PDA

View Full Version : Pioneer PRS 880 Active Problem-No Sub



ebrunn
04-02-2008, 04:54 AM
Just went active and my mids and my tweets work and sound great but there seems to no sound coming from my sub. Finally got around to installing my Kicker 250.2 for my tweeters and was running a JL 300/2 for my mids and a Kicket 750.1 for my sub. Sub worked fine today before I switched to NW mode. Restarted the deck a couple times already. Got my HP cross on the deck set at 80hz and have double checked the HP on my sub amp as well. Amp powers on. I take it this is another Pioneer RCA problem? Or am I missing a setting on the deck?


edit:Went out and turned on my car again and everything works now. Pretty weird.

ebrunn
04-02-2008, 05:30 PM
Ok, was out driving today and the sub shut off again:mad:

Any thoughts?

pellis
04-02-2008, 06:42 PM
check your amp. that would be the first place that i would start.

phyphoestilic
04-02-2008, 06:46 PM
loose connection?

ebrunn
04-02-2008, 08:36 PM
Like before I switched to active, I had a turn off thump when ever shut the car off and whenever I switch sources. I still get that. I get sub movement when it does that.

profundus-sanus
04-02-2008, 08:41 PM
is your amp going into protect? if so ground your rca's.

ebrunn
04-02-2008, 09:30 PM
is your amp going into protect? if so ground your rca's.

The amp shows a green light all the time, doest go red(its protect color) at anytime.

Im gonna switch it back to STD mode tomorrow and see if the sub works again.

ultimate157
04-03-2008, 12:01 AM
loose connection if it is cutting out randomly.

ebrunn
04-03-2008, 06:24 PM
Ok, did some trouble shooting today.

Switched the rca's that go to my sub amp with another set and still had the same problem.

Ran the same set of rca's from the sub pre-out to my amp for my mids and the same thing happened on my component mids. No sound along with the turn off thump.

So its the head unit. Still under factory warranty so I am bringing it to a authorized service center tomorrow. Hopefully its just a bad rca harness.

mk_
04-06-2008, 08:27 PM
Man, that stinks. Hope you get a working unit soon.. I'm loving every moment with mine. Good luck!


Michael

ebrunn
04-06-2008, 09:23 PM
Man, that stinks. Hope you get a working unit soon.. I'm loving every moment with mine. Good luck!


Michael

Yeah, I brought it in to the repair place on Friday. Pretty sure all it needs is a new RCA harness. Told the guy that. I would have bought the part my self but its like $40 for a new one from Pioneer.

mk_
04-06-2008, 09:51 PM
Hella expensive for a dinky little rca harness. Well here's to you getting it all figured out :toast:

ebrunn
04-18-2008, 11:29 PM
Got the deck back today, place said that they replaced a fuse in the thing. Dont know if it was the PICO fuse or not. Part number on the invoice was CEK1286. O well, sounds great once again.