PDA

View Full Version : Fi Q 12 Bandpass Problems!!



tizzle2008
04-02-2008, 01:38 AM
I had 80inches design this for me cause my other box was said to be too big but after it was built my old one sounded better any reason why
The one i built today only i had to cut around the port an slide half inside cause i have a blow thru and it was hitting my bench seat.... and i inverted the sub subs also still makes a slappin noise as it did in my old box just doesnt get as loud
http://a734.ac-images.myspacecdn.com/images01/121/l_f7aab599d62675c5a928af90700c5eed.png
80inches designed it an i know he knows bandpass but something happened

My old one 2.5 sealed 4 ported port 8x9 3inches long
http://a97.ac-images.myspacecdn.com/images01/49/l_04bca128e6a149f56602f0163936d7a8.jpg

any help solving this is greatly appicated whether i need another design or whatever i just want lows no slappin noise an loud in one box not to hard i just cant do math for bandpasses


Thanks,
Teddy

BrianChia
04-02-2008, 01:52 AM
Pictures don't work. I need to know the specs of your new box.

tizzle2008
04-02-2008, 01:56 AM
pictures updated... sorry please help now

tizzle2008
04-02-2008, 02:02 AM
top picture is the new one i built today below is m old before i cut the port

BrianChia
04-02-2008, 02:28 AM
The rear chamber is too small. Try about 3-4 cubes firing into 1.5 cubes @ 50-55hz.

At what frequency range do you hear the slapping noise? It may simply be from overexcursion.

tizzle2008
04-02-2008, 02:34 AM
most likely but i would say it slaps no lower than 40 hz its not i super low note or anything.. . . . think you can design a box for me?

tizzle2008
04-02-2008, 02:34 AM
most likely but i would say it slaps no lower than 40 hz its not i super low note or anything.. . . . think you can design a box for me?

80INCHES
04-02-2008, 06:28 AM
it has 2 be the sub...cuz i designed the box much smaller and ur still getting slap noises
the rear is 1.07 cubes playing into 1.79cubes now as far as output make the port bigger to 54 square inches(9high x 6wide) and that should work...but it will raise the tuning freq
i made it 36square inches so u can have decent low end..cuz it was tuned lower

80

tizzle2008
04-02-2008, 09:55 AM
im sure it is the sub but what bout that guy that said make the rear chamber 3-4 cubes i just want it back loud again the volume is half what it used to be. . . . and bout the sub what do i do to fix it send it back??

tizzle2008
04-02-2008, 10:27 AM
anyone? Help?

skadude016
04-02-2008, 10:34 AM
slapping could also be the tinsel leads hitting the cone

carguy83
04-02-2008, 12:31 PM
^ maybe. but if its the newer batches of Q...the leads goes under the spider.

tizzle2008
04-03-2008, 11:11 AM
its not under the spider but it does have velt like material behind the sub. . . . now everything on the sub looks and feels normal but it doesnt play anything?? Like it stopped workin! :( any help

skadude016
04-03-2008, 11:16 AM
its not under the spider but it does have velt like material behind the sub. . . . now everything on the sub looks and feels normal but it doesnt play anything?? Like it stopped workin! :( any help

is the amp working? could of burned up the voice coils on the woofer?
RCA's. could be a number of things. Take a Digital Multi meter to it and see what ohm it is reading. If it shows up 0 ohm or some funky off the wall ohm number then its more than likely a blown woofer.

80INCHES
04-03-2008, 11:23 AM
sounds like the sub was going ...as soon as u said it was slapping in the previous box and now u switch boxes and the problem is still there
its definitly the sub....send it to fi and im sure they will take care of u


80

tizzle2008
04-04-2008, 09:52 AM
i know i just need to know how to get ahold of someone at fi. . . . i sent email to the address on the fi site but no responce. . .
Someone said pm scott on ssa whats his name on there?