.

yes, however, their inefficiency is retarded IMO. they sound great, but at times, i think i could of got speakers that needed a lot less power. meh, whatever.

CrossFired
04-12-2008, 02:25 PM
What is the maximum amount of power you would put on a set of boston pro 60's? Around 250 is what i'm planning on putting to them but i can put more if they can handle it or would i be just fine to leave it around 250. Also, my amp i'm planning to get is a 2ohm or 4ohm and of course the pro 60's are 3ohm so which way do i wire it?This one is confusing me a lot. Any comments are appreciated.

The woofer is 3 but the tweet is 6. together with the crossover that come out to a working load of 4.

I did a pair for a friend with a 4x50 amp running active and it worked out great!

with the driver loads on the 4x50 watt amp, it came out to be 80watts per woofer and 30watts per tweeter. amp was a crossfire vr404.

The pro's got real loud with this set up and a year later he's still lovin it!;)

CrossFired
04-12-2008, 02:27 PM
i have a 300w @ 4 ohm amp with gains set to 300 @ 3 ohms using a -3db test tone. im telling you right now, you WILL be disappointed if you think you're going to get loud with the rms wattage going to these speakers.

although they sound great, they are power hungry as ****. my friends cdt comps get just as loud IMO, with half the power....

He's right! the crossovers **** a bunch of power! when running active, they need a fraction of the power.

IgnoreMe
04-13-2008, 01:46 PM
He's right! the crossovers **** a bunch of power! when running active, they need a fraction of the power.

i will definitely keep that in mind for down the road.

dontrevme
04-14-2008, 03:46 AM
More headroom the better.

mikey7182
04-14-2008, 05:10 AM
I think if you bi-amp them, you get individual driver loads... so 3 ohm load off the 2 channels powering the mids, and 6 ohm loads on the channels driving the tweeters. I could be wrong though. I sold my set to R05Nismo :D I was running ~225w/side to them and they took it flawlessly.

lostdaytomorrow
05-09-2008, 11:18 PM
Do any of you guys have a HPF set on these on the amp, or did you all just let the crossover do the high passing on the mid? Mine don't seem to like the mid-bass very well for some reason.

bamaboy
05-09-2008, 11:31 PM
theres your problem, the crossover is not gonna highpass the woofer:fyi:

it will lowpass at around 3-4k i think it was, you need to set a highpass x'over to around 60-80hz depending on how your setup is, components are NOT meant to play bass, midbass yes, deep bass no...

lostdaytomorrow
05-09-2008, 11:35 PM
theres your problem, the crossover is not gonna highpass the woofer:fyi:

it will lowpass at around 3-4k i think it was, you need to set a highpass x'over to around 60-80hz depending on how your setup is, components are NOT meant to play bass, midbass yes, deep bass no...
I have a HPF on the mid, 150 hz. Any lower and they'll bottom out fairly easily. I've never ran them hard and just listened to them bottom out over and over. 80 is still way too low for mine for some reason. Doors are fully deadened/sealed.

bamaboy
05-09-2008, 11:44 PM
yea, i had to leave mine up high like 150-180, i got a 3sixty.2 now and its set at 100hz but at 24db slope, so it works alot better

dont matter because im about to change out to a set of hertz mlk2's sans the x'over and run active, needs to hurry up and get to the store so i can do some glassing