PDA

View Full Version : To All Who Helped Me B4.........You Were Right!



5.3bowtie
04-07-2008, 07:49 PM
In my last post i asked about amplifier set up and the conversation went to my speakers. I was told by multiple people that having two sets of comps in a reg. cab truck was killing my sq.....they were dead right!

I pulled out the woofer from the kicks and the tweeter from the door....now i have my woofer in the factory location in the door and my tweeter in the kick panel, and man what a difference! the stage is much more clear now and more tword the center of the truck. i love it! so i just wanted to tell all who helped me before thanks! my system has never sounded better!

I guess i am gonna have to change my sig now :D

Gary S
04-08-2008, 12:31 AM
How do you like your Viper speakers? What would you compare them to?

danz24
04-08-2008, 12:37 AM
another life changed by ca.com.

tcguy85
04-08-2008, 01:16 AM
nice! :)

Fast1one
04-08-2008, 01:24 AM
Little threads like this give me hope for this site...

Yes I said it!

Glad you are learning man...

5.3bowtie
04-08-2008, 09:23 PM
How do you like your Viper speakers? What would you compare them to?

i would probably compare them to infinities because of the clarity, a little harsh on the tweets, and not much midbass......although i think its because of my doors....they have supper small magnets i guess to fit into tight spots....i got them in a trade so i figured i would run em till i went for somethin different....

i am going to wait to see how it sounds after i seal and deaden the doors, if im still not happy with midbass then i will upgrade....

dont have any real complaints about them though. i think they will sound much better with a new amp and doors done.....

5.3bowtie
04-08-2008, 09:28 PM
Also, i know this is the wrong section but does anybody have any suggestions on a new 2 channel? i will probably keep them passive for now, and the vipers are 125w rms....

DejaWiz
04-10-2008, 02:13 PM
What's your budget for a new amp?

Fast1one
04-10-2008, 02:26 PM
If you can fit these, look into Cadence in the outlet store:

http://www.cadencestore.com/ProductCart/pc/viewCategories.asp?idCategory=125

Buddy just bought and received the 6004. Front channels will be for components and the rears will be bridged to a Dayton Reference HO 12...hard to beat for the dollar...and a 2 year warranty :)

If you can, get this one http://www.cadencestore.com/ProductCart/pc/viewPrd.asp?idcategory=125&idproduct=382 for headroom ;)

5.3bowtie
04-12-2008, 02:32 AM
What's your budget for a new amp?

$300 is what i would like to keep it under....i am going to run it on the vipers for now with the idea that it will be powering some pioneer 720's if i dont like the midbass of the vipers.....

i have looked at rockford T5002 2 channel (since i have one of their amps for my subs already) but really nothing else....would like something that would put out around 150w rms at 4 ohms....

^^^^^the candence looks like and interesting option...and def. in the budget!

5.3bowtie
04-12-2008, 02:35 AM
also i have about 20" of space to work with behind my seat...

DejaWiz
04-12-2008, 12:58 PM
$300 is what i would like to keep it under....i am going to run it on the vipers for now with the idea that it will be powering some pioneer 720's if i dont like the midbass of the vipers.....

i have looked at rockford T5002 2 channel (since i have one of their amps for my subs already) but really nothing else....would like something that would put out around 150w rms at 4 ohms....

^^^^^the candence looks like and interesting option...and def. in the budget!

If you're planning on the 720PRS's, have you thought about running them active with a smaller-footprint class d 4 channel?

http://www.onlinecarstereo.com/CarAudio/ProductDetail.aspx?ProductID=18377

http://www.onlinecarstereo.com/CarAudio/ProductDetail.aspx?ProductID=19325

http://www.sonicelectronix.com/item_7471_Eclipse+XA4000.html

http://www.onlinecarstereo.com/CarAudio/ProductDetail.aspx?ProductID=17653

http://www.onlinecarstereo.com/CarAudio/ProductDetail.aspx?ProductID=17894


The Cadence amps are a great bargain, imo.

If you want to just stick with a 2 channel, then here are some more suggestions:
http://www.sonicelectronix.com/item_8650_Kenwood+eXcelon+KAC-X20.html

http://www.sonicelectronix.com/item_9355_Pioneer+Premier+PRS-D2100T.html

http://www.sonicelectronix.com/item_8663_Panasonic+CY-PA2003U.html

Fast1one
04-12-2008, 01:12 PM
If you can fit the Cadence you simply can't beat the price...its authorized, price is SHIPPED, and two year warranty...Im installing the 6004 for my buddy today on some components...if you want to wait I will give you my impressions...

5.3bowtie
04-13-2008, 04:23 PM
If you're planning on the 720PRS's, have you thought about running them active with a smaller-footprint class d 4 channel?

http://www.onlinecarstereo.com/CarAudio/ProductDetail.aspx?ProductID=18377

http://www.onlinecarstereo.com/CarAudio/ProductDetail.aspx?ProductID=19325

http://www.sonicelectronix.com/item_7471_Eclipse+XA4000.html

http://www.onlinecarstereo.com/CarAudio/ProductDetail.aspx?ProductID=17653

http://www.onlinecarstereo.com/CarAudio/ProductDetail.aspx?ProductID=17894


The Cadence amps are a great bargain, imo.

If you want to just stick with a 2 channel, then here are some more suggestions:
http://www.sonicelectronix.com/item_8650_Kenwood+eXcelon+KAC-X20.html

http://www.sonicelectronix.com/item_9355_Pioneer+Premier+PRS-D2100T.html

http://www.sonicelectronix.com/item_8663_Panasonic+CY-PA2003U.html



i have thought about active but i dont have a deck to support that right now.....i guess i could go the 4 channel route and run passive for now till i upgrade the deck....but i dont know how soon that will be....

plus i have never run active before so i dont know the first thing about tuning it....i am afraid i would get nice stuff then try to run it active and it sound like crap bc i dont know how to tune lol.....

so the plan for now it to do the doors to see how that improves the midbass. if i like it i may stick with the vipers for a while as i am a college student and dont want to buy anything unless i have to....if i dont like the midbass still they will come out for some pioneer 720prs....

5.3bowtie
04-13-2008, 05:21 PM
to answer your question further, i contacted jacob fuller at sundown and he informed me that the sax 100.4 would allow me to go active with out having to change my HU for now....and i can get a referbished unit for $275 so i am seriously looking into this as well.....

DejaWiz
04-14-2008, 10:40 AM
1. i have thought about active but i dont have a deck to support that right now.....i guess i could go the 4 channel route and run passive for now till i upgrade the deck....but i dont know how soon that will be....

2. plus i have never run active before so i dont know the first thing about tuning it....i am afraid i would get nice stuff then try to run it active and it sound like crap bc i dont know how to tune lol.....

3. so the plan for now it to do the doors to see how that improves the midbass. if i like it i may stick with the vipers for a while as i am a college student and dont want to buy anything unless i have to....if i dont like the midbass still they will come out for some pioneer 720prs....

1. You don't need an active capable HU to go active. An external XO like the Memphis 16-XO3 will do the job.

2. That's the beauty and fun of going active... you can tune the crossover points and sloped to your liking. You're not forced to settle on what the manufacturer has decided.

3. Good plan!

5.3bowtie
04-14-2008, 03:35 PM
1. You don't need an active capable HU to go active. An external XO like the Memphis 16-XO3 will do the job.




what if i just buy the sundown sax 100.4 and tune it at the amp? would this work?

DejaWiz
04-14-2008, 04:15 PM
what if i just buy the sundown sax 100.4 and tune it at the amp? would this work?

It certainly will since the SSF can be utilized and adjusted all the way up to 500 Hz on all 4 channels.

5.3bowtie
04-14-2008, 06:37 PM
cool, thanks for all the help man.....i guess i will get my doors done then get a 100.4......caint wait to get it done once i get some time!!