PDA

View Full Version : Are EQs neccessary



KarimyBaby
04-05-2008, 03:25 PM
I was seeing on peoples cars that under their HU they also have a EQ such as a Clarion EQS746...what benefits do u get with having one of these...dont HU already have a built in EQ...for example i have an Alpine 9885

galacticmonkey
04-05-2008, 03:27 PM
It always helps to fine tune your sound.

KarimyBaby
04-05-2008, 03:31 PM
Ooh..so what do u suggest to have with the Alpine 9885...is that Clarion EQS746 any good or are there better around that price range.

Anonymous
04-05-2008, 03:32 PM
if you really want to fine tune your system then yes you will want an EQ your hu may have an EQ built in but it will not tune it as good as a dedicated EQ

Anonymous
04-05-2008, 03:33 PM
get a good 9 band EQ

galacticmonkey
04-05-2008, 03:33 PM
I have a Clarion EQ. Its a simple 7 band. Nothing overly fancy. Treats me well though, used it for quite a while, and going in my next setup also.

hatemonger
04-05-2008, 03:36 PM
the eq built in to my deck does a pretty good job.

Beerdrnkr
04-05-2008, 03:55 PM
I had an Audio Control EQx as my LOC and it provided an eq/crossover and it definately made a difference to my stock hu. Audio Control makes really nice equipment IMO.

KingDiamond
04-05-2008, 06:03 PM
The headunit EQ usually only controls three bands (frequency ranges, usually "bass", "mid", and "high"), while a dedicated EQ unit will can provide you with many EQ bands.

mdillon
04-05-2008, 06:05 PM
i had a clarion 7 band a while ago. they do help, but are not necessary. my next one will be at least 15 band.

Nate
04-06-2008, 12:39 PM
I'm going to run an EQ for the aux inputs. Par 650 has 3 inputs. so I can switch from HU, to an mp3 player or whatever.

my HU dosn't have an aux plus I just wanted the EQ anyway. alot cleaner than an RF adapter.