PDA

View Full Version : tricky question ofr installers, maybe



speedfreak28
04-04-2008, 06:18 PM
i just bought a new work truck, 2007 Isuzu NPR, i wanna put a head unit and components in it. do they sell an aftermarket harness for it or do i need to splice connections?

speedfreak28
04-04-2008, 06:58 PM
ttt

hatemonger
04-04-2008, 07:03 PM
isn't isuzu made by GM now? is this a sweeper truck? work truck?

bones22
04-04-2008, 07:06 PM
isn't isuzu made by GM now? is this a sweeper truck? work truck?

yes they are

hatemonger
04-04-2008, 07:12 PM
yes they are

i can change parts directly from my isuzu pickup over to my s-10. never got a harness for my isuzu, but the chevy or gmc model could possibly fit isuzu.

SRim23
04-04-2008, 07:17 PM
i just bought a new work truck, 2007 Isuzu NPR, i wanna put a head unit and components in it. do they sell an aftermarket harness for it or do i need to splice connections?

i would bet to say there is a harness for just about every vehicle. go to your local auto parts store or even walmart for that matter and they should have it.

Hintzyboy
04-04-2008, 07:30 PM
I don't know if they make the harness a different style for commercial vehicles, but every GM I've put decks in had the same harness. I would just grab a harness from walmart that is made for 2007 GMs, and see if it fits. As long as you don't cut any wires first, you should be able to return the harness if it doesn't work.


Otherwise, call your local car audio shop and see if they can order one for you (I think your truck is the same as the Chevy w-series if that helps them find one).

azbass
04-04-2008, 07:30 PM
i just bought a new work truck, 2007 Isuzu NPR, i wanna put a head unit and components in it. do they sell an aftermarket harness for it or do i need to splice connections?

wow very tricky indeed

Hintzyboy
04-04-2008, 09:33 PM
I don't know why I didn't say this before. If you're putting components in, just run two wires to the HU from the battery. Connect one to the HU's power wire. Run the second wire to a toggle switch, then to the HU's ignition wire. This way you can manually turn the HU on and you won't clear the HU's memory when you shut it off. Then just ground the HU to the chassis and you're good to go.

Since you will be using aftermarket comps and a standalone amp, there is really no reason to use the factory wiring. The only wires on the factory harness you would use would be the power and ignition (since you have to run wires from the amp to the comps anyway). Plus you'll get a better power and ground with dedicated connections.

speedfreak28
04-05-2008, 12:56 PM
I don't know why I didn't say this before. If you're putting components in, just run two wires to the HU from the battery. Connect one to the HU's power wire. Run the second wire to a toggle switch, then to the HU's ignition wire. This way you can manually turn the HU on and you won't clear the HU's memory when you shut it off. Then just ground the HU to the chassis and you're good to go.

Since you will be using aftermarket comps and a standalone amp, there is really no reason to use the factory wiring. The only wires on the factory harness you would use would be the power and ignition (since you have to run wires from the amp to the comps anyway). Plus you'll get a better power and ground with dedicated connections.

i should have thought of that, but the npr and the w series gm trucks are the same so i imagine a generic gm harness will work. thanks for all the help.

DD_Dave
04-05-2008, 01:07 PM
there is no ignition wire in the factory harness :fyi:

iamamp3pimp
04-05-2008, 01:22 PM
sonicelectronix.com or crutchfield.com has just about everything

Hintzyboy
04-05-2008, 05:19 PM
there is no ignition wire in the factory harness :fyi:

Whatever the little yellow wire is on the harness then. I always thought it was connected to the ignition (since the HU only turns on when you turn on the car). If you put a switch on the red power wire, you'd clear the HU's memory every time you turned it off.

Hintzyboy
04-05-2008, 05:20 PM
sonicelectronix.com or crutchfield.com has just about everything

Nothing at crutchfieled unless they can special order it for you. I looked.

mokedaddy
04-05-2008, 05:32 PM
Whatever the little yellow wire is on the harness then. I always thought it was connected to the ignition (since the HU only turns on when you turn on the car). If you put a switch on the red power wire, you'd clear the HU's memory every time you turned it off.

You have that backwards. The yellow is the memory wire, the red is the accessory wire.

You can find accessory in the ignition harness.

mdillon
04-05-2008, 06:38 PM
either way the wire will be labeled on the back of the new hu. +12 and acc. so run to wires and toggle the one thats connected to the acc.