PDA

View Full Version : Help me build a ported box! PLEASE!



nutnbutcustm
04-07-2008, 03:54 PM
I have a 98 s10 x-cab with the third door. I have 3 of the new black coned l7's I want to build a ported wall for the x-cab but I just don't know how to calculate the port size and tuning. I want it tuned to about 36-38 and I want it all out for spl. any help is appreciated.

also if anyone has a high output alternator for my s-10 4.3 pm me!

jmanpc
04-07-2008, 03:56 PM
http://www.reaudio.com/speaker_box/LPort_Box_Calc.html

;)

miker
04-07-2008, 05:27 PM
Tuning high does not equal loud

nutnbutcustm
04-07-2008, 05:48 PM
I understand you haveto tune the box for the "sweet spot" of the woofer,correct?

icpurplepplalot
04-07-2008, 05:51 PM
you need to tune it around the frequency of your car so it will peak there

nutnbutcustm
04-07-2008, 05:55 PM
and the link doesn't seem to work for me.

miker
04-07-2008, 06:04 PM
you need to tune it around the frequency of your car so it will peak there

The frequency of the "tones" you will be listening to?

icpurplepplalot
04-07-2008, 06:06 PM
he said he wanted to be all out spl, so you would want it to peak where your car peaks iirc

miker
04-07-2008, 06:13 PM
he said he wanted to be all out spl, so you would want it to peak where your car peaks iirc

Oh, well ok.. But if he needs help.. He's not "literally" going all out SPL ;)

But yeah.. I'm sure you're right about that.

Anyway.. What do you listen to? 32-33hz is a pretty good Freq. I need to figure out what I'm at right now.. LOL, I don't even know what the volume is b/c after I started the buld I found out I couldn't get 6" pipe..

nutnbutcustm
04-07-2008, 06:21 PM
I listen to mostly rap. basically I need to know where to start I have a total internal volume space of about 14cubes but should I build the box and tune the port to the box?

and yes I want all out spl!!!

icpurplepplalot
04-07-2008, 06:25 PM
you are misrepresenting what you want. Saying you want all out spl, is saying that you want a fart box. Are you planning to listen to music with this setup? If so, tune low around the 33-35hz range, maybe a tad lower as most rap has lower bass.

miker
04-07-2008, 06:25 PM
What size are your subs???

miker
04-07-2008, 06:26 PM
you are misrepresenting what you want. Saying you want all out spl, is saying that you want a fart box. Are you planning to listen to music with this setup? If so, tune low around the 33-35hz range, maybe a tad lower as most rap has lower bass.

X2 about the lower for rap... def. look to tune it in the low 30's..

again.. What size are your subs.. 14 cubes is huge, I mena if they're 12"s you would want maybe half that.. More like 6...

nutnbutcustm
04-07-2008, 06:31 PM
I am using 3 l7 15's the new black ones.

miker
04-07-2008, 06:33 PM
I am using 3 l7 15's the new black ones.

Oh.. Well I'm not sure how much space, but 14 does seem rather roomy...

nutnbutcustm
04-07-2008, 06:46 PM
kicker recommends anywhere from 3.5-6.0 per sub. and that is just about the max airspace I have I can build less I was just letting everyone know what I had.

so does anyone actually have any advice? I have built ported boxes before but I don't have the boxbuilder program on my laptop anymore! just never learned how to calculate it always had the computer do it for me.

what I want is the loudest system possible while maintaining "decent" musical quality. I built a box about a year ago with exchangeable ports. I thought about going that route again?

miker
04-07-2008, 06:52 PM
height width depth?

nutnbutcustm
04-07-2008, 06:56 PM
max external dimensions are 40h x 44w x 16d

nutnbutcustm
04-08-2008, 12:09 AM
im using the re box calculator and im coming up with a tuned frequency of 34.95hz what are some opinions on that?

miker
04-08-2008, 08:32 AM
You can change the frequency? Or is that not what you're asking?

nutnbutcustm
04-08-2008, 10:42 AM
yes like an interchangeable port. basically different size ports that you can change out.

but I think I figured it out I have a box tuned @34hz

that re box calculator is pretty handy!

miker
04-08-2008, 04:49 PM
No no no..

I mean on RE... you can adjust the port.