PDA

View Full Version : 96 Toyota Camry



thegage
04-08-2008, 08:30 PM
I have been working on my system for a while now and finally got it working and took some pictures. Although I am not even close to being done with my car. I will be making custom kick panels in the front and adding door speakers to the back. I will also be sound deadening the entire car.

http://i239.photobucket.com/albums/ff231/gageoyoung/100_0006_00.jpg
Heres my amp, a Rockford P550.2, I am just using it as a temp. I will be linking two 2k mono amps to power my 15" 4k watt MA Audio HK15X2
http://i239.photobucket.com/albums/ff231/gageoyoung/100_0011_01.jpg
My new high amp alternator, my old one made about 75 amps. This ones 160 amps
http://i239.photobucket.com/albums/ff231/gageoyoung/100_0021_00.jpg
Got my new alt in and upgraded my big 3.
http://i239.photobucket.com/albums/ff231/gageoyoung/100_0022_00.jpg
Another pic of my wiring, also just got an optima
http://i239.photobucket.com/albums/ff231/gageoyoung/100_0023_01.jpg
Where all my wiring meets up
http://i239.photobucket.com/albums/ff231/gageoyoung/100_0016_00.jpg
Pic of my car
http://i239.photobucket.com/albums/ff231/gageoyoung/100_0018_00.jpg
Heres my trunk, its very ghetto at the moment
http://i239.photobucket.com/albums/ff231/gageoyoung/100_0020_00.jpg
My 15" Ma Audio HK15X2. You guys dont even know how hard it was to get that HUGE box in my trunk. Lets just say I dont have a spare tire any more lol
http://i239.photobucket.com/albums/ff231/gageoyoung/100_0019_00.jpg
Another of my ghetto setup, Ill be carpeting everything and making an amp rack when I get my new amps.
http://i239.photobucket.com/albums/ff231/gageoyoung/100_0017_00.jpg
Heres all the wiring... Yeah I know its very messy but Its going to be hot once I get some more cash.

Let me know what you think! Ill be posting pics up as I start to pretty everything up and maybe a video even though my camera *****. My amp is only putting out maybe 1600 watts with my gain all the way up and it still bombs my head and shakes windows. Im almost afraid to fully power my sub with the 4k watts it wants lol.

Enellz
04-08-2008, 08:42 PM
Looks good. Hope you can fit your spare some place else!

Punk In Drublic
04-08-2008, 11:26 PM
I have a white 96 Lexus Es 300, basically the same car.. how easy was your alternator to change out?

djmadfx
04-08-2008, 11:33 PM
I'm in the process of rebuilding my setup. What are the measurements on your box? Where did you purchase the alternator? I think I'm going to need to purchase one soon with the stuff I'm dreaming up. I'm planning on my next setup having a ported 15" subwoofer instead of two 15" ones.

The Camry trunk is a pain with getting a box in there. Believe me, I know... I have 2 for my 15s. I ended up over stuffing my trunk, so I'm sure that I lost some bass in the process.

Millertime1028
04-09-2008, 12:13 AM
Hey man , where did you buy the alt ?

steveyhustle
04-09-2008, 12:22 AM
Hey man , where did you buy the alt ?

^x2

James Bang
04-09-2008, 12:56 AM
Cool. We have the same car, but we went different directions with out audio.

here's my log: http://www.caraudio.com/forum/showthread.php?t=263953

thegage
04-09-2008, 01:22 AM
I got my alternator for $200 shipped on ebay and the guys store name is "more_amps".

Also the alternator was very easy to install, it took me about an hour and a half to install the alt and do my big 3 upgrade.

thegage
04-09-2008, 01:28 AM
Also my box is 17.5 "Height, 30" With, and 21" Depth. I had to take out my spare tire to get it in, and then I had to build a trunk floor out of 1/4" wood, and cut it into 6" Pieces and slide it under the box.

djmadfx
04-09-2008, 01:43 AM
Also my box is 17.5 "Height, 30" With, and 21" Depth. I had to take out my spare tire to get it in, and then I had to build a trunk floor out of 1/4" wood, and cut it into 6" Pieces and slide it under the box.Wow, that sounds like a chore. What's the box size (cubes) and tuning?

thegage
04-09-2008, 11:28 AM
I thinks its roughly 4.7 cubes tuned to 34 hz

Millertime1028
04-09-2008, 03:42 PM
I got my alternator for $200 shipped on ebay and the guys store name is "more_amps".

Also the alternator was very easy to install, it took me about an hour and a half to install the alt and do my big 3 upgrade.

Thanks man ...

dleccord
04-09-2008, 03:44 PM
nice camry. the white on gold color is pimp.

djmadfx
04-09-2008, 04:22 PM
I got my alternator for $200 shipped on ebay and the guys store name is "more_amps".

Also the alternator was very easy to install, it took me about an hour and a half to install the alt and do my big 3 upgrade.I was looking at that guy's auctions. It doesn't seem like he lists the idle amperage like Irragi does in his auctions.

thegage
04-09-2008, 07:27 PM
Yeah it isint listed but if I had to guess judging on how my lights dim towards my amplifier id say the cold idle amperage is around 120-135, and when im driving it like 160-180. My lights dont dim at all when im driving and so slightly you can barely tell when im idle.

skydeaner
04-09-2008, 08:18 PM
If your lights are dimming now, how the hell do you think you are going to support 4kw? I have a toyota matrix and now have an 170a alt from ohio gen (with the readouts to prove it) I have a high capacity battery under the hood and I am running (a total of all my amps) 2000wrms and it is just BARELY enough to keep up. You are going to be running double that. I think you might have problems in store. Very similar charging systems we have. I have upgraded my big three with 1/0 also.

I know a bigger alt is probably out of the question (because higher output alts for toyotas are scarce, i had a hard enough time getting mine at a decent price), but you might want to talk to some of the other guys around here on what your other options are.

thegage
04-09-2008, 08:23 PM
Well like I said, the lights only dim when my car is idle, and I also dont have a cap... But I dont disagree with you, I will have some trouble with powering the 4k watts. Ill worry about that when I have the new amps, which wont be for a few more weeks =P

Also like you mentioned, high amp alts are very hard to find for camrys and I have never even heard of anything over 180 amps for one. The only option I can think of would be getting a battery in the back and a cap, or getting a new car lol

skateboardkid
04-09-2008, 08:51 PM
dont get a cap ever, get another battery.

thegage
04-09-2008, 11:56 PM
dont get a cap ever, get another battery.
Indeed, battery puts a cap to shame, ill just save for a little longer to get a battery =)

thegage
04-12-2008, 05:21 AM
Any recommendations on linkable amps around 2kw each?

Kold_Killa
04-12-2008, 10:18 AM
Did everyone miss the part where he said he has his gain ALL THE WAY UP! Turn that ***** down, adjust it properly with some tones. That's just dumb, you're going to blow the sub with a clipped signal if not the amp before from overheating.. You seemed like a "smart" guy doing the alt upgrade and big 3, but then you said gain all the way up and you "don't have a cap yet"... You def do not need 4000watts if you are already dimming.

Andrew12
04-12-2008, 12:06 PM
Any recommendations on linkable amps around 2kw each?

2 AQ 2200d

Joseph M
04-12-2008, 03:14 PM
i hope your lights dont dim off 700 wats! cant wait to see your new amps, and see how that alt performs on 4k

thegage
04-12-2008, 06:15 PM
I don't get it why you guys keep saying my lights are dimming, because they aren't... I said earlier that they dim so slightly you cant even notice when my car is cold and idling, and not at all when its running. As far as the 4kw amp, ill be getting a battery or 2 for the trunk and also upgrading all wiring to 0 gauge.

mikeyq926
04-14-2008, 07:17 PM
hey cool man we almost have the same car. im planning on putting a q15 ported in the back. hopefully it fits hehe.

thegage
04-17-2008, 12:33 AM
Yeah I love my car, its really solid compared to most other cars ive seen. Their is minimal rattling but my mirror still does summer salts lol.

djmadfx
04-19-2008, 11:56 PM
Wanted to ask you, did you ever have a problem with your lights dimming when putting your windows up? I was just curious if the big 3 helped that. I figured it may have been a grounding issue with the stock electrical because my current setup never even dimmed my lights.

thegage
04-24-2008, 09:48 PM
Wanted to ask you, did you ever have a problem with your lights dimming when putting your windows up? I was just curious if the big 3 helped that. I figured it may have been a grounding issue with the stock electrical because my current setup never even dimmed my lights.
Yeah they used to dim. Im not sure if it was the big 3 alone that stopped the windows causing my lights to dim, but it could have also been a combination of that and a h/o alt with a optima battery.

thegage
04-25-2008, 03:30 PM
Finally I got around to making my custom 6 x 9 panels. Mu sub box in the trunk is to big for the 6 x 9 to sit recessed behind the back seat to I made custom panels. Ill be fiberglassing them ether today or tomorrow.(And ill put those pictures up too) Here are some pictures of what I got done yesterday.
http://i239.photobucket.com/albums/ff231/gageoyoung/000_0001.jpg
http://i239.photobucket.com/albums/ff231/gageoyoung/000_0002.jpg
http://i239.photobucket.com/albums/ff231/gageoyoung/000_0003.jpg
http://i239.photobucket.com/albums/ff231/gageoyoung/000_0004.jpg
http://i239.photobucket.com/albums/ff231/gageoyoung/000_0005.jpg
http://i239.photobucket.com/albums/ff231/gageoyoung/000_0006.jpg

thegage
04-25-2008, 03:31 PM
http://i239.photobucket.com/albums/ff231/gageoyoung/000_0007.jpg
http://i239.photobucket.com/albums/ff231/gageoyoung/000_0008.jpg
http://i239.photobucket.com/albums/ff231/gageoyoung/000_0009.jpg
http://i239.photobucket.com/albums/ff231/gageoyoung/000_0010.jpg
http://i239.photobucket.com/albums/ff231/gageoyoung/000_0011.jpg

thegage
04-25-2008, 03:32 PM
http://i239.photobucket.com/albums/ff231/gageoyoung/000_0012.jpg
http://i239.photobucket.com/albums/ff231/gageoyoung/000_0013.jpg
http://i239.photobucket.com/albums/ff231/gageoyoung/000_0014.jpg
http://i239.photobucket.com/albums/ff231/gageoyoung/000_0015.jpg
http://i239.photobucket.com/albums/ff231/gageoyoung/000_0016.jpg
http://i239.photobucket.com/albums/ff231/gageoyoung/000_0017.jpg
http://i239.photobucket.com/albums/ff231/gageoyoung/000_0018.jpg

bigbang
04-26-2008, 01:11 AM
Front tweeters were a b!tch to instal in the stock location in that car. Then they get rained on without the stock covers fabric to protect them. I modified the tweet covers with ABS plastic, metal, a soldering iron, and contact cement. Eventualy I set the tweets in the sail panels and I liked the higher soundstage better anyways. May I recomend placing them high? I think it sounded better.
http://i206.photobucket.com/albums/bb164/20bigbang/Picture051.jpg
http://i206.photobucket.com/albums/bb164/20bigbang/100_0132.jpg
http://i206.photobucket.com/albums/bb164/20bigbang/100_0155.jpg

thegage
04-27-2008, 05:34 PM
I am wanting to get another battery in the back, but I hear you have to have the same brand of battery and they have to be made within 6 months of each other. So does that mean I must use yellow tops in the back because I have one under the hood?

thegage
04-28-2008, 07:41 PM
Lots of views and no replies.

gordos420
04-28-2008, 11:27 PM
have you deadend anything yet?and how do you like your alt?cause i have a toyota to and i wasnt sure where i wanted to get one from

thegage
04-29-2008, 12:36 AM
have you deadend anything yet?and how do you like your alt?cause i have a toyota to and i wasnt sure where i wanted to get one from

I have not deaden anything yet, I will wait to do that until I get my 4kw Rockford amp, and batteries(If I can every figure out more info about using them)

As far as the alternator, it isn't too great when idling, but when im driving its working good and hard.